The Dasher And Dancer Hodgepodge…

It’s mid-week, which means it’s time to take a little “hodgepodge break”!  If you aren’t already doing so, and would like to join along, please feel free to click Joyce’s cute little button and jump right in!  Thanks to Joyce for these wonderful questions this busiest time of the year!

1. Do you put Christmas decorations in every room of your house? If not every room, what rooms do you decorate?  Oh my goodness, YES!  I love Christmas decorations!  We five Christmas trees of various sizes–including one in the bathroom.  We have a main tree, a kitchen tree, a coca cola tree, and two mini trees.

2. If you could visit one of the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden) which one would you choose and why?  I honestly have no idea!  I’ve never had the desire to travel outside of the United States–except to go on a cruise to some islands somewhere.

3. What does the word faith mean to you? I remember once hearing someone  say, “Faith is believing in something that you can not see.”  That definition stuck with me, and I’ve never forgotten it.  I can’t think of any better way to describe faith, except to say,  faith is what keeps me going and carries me through, especially through the rough times.

4. You can go back to your childhood for one day…what day and age would you choose?  

I wasn’t technically a child, since I was 17,  but I’d go back to May 27th, 1972, the day I went with Ed’s parents to pick him up from the airport.  Ed had been gone overseas for almost 21 months without a furlough.  We’d shared one short phone conversation in all of those months!  I can’t begin to tell you the feeling of boundless joy and exhilaration I felt that day when I finally saw my Ed again, and actually got to touch him!  It was pure bliss, and I’ve never forgotten the feeling!

5. When did you last have ‘punch’? If it’s not too much trouble share your favorite punch recipe.

I actually had punch last Saturday at our daughter-in-law’s baby shower.  My recipe is a simple one– 1 large can of orange juice, 1 large can of pineapple juice,  an 8 oz. bottle of lemon juice, 4 cups of sugar, and 4 quarts of water. The original recipe calls for 5 cups of sugar, but that’s too sweet for me, so I decreased the amount.

6. Do you fill stockings at your house? Are stockings opened before or after the bigger gifts?

One year (1976) I crocheted every member of Ed’s family a stocking.  For a long time  Ed’s mother filled the stockings for the Christmas gatherings at her house.  The adults enjoyed the stockings as much as the gifts, I think.  This was in the days before the grandchildren came along.  Once the grandchildren began arriving, we stopped filling the stockings for adults, and concentrated more on the children.

When our children were growing up, I always filled their stockings with Christmas candy, and maybe a couple of small other items.  They opened their stockings later in the day, or sometimes the next day.  This tradition went on for quite a few years.  Sometimes Ed and I got something in our stockings, sometimes not.  These days it’s “not”.

7. What takes your breath away?  Childbirth!  What a miracle it is!  (I secretly think I would have made a great OB nurse)  I was just as amazed by the birth of child number three as I was with child number one.  Now that my babies are all grown up, I’ve been blown away by each of our grandchildren’s births!  What tiny miracles they are…To go from only an embryo,  to a precious tiny baby in just 9 months!  Only twelve more days until I get to meet grand-baby number three!

Random:
Speaking of grandchildren…I can’t help but have a particular family on my mind this holiday season.  I’ve been meaning to blog about them, but somehow never did.  Warning!…this is tragic and very sad.

In late October, our town was shaken when one of our most loved families was struck by tragedy. Janis McCurdy, former council woman and local business owner, was involved in a head-on collision. Riding in the vehicle with Janis were three out of four of her son’s children–her beloved grandchildren!  The oldest, eleven year old, Turner, was critically injured, but survived. The other two children, two-year-old, Spencer, and seven-year-old, Molly, died at the scene of the crash, along with their grandmother. Fortunately, four-year-old, Anderson, was sick and was not in the vehicle at the time of the accident.  Janis was being a dutiful and loving parent, and was babysitting because her daughter-in-law was sick in the hospital at the time.  She was returning from picking the children up from school when the accident occurred.

Meanwhile, two brothers, Jose and Pedro, ages 22 and 24, and new residents to our town, were driving the other vehicle involved. They were returning from inquiring about a new job, when their vehicle crossed over the center line.  Janis swerved to miss them, but they counter-swerved and the two vehicles collided head-on.   Both of these young men were killed at the scene, too.

I can’t help but think of all of the families affected by this one tragic accident. A husband left without a wife, and missing two of his grandchildren. A young married couple, with the husband losing his mother and two of his four children at once.  The other family missing two of their sons, struck down in their prime…It’s almost over-whelming to think about what these families must be going through.  I can’t imagine…but for the grace of God, it could be me.

It makes me want to drop to my knees and give thanks right now!  It also makes me want to remember all of these families throughout what is surely going to be a difficult Christmas…

Published in: on December 14, 2011 at 10:53 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/the-dasher-and-dancer-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I included the miracle of birth as something that takes my breath away, too. While there are so many beautiful things to see in other countries, I don’t really have any desire to travel outside the US either … although DH & I are planning a cruise to some islands to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. 😉

  2. Prayers for your community and the families of those involved in such a tragedy. Bless you for sharing.

  3. I’m still amazed by birth too. Being near sighted and just a tad busy at the time, I didn’t get to “watch” my own girls being born. My 2 grandsons came into the world without this Nana present. I want to see that miracle happen. I think my chances are pretty slim though.

    I never had a stocking growing up but my sister and I filled them for our children…and now we don’t know how to stop. Sarah will be 38 In Jan. and it is her favorite part of Christmas. I guess I’m not through yet.

    My heart breaks for the families of that accident. I cnnot imagine that pain at all.

  4. Oh goodness, what an awful lot of sadness. I will remember these families in my prayers. I am reminded so often lately of the fragility of life…I honestly don’t know how people get thru these sorts of situations without faith.

  5. I enjoyed your answers…..and what a tragedy this was. I knew of a similar accident once where several family members were killed at the same time.
    Blessings,
    Mama Bear

  6. That is tragic. My prayers are with the families during this holiday season. I had to get down on my knees when I read this, had to thank God for the blessings he has given to me and prayed for the hearts of everyone involved with the tragic accident.

  7. I know this will be a difficult Christmas for them this year…and the Mobley family as well. I pray that the Lord hold these families in His arms and help them through this time.


Leave a Reply

