Getting Ready For Thanksgiving…

Well folks, Thanksgiving is just around the corner!  It’s time to get the menu planned, the grocery list completed, then go out and find that turkey!  Sounds like fun, doesn’t it?  While Thanksgiving may be a lot of fun, it’s also a lot of hard work!

Thanksgiving 2010

I should know how much fun it is, since I’ve been hosting for many years.  In fact, I’ve been cooking the Thanksgiving bird for so long, I can barely remember NOT doing it!

I DO remember those first few attempts at making dressing though…what a disaster!  I didn’t have a recipe, and neither set of our parents measured anything–just like me!  They could tell me what ingredients to use, but not how much!  Eventually, I found a good recipe to use, which made my life much easier–and the dressing taste much better!

In 2004, I was suffering with a herniated disc in my neck, so my daughter and her husband took over the Thanksgiving duties for me.  They did a great job, while I sat around in a chair wearing a cervical collar!  While I’d rather cook any day, than be in pain, I have to admit, it was nice to have a break.  The break was a short one though.  I had my cervical fusion on December 10, and I was back in the kitchen by Christmas!

Thanksgiving 2004 (Brad's camera shy)

This year, my daughter and her husband have graciously offered to cook the turkey/dressing, and host Thanksgiving dinner at their house once again.  I’ve decided to accept their offer.  While I don’t feel nearly as bad as I did in 2004,  I can definitely use a break.  Unfortunately, our daughter has been sick the past few days, so these plans may have to be altered if she’s not feeling better by then!

Going to our daughter’s house for Thanksgiving, will be a bit like going home again–since we raised our family in that house.  Our family shared many Thanksgiving dinners there  over the years.  This year, perhaps we’ll share one more.

Thanksgiving 2006, our last one in the "old house"

The picture above was taken during our last Thanksgiving in the old house.  This photo is the first of our “family portraits”.  We take one of these portraits twice a year now.  Ed is holding our first grandchild, Madison.  Since this photo was taken, we have added a grandson, a daughter-in-law,  and we now have another little grandson on the way.  Our little family is growing.  We have a lot to be thankful for…and we are!
Photobucket

Published in: on November 15, 2011 at 10:33 am  Comments (6)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/getting-ready-for-thanksgiving/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My girls both enjoy cooking so I look forward to the day. We have lots of good talks in the kitchen. I hope you get your break!

  2. My daughter hosts Thanksgiving, but she and I share the cooking duties. Hard to believe Thanksgiving is just a little more than a week away.

  3. Love the photos. I don’t mind cooking this year but I would love the kids to take over sometime! I don’t see that happening anytime soon.

  4. Your family get together ( I almost said family planning, but that’s a whole different thing. :0 ) sounds like it’s all under control. I am so looking forward to going north for Christmas. It’s extremely difficult being far away from my chickens. Have a hug filled day, for sure.

  5. I hope you guys have a fantastic and Happy Thanksgiving. 🙂

    It was very nice of Brandy and Clint to offer to host. 🙂

  6. Years ago, I was doing a collection of family recipes and asked my Mama for her dressing recipe. I think I had attempted to make it my self once or twice in the early years when we didn’t get back home for Thanksgiving. So she talked and I wrote…one sentence says this is just a guide and ingredients should be increased or decreased according to how much one wishes to make….Mama was making two very large pans of dressing by that time….I usually make a 9×13 dish of it but this year, I may cut back so we don’t have leftovers to eat for a week.
    I enjoyed reading this post.
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

