Wednesday Hodgepodge…December 7

Take a breather, stop baking and wrapping, or whatever you are doing, and let’s join Joyce for a little Wednesday Hodgepodge.  Just click her cute little button to join in…

1. Will you be hosting any house guests between now and the end of December? Does that thought make you happy or crazy? Do you do anything special for your guests to make them feel at home? How long should a house guest stay?

As far as I know, I won’t be hosting any house guests this Christmas.  I miss the “good ole’ days” when our family used to visit back and forth with my brother and his family at Christmas time, so it makes me sad that we no longer do this…I don’t know why we stopped–probably due to my health or we both had too much going on.    I used to always try to cook a German Chocolate cake for my brother whenever he visited because it’s his favorite.

David, one of these is waiting for your next visit

2. Walter Elias Disney was born this week (December 5) back in 1905 …what’s your all time favorite Disney movie? Here’s a list in case you’re struggling…and yes, you have to pick one.

I flip and flop back and forth between “The Little Mermaid” and “The Lion King”.  I love them both equally, and can watch them over and over.

3. What was the last thing you purchased that you realized was a mistake after the fact?

I purchased a couple of “door ringers” on Monday.  You know, those gold rings with large red bows and bells hanging from them.  I quickly changed my mind after I bought them, and returned them the same day.

4. What percentage of your Christmas shopping is done online?

I did about two-thirds of my shopping online this year.  It’s so much easier, and most of the time shipping is free!  Gasoline for my car is not free, and since I have to travel a minimum of 30 miles to shop, it’s more economical for me to order online.

5. Amaryllis-snowdrop-poinsettia…your favorite winter blossom?

I’m partial to old-fashioned poinsettias– the red ones!

6. What is one thing on your personal Christmas wish list? I think we all want peace on earth so let’s make this answer an actual item.

At the top of my wish list is–to have a happy, healthy family, together at Christmas.  I know you may not count this as an item, but it’s what really counts.  If you insist on having a material item answer–it would be the rotating, ceramic Christmas tree that I saw on Monday.

7. If you could only use one word today what would it be?

Thankful. (for all that I have–and do not have)

I’ve been listening to some “hard luck” stories on the radio.  You know, the ones where certain families are experiencing difficult times and need a little extra help this time of the year.  The stories I’ve been listening to concern families who have a member who is gravely ill.  Like a three-year-old with leukemia,   or the mother (of small children) who is dying of cancer.  The radio announcer could barely read the letters without breaking down…  Hearing these stories makes me feel thankful–very, very thankful…Which brings to mind some members of my own family.

Last year, just before Christmas, my aunt (mama’s sister) passed away.  I was in bed with the flu, and missed the funeral.  In January, the aunt’s oldest daughter (Shava Jean) suffered another blow when her husband (Charles) suffered from  a ruptured aorta.  By all doctor’s accounts, Charles should have passed away, but yet he survived.  However, he spent months in the hospital followed by rehab.  In fact, Charles has spent the entire year in and out of the hospital.  He will be on dialysis for life as a result of his grave illness.   Shava Jean has been by his side the entire time.  In the middle of Charles’ recovery, their daughter, Traci, was diagnosed with breast cancer!  She had a mastectomy, and is currently undergoing chemotherapy. ( Can you imagine?  First losing your mother, then almost losing your husband, then to find our your daughter has cancer?)  This family has been through so much this year, but they’ve survived!  Which brings to mind a favorite song of mine:

Published in: on December 7, 2011 at 9:44 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/wednesday-hodgepodge-december-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We’re about 30 miles from most retail shops, so not only does online shopping save money (with most sights are offering free shipping), but it also saves time (a very valuable commodity this season) and allows us to avoid crowds (a personal bugaboo of mine). And I’ve discovered that many online stores offer lower prices than their real-life stores.

    Wow, what a year for your cousin’s family … praying that 2012 will be a better year for them.

  2. Good health is certainly at the top of our list this year. I think until you see the opposite on a daily basis as we have with our niece in recent months we don’t appreciate it as we should.

    I love online shopping..no crowds and I can look at my leisure. Now most sites have deals and free shipping too so why not?

  3. I love shopping online and I got some great deals today! With the free shipping why get out of my PJ’s to go out? That is a lot of loss. Keeping everyone in my prayers. I have a HS friend who suffered a ruptured aorta last year and made a complete recovery. Thankful is a wonderful word.

  4. Health is at the top of my list this year.

  5. I love “Angels Among Us.” It’s one of my favorites. When our kids were young, and I was directing their choir at church, we did it in sign language. I still remember the signs, and have to sign along every time I hear it. May you have a blessed Christmas.

  6. What a beautiful song. It always make me smile…and cry. 🙂

    You know what went on this year, so there won’t be any presents, but that’s ok, that’s not the real Reason for the Season. As you know, that’s Jesus Christ and he has kept a roof over my head and food on my table. I can’t ask for more than that. 🙂

    • Oops! I meant to capitalize his name.

  7. I did it again – His name. 😉

  8. I miss Alabama. They had some great songs. I also like “Thank God For Kids” along with this one. I too, do alot of my shopping on line. I have a Belk and a Walmart and that’s it, so I have kept the mail lady hopping.

    I know my own family stopped a lot of the holiday get togethers too. I miss the sitting around the table after dinner part. That was always the relaxing part of the visit.

    Maybe your brother will be tempted by that cake. I would be.

  9. I cannot imagine going through all your cousin has/is experiencing. Not even one bit. Bless her soul.

    My SIL makes a mean German chocolate cake too. Of course, I can’t eat it anymore…but it sure smells good!

  10. Hello! I’ve been reading your weblog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent work!


Leave a Reply

