Three Days After Thanksgiving…

T’was three days after Thanksgiving when all through the house…was a giant mess!  Yes, folks, I’ve now entered the world of “Christmas Decorating Hell”!  It officially began yesterday afternoon, and there is no end in sight!

I’m not feeling the Christmas spirit yet.  All I’m feeling is overwhelmed and tired. I’m thinking after this year I may need to rethink this holiday decorating thing!  Perhaps it’s time to decorate on a smaller scale, but enough about Christmas, let me tell you about our Thanksgiving.

Brandy/Clint--hosting their 2nd Thanksgiving turkey dinner

Our family had a very nice Thanksgiving.  I didn’t quite know what to do with myself on Thursday morning because I didn’t have to get up early and bake the turkey or make the dressing.  Ed and I found ourselves sitting around watching the parade on television,  something we’ve never had time to do before!   I think I could learn to like doing that, although I felt a little bit like an “old person” for passing the responsibility to someone else.

Around noon, the family began gathering next-door at our daughter’s house.  Everyone brought food, and it’s an understatement to say that we had a feast!  We’ve never had so many cooks in the family before!  It’s wonderful.  What a great selection of desserts we had!  Jennifer baked her first egg custard pie, which  is one of my favorites!  It was delicious–right up until she dropped it in the door of her car on the way home!  Ethan, our old hound dog, ate every bit of it, so it wasn’t wasted, and he enjoyed his Thanksgiving treat!

the "ill-fated" egg custard pie

Other than eating all of the delicious food, I suppose the high point of Thanksgiving was looking at the Black Friday sales in the newspaper, and trying to take a successful family picture of all of us.  Believe it or not, the first shot turned out to be the best one out of four tries–even though Cade was eating Nerds.

Thanksgiving 2011

After lunch, almost everyone went to check out Brad and Jennifer’s new Christmas decorations.  Oh.my.word!  I thought I was the “Queen of Christmas Decorations”, but Jennifer is right there with me!  In fact, she may have surpassed me!  Every room in their house is decorated–and it’s a very big house. In fact, Jennifer even convinced Brad to decorate the outside of the house with lights–something he’s never done before.  It makes all of us very happy to see Ed’s mom’s house (where Brad and Jennifer are currently living) all decorated for the holidays.  It’s been many years since it has been decorated–and it’s NEVER been decorated like it is now!

Believe it or not, Thanksgiving Day ended with Clint and Brad going to Walmart on Thursday evening.  What were they thinking?  They thought they might get one of the trampolines that Walmart was advertising on special at 10 pm…Ha Ha After driving over 100 miles–and going to two different Walmarts,  our guys came home around midnight– empty-handed!  Our family had a lot to be thankful for on Thanksgiving…but getting a cheap trampoline wasn’t one of them!  First thing on Friday morning, Brandy promptly ordered one on-line.  That’s my kind of shopping–and I’m thankful for it!

Published in: on November 26, 2011 at 11:31 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/26/three-days-after-thanksgiving/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh my … I always worry about mishaps when I transport food. At least Ethan had a nice Thanksgiving, eh? ha!

    What a nice family photo. I don’t mind the working in the kitchen, although the early-morning wake-up leaves a lot to be desired. This year, it wasn’t too bad. We prepared everything the day before … everything except the turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy. All the casseroles were ready to pop into the oven as soon as the turkey was finished. So once we had the turkey in the oven Thanksgiving morning, there wasn’t really a whole lot that we had to do until the turkey was done.

    I’ve postponed decorating for Christmas until after we have the Ts this week … so they’ll have plenty of room for playing. 😉 As I’ve gotten older, I’ve gone to the “less is more” school of decorating. So other than the tree, it shouldn’t be too big of a job.

    Glad you had such a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. My spirit is not here yet but it will come. Thanksgiving really knocked me out! I enjoyed looking at all the sale papers but didn’t go out. Your family pictures is perfect, I love it! I wanted to get the cute cruiser bike at Walmart but didn’t 😦

  3. Yeah, I like shopping on-line much better than standing in line. I don’t like the crowds. That’s why I shop all year.
    Well, I mentioned I might have my husband’s family for Christmas Day and before I could take a breath he was emailing and calling. It will be a big crowd but everyone will bring food. The best part is we won’t have to drive anywhere. Last year it snowed and we didn’t go. The first one we’d missed in 44 years of marriage. We used to have it at a community house, then someone talked everyone into having it at his grandpa’s house where his great Aunt lived a couple of years ago. So they gave up the community house, someone was on a waiting list and snapped it up. His Aunt is in a nursing home and they’re renting Grandpa’s house. It didn’t look like anyone was going to step up so we did. Its a little overwhelming just thinking about it and I will try not to obsess, just make some lists and ask for help.
    Blessings!

  4. Looks like all of you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. And, boy, you have alot of talent in your family. You’ll have to take some pictures of everyone’s decorations. Glad you had such a nice day and you were able to enjoy it instead of working yourself to death. 🙂


Leave a Reply

