Buddy The Elf…

A couple of years ago I discovered something known as ” Elf On The Shelf”.  I’d never heard of such a thing before, and found it by accident on the internet.  “Elf On The Shelf” is a new kind of holiday tradition.  It consists of a small stuffed elf who comes with a storybook explaining about the “magical”  elf, who is sent by Santa from the North Pole.

I’m still a kid at heart, so I was both intrigued and thrilled by the whole concept of a little elf coming into one’s home at the start of the Christmas season–to sit on a shelf and spy on the child’s behavior, then report back to Santa at the North Pole each evening.  I was sold on the idea, so I promptly had “Santa” send an “Elf On A Shelf” to our granddaughter, Madison.

The “Elf on the Shelf”  arrived at Madison’s house shortly after Thanksgiving, complete with a letter from “Santa”.  Madison’s family decided to name their magical little elf “Buddy”.  Buddy spent the entire Christmas season in Madison’s home keeping a watchful eye on her behavior.  During the night, Buddy would quietly move around the house (with the help of Madison’s parents) to a different vantage point for the following day.  Then on Christmas Eve Buddy quietly disappeared.

Last year Buddy returned on the day after Thanksgiving.  Madison was four years old by then, and she was very intrigued by Buddy.  Buddy spent the entire Christmas season spying on her–and having a few adventures along the way!  Madison never knew where she was going to find Buddy each morning.  He might be sitting in the Christmas tree or sitting in Barbie’s car!  She began each morning searching for Buddy.  I thoroughly enjoyed hearing Madison tell where she found Buddy each morning, and was a bit sad when he left again on Christmas Eve.

Madison anxiously waiting for her mom to open the box from the North Pole

Last Friday morning it happened again!  Just like clockwork, Buddy the elf arrived from the North Pole.  Madison and her mom brought the box over and showed it to me when it arrived.  That crazy elf has already been busy spying and rambling again.  Just the other day I saw him sitting in Madison’s Christmas stocking!  There’s no telling where he’ll go next–or what he might do.  Of course we all have to be careful not to touch Buddy or he’ll lose his “magic”.

Buddy has safely arrived to spend the holiday season at Madison's house

Apparently the “Elf on the Shelf” craze is becoming quite popular.  I’m thrilled because the “Elf on the Shelf”‘s creators are fellow Georgians!   This year  the “Elf on the Shelf” had his own television special, in addition to his own website!  Facebook is even buzzing with parents sharing the adventures of their children’s little seasonal visitors!  Apparently, some elves can be quite adventuresome during the night.

I wish there had been an “Elf on the Shelf” when my own children were growing up.  Oh the fun Ed and I could have had with him!  If you aren’t familiar with “Elf on the shelf”, you can learn more  by visiting HERE  The site also includes some fun games to play at “The North Pole”!    It really makes me want to be a kid again…but I guess I’ll just have to settle for being a grandparent!

Published in: on December 1, 2011 at 10:05 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/buddy-the-elf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It does seem to be everywhere this year especially. Glad your granddaughter is having fun with it-I like her elf’s name : )

  2. I’ll definitely check out the Elf on a Shelf…and as far as being a kid again, I think its even more fun to be a grandmother! :O)

  3. I wish that they had something like that when my daughter was a little girl. And I think “Buddy” is the cutest name for him. What a sweet tradition for Madison.

  4. I bought one this week. He will sit in his box waiting for my grandchildren to arrive someday!! On Pinterest they show so many great ideas of things to do with him.

  5. I love the elf on the shelf! It is just so much fun being a grandparent:)

  6. This is a cute story and I like learning what Buddy has been up to….I have an Elf on a Kitchen shelf which I made two years ago. He doesn’t venture to far from the kitchen…smart elf.
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

