Wednesday Hodgepodge…T’was The Day Before Thanksgiving

Bless Joyce’s heart, she managed to supply us with yet another set of entertaining and thought-provoking questions in the midst of her Thanksgiving Day preparations! She’s really something, isn’t she? Here are this week’s questions and my answers:

1. Let’s start with something controversial…dressing or stuffing? What’s it called at your house and what’s included in your recipe…cornbread? oysters? sausage? chestnuts?  In our family we’ve always called it “dressing”.  We make our dressing with cornbread, bread crumbs, a little cooked rice,  chopped boiled eggs, and sautéed onions and celery.

2. Who do you sometimes compare yourself to?  I like to compare myself to my maternal grandmother.  She was my role model, while I was a child, and after I grew up.

3. When were you last inside an airport?  It was probably about  9 or 10 years ago.  When I worked at school, we took our first graders on a field trip to the Savannah airport one year.

4. What is one side dish that absolutely must be included in a turkey dinner?  My sons would say “macaroni and cheese”, but I would say “sweet potato crunch”!  It’s the only time of the year that I cook it.  Now if you’re talking desserts, we’d all agree and say “pecan pie”!

5. What Christmas song do you dread hearing?  I can’t think of any one particular song that I dread hearing, but I tend to get tired of hearing “White Christmas” by the time Christmas actually arrives.  My daughter absolutely hates “Jingle Bell Rock” by Brenda Lee though.

6. If someone approaches you and asks for money do you give it to them? Do you drop money ‘in a tin cup’ that belongs to a person on the street? Do you have a specific charity you support during the holiday season and/or year round?  No, I won’t give money to strangers.  If anything, I would buy them something to eat.  If a person was sitting on the street, perhaps playing an instrument, I might consider dropping some money in their cup.  I have donated to different charities over the years.  Last year I participated in the “shoe box ministry” through my granddaughter’s school.

7. Share a favorite Thanksgiving memory. If you live in a country that doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving share a favorite memory associated with food.  One of my favorite Thanksgiving memories is when we celebrated the last Thanksgiving  in our old house, next-door, five years ago.  Our first grandchild, Madison, was just a month old then!   After watching our daughter endure a long and difficult pregnancy, we were so thankful that she was able to give birth to a healthy baby.  Having our newest family member among us just made the day more special! It being the last Thanksgiving we hosted in our home of 30 years, also made it memorable.

Thanksgiving 2006, our last one in the "old house"

 

   Random:  So many things to be thankful for this year…including a new daughter-in-law, who is now healthy after a bout with cervical cancer and a ovarian abscess, plus we’re anticipating the arrival of a third grandchild from daughter-in-law, Christina, in just over a month!  2011 will be remembered as a “year of growth” in our family.  Also, in a struggling economy, everyone in our family has a job, and we’ve all been blessed to have a roof over our heads, food on our tables, and enough money to pay our debts this past year.  Speaking of debts–

We took our pecans to market and sold them this week.  We made enough money to pay a large portion (about one-half) of our property taxes and we were thrilled!  Ed and I felt like we’d been blessed from heaven, by his daddy, who had the foresight to plant those trees so many years ago!  Thanks grandpa!

Have a Happy Thanksgiving, everyone…I’ll be back on Friday.  I’ll be spending Thursday with family–next door in our old house.  Our daughter is hosting this year while I take a much-needed break  🙂  I’m going back “home” for Thanksgiving…

Published in: on November 23, 2011 at 9:32 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/wednesday-hodgepodge-twas-the-day-before-thanksgiving/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Our church did “shoeboxes” this year for local kids in need. They were filled with things like crayons, markers, coloring books, and small toys and then the box was decorated.

  2. We did the shoebox think this year too. I think it’s so fun buying stuff to fill the boxes.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Your dressing sounds delicious. My friend Amy said Mac & Cheese, I never would have guessed that! Wow, I just got chills and tears in my eyes about the money you got for the pecans. What a blessing! You have a wonderful Thanksgiving also. God Bless.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy the day with family…you must make an awesome pecan pie with your orchard right there!

  5. My family is big on the sweet potato cassarole too. Being raised by a southern Mom, we say dressing and it is made with cornbread. My Yankee husband has learned to love it. I knew you had picked up the pecans, but I didn’t realize how many. Wow! You made a haul… in all kinds of ways!

  6. I wish you and the family a very Happy Thanksgiving. God bless you today and always. 🙂

    • Oh yeah, and Pippin said to tell Bobs that he wishes her a Happy Thanksgiving too. LOL 😀

      • Ha Ha! Bobs is celebrating her Thanksgiving outside in the yard…she’d probably like to be indoors with Pippin

        ________________________________

    • Thank you, Cindy. Happy Thanksgiving to you, too.

      ________________________________

  7. I never got by to read this on Wednesday as I was gone all day and then yesterday was busy…pecans have really got pricey through the years..I’m happy for you that you have some to sale…
    Our Thanksgiving was great…Jim and I went for a walk about noon after I had all my prep work done, the kitchen cleaned and had watched the parade between doing the prep….Daughter came over with the two wee ones about 4:30…we had a good visit….Wonder Boy wanted to leave early so his Dad came to get him….both children ate dressing…Daughter loved the green beans…I just cooked them all day on low in the crock pot with bullion. We had Pumpkin pie by Mrs Smith and it didn’t disappoint….So it was a good day…I hope yours was too..
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

