Meet Me On Monday…And The Weekend Wrap Up

It’s the beginning of a brand new week, which means it’s time to join Java for “Meet Me On Monday”. If you’d like to join in the fun, just click Java’s button at the top of this post!

1. Tomorrow I’m going to …clean up my house, and finish getting ready for Christmas. I haven’t wrapped the first present yet! You know, on second thought, the house can wait. I’m going to go visit my mother-in-law. I want to take her a poinsettia and a box of chocolate covered cherries–her favorite things this time of the year.
2. Pudding or Jello? I like both, but I prefer pudding. I used to make chocolate or banana pudding a lot when the children were growing up, but these days Ed and I just eat those little “snack pack” puddings.
3. What book are you currently reading? Nothing at the moment. I bought “The Perfect Christmas” by Debbie Macomber, but I’ve been too busy to read it. I’m having trouble just trying to keep up with everyone’s blogs!
4. What is the first concert you went to see? Ed took me to see Billy Joe Royal not long after we first started dating–a long, long time ago! Who remembers “Down in the Boondocks”?  No?  You can check out Billy Joe singing his hit song below.  I got a laugh out of his suit, and his footwork mid-way through the song  🙂   I think Ed had that same suit!!!   Those were the days, weren’t they?

5. What is your current weather? It’s cold, cloudy, and drizzling rain.  It looks like true Christmas weather outside!  I think the highs for the week are supposed to be in the mid-sixties, which is about right for me.

Weekend Wrap Up: I began the weekend on Friday by doing a little Christmas shopping, then did a little baby sitting after I ran into our oldest son and his wife trying to Christmas shop with their three-year-old.  Christina is nearly nine months pregnant, and you know how the stores are this time of the year!  I offered to take Caden home with me, so they could shop a little easier.

Once we arrived home, we invited granddaughter, Madison, over to play, too.  Both of the grandchildren spent Friday afternoon playing together.  At one point I was pretending to be a horse while I pulled Madison and Cade in their sleigh (the wagon).  Can I just say–this old gray mare ain’t what she used to be?   One trip around the yard and this mare was pooped!  And to think I used to keep twins!

On Saturday morning I attended a baby shower for our daughter-in-law.  The shower was held at Christina’s sister’s house.  Here’s a photo of Christina with her gifts, standing in front of her sister’s upside down Christmas tree.  I was so intrigued by that tree!  I’d seen pictures of one, but never the real thing!

December 12 is our grandson, Caden’s, third birthday.  (Happy Birthday, Caden!)  His baby brother is due in two weeks, so I offered to host his birthday party at our house on Sunday to help his mom out.  Christina got a cake and some decorations, while I planned a menu for Sunday’s dinner.

I cooked Sunday dinner for the family, then we followed it with birthday cake, ice cream, and presents–lots of presents.  Caden didn’t care a thing about the cake, candles, or ice cream, but he loved opening his presents!  Caden knew exactly how to open his presents this year, and he opened them with gusto!   One of his favorite presents seemed to be this…

We may just have another “handyman” in the making…You know, you just can’t have too many of those around, especially these days!

Have a great Monday, everyone!

Published in: on December 12, 2011 at 10:07 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/meet-me-on-monday-and-the-weekend-wrap-up-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never seen an upside down tree…why is this done? It’s kinda interesting. Happy birthday to your grandson-that cake is adorable for a little boy!

  2. I, too, wonder why put a tree upside down?? Is it done for real and artificial trees? Surely not real … how would you keep them watered. Strange.

    I love birthday parties when they turn 3 … they understand the concept of birthdays and presents – and how to open those presents with gusto! But then, 3 is my favorite age.

    And yes I remember Billy Joe Royal and Down in the Boondocks. 😉

  3. Ok you HAVE to blog about the upside down tree! How do they do that and is the tree real or fake? And WHY? I would like to know WHY. Love the cake and hope he grows up to be a great handyman.

  4. How can you get Christmas done when you have so many other things going on. Christina looks wonderful. How nice of you to have Caden’s party. I haven’t wrapped anything yet. It will all be ready for the 25th so I still have some time! Tomorrow is cards and out of town gifts ready to be mailed. Then I will finish the tree and bake.

  5. Look at that cute little Baby Belly. She may not feel that it’s that little, but she looks darling. I just know she’s ready for that little bundle to be on the outside right about now.

    Love the tree. Now I’m wondering what kind of attachment is on the ceiling.

  6. I didn’t play along this week, but I never eat jello.. It always reminds me of being sick. In fact, when I was a little girl, about six, I once went to a friends house and her brother was eating Jello. I came home and told my mom he must have been sick… She had to explain that jello was actually a real desert… Ah, memories. I host a Friday Fill-In Blog Hop I would love if you could check it out…

  7. Wow – you guys have been busy like little Christmas elves. Christina looks great. And, Caden, looks like such a grown-up with his tractor cake and his handy-man birthday gift. I wish all of you a wonderful time of year during this birthday/Christmas/arrival of Chase time of year. 😀


Leave a Reply

