About Upside-Down Trees, and Other Random Things…

Yesterday, several people left comments about the upside down Christmas tree in this photo.  The tree belongs to our daughter-in-law’s sister.  Some of you had never heard of an upside-down tree, while others were curious, or perhaps a bit intrigued like me.

I researched the topic on Monday evening, and here is some of what I found out about upside-down Christmas trees, courtesy of  About.com:

You may be surprised to hear that the upside-down tree is one of the hottest new fads!  Actually, upside-down Christmas trees aren’t so new though.  Hanging fir trees upside down goes back to the Middle Ages, when Europeans did this to represent the Trinity.  Who knew?

Since a traditional Christmas tree is usually displayed with the top of the tree pointing toward heaven, some people think the upside-down tree is disrespectful or sacrilegious.  Actually,  upside-down Christmas trees were originally introduced to retailers for in-store displays so more ornaments could be displayed at eye level to potential customers.  The upside-down tree also left more room underneath the tree for storing extra stock underneath.

The upside-down tree has since caught on with the buying public, and is being sold as a novelty.  One version of the tree is suspended from the ceiling, while another has a trunk that rests on the floor.  Major retailer, Target,  has begun to offer a pre-lit version of the tree for about $399.  The above photo is from About.com

While some may not care for the unusual upside-down tree, it actually has some benefits that a traditional Christmas tree doesn’t have.  The ornaments hang higher, keeping them safe from small children.  Pets also won’t be able to knock ornaments off the low limbs of your tree–and there’s lots of room underneath to stack Christmas presents!

Christina’s sister’s tree is artificial, and it has a trunk that it rests on.  She has two little boys, ages 2 and 4, and also runs a daycare in her home.  I suppose this style of tree might work best for her, or perhaps she just likes the oddity of it.  I really like it too, although I’m too traditional to ever have one.
Now for a wee bit of random…

Well, it’s official!  I’m an old poop.  I decided to bake some refrigerator cookies on Monday afternoon.  You know, the kind you buy in the grocer’s refrigerated section.

Well, apparently my eyes are failing me, because I read the directions and thought it said to bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes.  (I thought, 45 minutes for cookies?) but  I went ahead and followed what I thought were the directions.

Needless to say, after a while I began to smell something burning…it was my cookies!  I opened the oven door to find 12 very brown cookies, and 10 minutes still left on the timer!  After taking a second look at the package, I realized it said bake at 325 degrees for 15 minutes!  Ha!  Nothing like a crisp, brown cookie!  Got milk?

If this wasn’t proof enough that I’m an old poop, I did another crazy thing!  After lunch on Monday, I thought I sent my husband an email at work.  I was telling him that I went to see his mama, and that I needed him to get two of my prescriptions refilled.  When he arrived home from work, he said he hadn’t received my email.

On Monday night, the phone rang and it was my sister-in-law calling from Florida.  She said “Am I crazy or are you?”  Then she went on to tell me that she had received an email from me saying “Hey, I visited your mama today.  Could you please get my prescriptions refilled?”  Yep!  You guessed it, I sent Ed’s email to my sister-in-law!  Boy did we get a good laugh out of that one!

Actually, a while later,  I think I figured out my problem!  I think it was caused by being woke up at 3 am by my cat who was sleeping outside when suddenly it began to rain.  Bobs, the cat,  doesn’t handle rain very well.  So I ended up spending the rest of the night on the couch, in an effort to keep the cat out of the rain–and out of my bed!  Hopefully, tonight will be a better night–not a cloud in sight!

Update ~ Bobs rested well, which means I rested well.  The internet didn’t fare as well.  I’m just now able to get a connection and it’s after 12 pm on Tuesday.  Sorry for the delay in posting!!!

Photobucket

Published in: on December 13, 2011 at 1:19 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/about-upside-down-trees-and-other-random-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think I’m too traditional for an upside down tree but it would be fun to see a display of them somewhere.

  2. The upside down tree sure is funny looking. Thanks for the info. Sorry about the cookies and I love that you sent the email to the wrong person. Too funny!!!

  3. I’m like you … too traditional for an upside down tree, but it was interesting to learn about the history. I would like to see some in real life.

    The mishaps with the cookies and email sound exactly like something I’d do! ha!

  4. I am not sure I would like one..but it is interesting and I must be a real old poop because I have never heard of this before:)

  5. I hadn’t even noticed the tree on your post that day.
    They are so different. I am sure I will never get one but I do see the advantages.
    So do you own reading glasses?


Leave a Reply

