Wednesday Hodgepodge…November 16

Thanks to Joyce for another great set of questions 🙂

1. What song reminds you of a specific time in your life and what is it about that song that makes you remember?  The song, “Rainy Night In Georgia” by Brook Benton makes me think of a sweet young couple named Kathy and Ed–back when our love was new.  We spent many Saturday nights listening to that song on Ed’s car radio, and making plans for our future.  Hearing that song takes me right back to that special time in our lives 🙂

2. What’s something you’ve given up on?  Being young and thin again!  Oh, those were the days!

3. What’s something you’ll never give up on?  Trying to feel “normal”.  Dealing with a chronic disease can be difficult.  It tends to get in the way of living sometimes.

4. If you had to cook something from scratch in the next hour what would it be?  A pot of chili because it’s easy, and I have all of the necessary ingredients!

5. Have you started Christmas shopping? Decorating? Listening to Christmas music?  Yes, I began my shopping back in September, but I haven’t finished it yet.

I haven’t started decorating for Christmas.  I prefer to wait until after Thanksgiving.

I haven’t listened to any Christmas music, but I did watch a couple of Christmas movies on the Hallmark Channel.  Nothing like the Hallmark Channel to put me in the holiday mood 🙂

6. What do you know about your parent’s wedding?  Sadly, the only thing I know about my parents’ wedding is their wedding date–July 30.  I wish I’d asked more questions (about a lot of things) while they were living.

7. I can’t believe I…didn’t get a driver’s license until I was 26 years old!  I must have been crazy…

Random:

On Saturday morning it was only 28 degrees outside.  Then on Tuesday afternoon it reached back up to 80 degrees!  Today’s high is predicted to be 80 again–then plunging back into the 60’s!  What’s up with all that?  We have a tree in our yard which lost its leaves, then recently put on a second set of new leaves–in the fall!  Our Japanese Magnolia is loaded with new buds, and our daughter recently grew a watermelon in her flower bed–in October!

We are eleven inches below our normal rainfall for the year.  We could use a “Rainy Night In Georgia” right about now!  Perhaps tonight…

Published in: on November 16, 2011 at 9:18 am  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/wednesday-hodgepodge-november-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. When I was at my moms last week I noticed her rhododendrum had a bud about to pop open…poor nature is confused. Rain? We have plenty…raining right now in fact. We have had so.much.rain. this year.

    I love Rainy Night in Georgia : )

  2. Look how cute you were in your matching outfits listenin’ to Rainy Night in Georgia! Also, I think a pot of chili sounds fabulous right about now! Have a great day!

  3. You know that’s one of my all time favorite songs too and I’m not from Georgia. I just love that man’s voice. I’ve given up on the young and thin thing too Kathy. You’re not alone. I do know my parents eloped and then went back to there respective parents home and didn’t tell anyone for 3 months. They were 18 and 21. My mother didn’t want to talk about it and my grandmother is the one that brought it up when I was an adult. I wish I could have gotten the full story. My dad is still here, but he’s not talking either.

  4. Whoa! The weather is all out of whack in your part of the country! We’ve already had our hard freeze and while the temperatures have fluctuated some, they’re all still what I’d consider seasonable. Hope you get some rain.

  5. Sorry to hear that you have to deal with a chronic disease 😦 I will have to read your blog posts to see which one. I have Hashimoto’s and Celiac disease, and now, I have added some sort of COPD. Fun, fun.

  6. I love that song, it’s so atmospheric and plays great mind movies in my head when I hear it. Good choice 🙂

  7. WOW your weather is crazy right now! We had some nice warm temps as well but no where close to 80’s. We are having rain now and then we are back in the cold temps. I didn’t ask a lot of questions about my parents wedding either. They were not a happy couple so I guess I thought it was not worth asking about.

  8. 🙂 picture. Weather crazy here, also. One day 45 and the next 70!

  9. Love the cute picture of you two and I love watching Hallmark Christmas Movies.

  10. Young and thin were definitely the days!!! Yes chronic disease does get in the way of life. ((HUGS)) Honestly you waited until you were 23! My mother never drove. Crazy weather!

  11. I agree…nothing like Hallmark Channel for holiday spirit!!! And enjoyed reading your answers. The young couple —making plans for the future…loved the photo. And oh ya…….chili?!!! I’ll be right over.

    Also, loved your photo scans above this post. I agree there too….the family kitchen table was the ‘meeting place’ for us all.

    DUCK SONG — and photos of ducks ’round town.

  12. We’re having crazy weather too! People are going to start getting sick if Mother Nature doesn’t get a hold of herself! LOL

    I don’t know whether it’s the Hallmark movies or their commercials that get me in the heart the most. When Breezy first went off to college, they had a commercial about two sisters and one was going away to school. The little one was having trouble with it. DoodleBug was watching with me and burst into tears yelling, “Stupid Hallmark commercials!” She missed all of her sisters as they left for college!

  13. Mmm…a pot of chili sounds good about now. I’m not a very good cook, but if your recipe is easy, maybe I could try it. You’ll have to share it with me sometime. 😀


Leave a Reply

