You Won’t Believe What We Saw…

us waiting for the parade to begin, while Cade plays in the background

Last Saturday night, Ed and I decided to attend an evening Christmas parade in a nearby town.  We met our oldest son and his family at one of our favorite restaurants in the town,  ate an early supper, then we all went to the parade together.

Our grandson is about to turn three, so parades are still pretty exciting to him!  While this parade was exciting and colorful with all of the glowing, multi colored lights, there was just something very strange about it–and I’m not talking about the Shriner’s’ vehicles!

We hadn’t been watching very long when we noticed that the theme of the parade seemed to have something to do with Hollywood--as in California, movie stars, etc.  This realization struck me as odd.  I found myself thinking, what in the world does Hollywood have to do with Christmas?  Hollywood and Christ are about as far apart as one can get!  I’m just sayin’…

One float had a Justin Bieber impersonator singing to some little girls.  Another float was filled with people dressed up as “celebrities”.  I remember seeing a Marilyn Monroe “look-alike” among the crowd, dressed in her “infamous white dress”.  Really?

Then I saw the strangest sight of the evening…I saw someone impersonating Michael Jackson on a float…and he was dancing  before someone who was supposed to be Jesus!  Behind Jesus stood three people dressed as angels.  The whole thing just seemed so wrong!  Michael Jackson was supposed to be putting on a show for Jesus and His angels!  And do you know what was the worst of all?  The float was sponsored by a church!  What?!!  Call me “old fashioned”, but I don’t get the connection…

I’m still scratching my head about that particular float, and the parade theme.  I’m sure the parade had a message, I’m just not sure what it was!  I still can’t seem to get that image of “Michael Jackson” dancing in front of Jesus out of my head!  What is this world coming to?

Photobucket

Time to hop on board the Tuesday Train for a little fun…Just click the button to join in the fun!

Published in: on December 6, 2011 at 9:19 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/you-wont-believe-what-we-saw/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh My Goodness!!! I’m totally with you! What in the world has Michael Jackson (of all people) got to do with Christmas and performing for Jesus – REALLY???? I think the part that disturb me the most is that this particular thought process came from a Church and that’s so wrong on so many levels.

  2. I cannot even imagine! Thank God your grandson is still quite young and will hopefully just remember the shiny vehicles and the noise.

  3. Seriously? That’s just unbelievable. When a church totally disregards an opportunity to shine a light of Truth to a world which has chosen to ignore the true meaning of Christmas, I fear for that flock.

  4. I, too, am speechless ( well, almost) that the sponsors of the Christmas Parade thought they needed a theme. Does Christmas already have one? Isn’t it about something already? I just finished my post for today where I posted the song “Where is the Line for Jesus?” I just had it sent to me in a n email and it fits perfectly with yours. Sometimes people, and churches evidently, need to be reminded.

  5. Sounds like a fun parade with Hollywood impersonaters but that Michael Jackson thing just sound sick to me.
    What were they thinking?

  6. I’m glad I didn’t see it. Just reading your description made me feel weird. I’m with you – what’s this world coming to???


Leave a Reply

