My Thoughts About Veteran’s Day

Today is Veteran’s Day.  Flags will be flying.  Parades and special ceremonies will be taking place all over the country.  Stores are boasting “Veteran’s Day Sales” and discounts.  Scores of people will have the day off from work with pay  (who have never served a day of duty in their lives).

I’m very proud of our country’s veterans, and I agree that we should have a day set aside to honor them, but…

Today will mark the 39th Veteran’s Day that I’ve spent married to my husband, Ed, a veteran.  Ed completed his active army duty status in June of 1972.  Never once in all of those 39th years has Ed had Veteran’s Day off.  Something is very wrong with this picture–and Ed isn’t alone.  I’m pretty sure my brother and my mother-in-law, both veterans, never had the day off from their jobs either.

Let’s face it, most places of employment don’t observe Veteran’s Day as a paid holiday.  In my opinion, every veteran should be required to receive Veteran’s Day as a paid holiday!  I think it’s the least we can do for them since the purpose of the day is to honor them!

Happy Veteran’s Day to all of the brave men and women who have faithfully served our country!  Enjoy the special day set aside to honor you–even if most of you have will still have to work!  Perhaps one of these days someone will figure out something is wrong with this picture…

Published in: on November 11, 2011 at 9:28 am  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/my-thoughts-about-veterans-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I agree … all veterans should have Veteran’s Day off!

  2. I agree with you, they should have today off.
    My son-in-law had to go to work today!

  3. I think we have to work to mark this day. Otherwise it becomes all about a school holiday and store sales. Many thanks to your husband for his service!


Leave a Reply

