Frazzled Friday…

Frazzled…that’s how I feel today–among many other things.  I simply don’t have the energy or peace of mind to write a regular post today, so this will be a random one.

First of all, I got my wish, and we had a “Rainy Night In Georgia” on Wednesday night!  We didn’t get a lot of rain, but anything was better than nothing.  The grass and plants looked refreshed on Thursday morning.  I’m grateful  we didn’t get any of those storms that our meteorologists were “on watch” for.  We’ve now plunged from the 80’s to the 40’s.

The wind and rain of Wednesday evening knocked a new bunch of pecans out of our trees, so my daughter and I had the chore of picking up pecans on Thursday afternoon.  Thank goodness for those “pecan picker uppers”!  It’s nothing short of a miracle that I was able to pick up nuts, considering I was barely able to put one foot in front of the other for the previous two days!

In addition to the stomach issues I’ve been having, I’ve also developed a major case of fatigue, which has now turned to the awful stiffness which happens when I have to get off my Nsaids (due to the stomach issues)…welcome to my world.

The other day, I was talking with my daughter about our symptoms (she has them, too), and she described her stiffness as being like the squeaky “Tin Man” on the Wizard of Oz.  What a great analogy!  Do you remember how stiff and squeaky he got without his oil?  Without our arthritis meds to help control inflammation, we both turn into the squeaky Tin Men.  What a great pair we make these days!

Speaking of illness and symptoms, here’s another interesting medical experience of late...I asked Ed to go by the pharmacy to see if I had any refills left on my old  medication Prevacid.  I haven’t taken prescription strength Prevacid since our insurance changed and the co-payment for it became eighty-six dollars.  Instead, I’ve been taking two capsules of over-the-counter Prevacid–in between trying various other (cheaper co-pay) medications which the doctor has prescribed for me to try (none of which I’ve been able to tolerate, unfortunately).  Lately, the Prevacid OTC hasn’t seemed to work as well either, so I decided to give the prescription strength another try...just hoping for a miracle.  

Anyway, Ed went to the pharmacy, where he was promptly told that our insurance would have to “pre-approve” the prescription before it could be filled–which was not a new prescription, by the way!  Ed says to the pharmacist, “Just let me have it, I’ll pay for it instead of filing on insurance.”  The cash price for the Prevacid?  Sixty-four dollars–that’s twenty-two dollars less than just the co-pay would’ve been!  And we wonder why healthcare is getting so ridiculous in America…

Okay,  I’ll get off my soapbox now, and try to do something productive with my day.  I still owe Ed a German Chocolate cake as part of his birthday gift.  I’m not sure today will be the day he gets it.  We’ll just see how the day goes.

Oh, one more thing before I go!  Speaking of Ed…I found a recipe over on blog friend, Debby’s blog, Just Breathe,  for potato soup.  She posted it on this week’s Wednesday’s Hodgepodge.  It sounded good–and easy–so I made it last night.  Ed loved it!  I mean, he really loved it.  So if you are looking for a simple, delicious soup recipe, that’s a “man pleaser”,  here’s a good one from Debby:

POTATO SOUP
1 bag frozen hash-brown potatoes…(30 oz. bag)- I use cubed!
2 cans chicken broth…(14 oz can)
1 can cream of chicken soup…(10.75 oz. can)
1/2 cup chopped onion – I use flakes!
1/3 t. ground black pepper
1 pkg cream cheese….softened…(8 oz.)

In a 6 quart electric slow cooker, combine potatoes, broth, soup, onion, and pepper. Cover, and cook on low for 5 hours. Then, stir in cream cheese…and cook for 30 more minutes…stir occasionally until combined. If you desire grated cheese or crumbled bacon. that’s OK, too! Serves 4

Thanks for sharing, Debby!  You made Ed’s evening 🙂

Have a great weekend, everyone, and forgive me if I haven’t been by to visit in the past few days.  I haven’t felt like spending much time on the computer.  I’ll get caught up soon.

Published in: on November 18, 2011 at 9:07 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/frazzled-friday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hope you find peace in your day today. Don’t think about the state of our healthcare or that peace will remain elusive : )

  2. Good Morning, Kathy
    I have arthritis also and take the same OTC meds as you alternating them with Ibuprofen, tylenol, and stronger naproxon….I don’t take something every day…..but after spending the morning getting up and down as I cleaned the baseboards and chair rail, windows and blinds in the kitchen as well as wiping down the chair and table, I could barely move once I had stopped to rest…..I’ve had the old Arthur since I was in my 20s, then add to that a couple of herniated disks and two small curves in my spine and I sound like a hyorchondriac for sure….
    I hope you feel better soon….I am tip top this morning.
    Mama Bear

  3. I saw that recipe over there too! I haven’t tried it yet though.

    I’m so sorry that y’all suffer from that nasty arthritis. It runs strong in my grandmother’s family- my mother’s side- but, so far, it has stayed away from me. I remember that one of my grandmother’s sisters had it really bad in her back. It was so debilitating for her!

    And don’t get me started on insurance companies!

  4. I continue to pray for you to feel better. 🙂 I’ve got arthritis too, so I know what kind of day you’re having. I also have stomach issues and I take prescription Prilosec. Have you ever tried that? Maybe it would work better for you. 🙂 Brandy is in my prayers also. 🙂

    Thanks to you and Debby for the Potato Soup recipe. I’ve been wanting to make some for such a long time. I really love it and so does Ashley, so I’ll give it a try. I also found a recipe for homemade chicken pot pie. If you’re interested, I’ll send you a copy or either post it on here. We haven’t tried it yet, but boy, does it look good. Yum! 😀

    Hopefully your weekend will be better then your week has been. I hate knowing that you aren’t feeling well. Just rest up and enjoy those great Christmas movies on Hallmark. Are they great, or what? 😀

    GOD BLESS !!!

  5. Thank you so much for the sweet mention of my soup. I am thrilled that he loved it, we do too! So sorry about the stomach issues. I also wanted to mention something called Curamin, have you heard of it? I won a bottle from a blog. It is for inflamation and the reviews I have read sound wonderful. Hope you have a nice weekend.

  6. So sorry to hear about your ailments! I cannot get over how expensive your meds would’ve been without insurance…but then again, we just spent $120 on one of my son’s asthma medication and that was WITH insurance. Yikes!

    The potato soup recipe sounds delicious! My husband loves that type of soup but I don’t make it often because it’s such a tedious job. The recipe you posted sounds easy…so right up my alley!

  7. i saw that recipe, too, but I haven’t had time to try it out. Given that I now have two votes for it, I’m definitely going to give it a try!

  8. In the last 3 years I’ve had arthritis in my hips. I know the rusty tin many feeling. I know the nsaids are hard on your stomach so I try to limit what I take, but then I really feel the difference. It’s a catch 22 isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

