Meet Me On Monday…The Christmas Countdown!

Can it really be the week of Christmas?  Please, say it isn’t so! I’m not ready… There’s no time to waste, so let’s jump right to Java’s questions for this week’s edition of “Meet Me On Monday”…

1.Wrapping paper or gift bags? I use both, but I  use more wrapping paper than bags.
2.Real or artificial tree?  Artificial
3.When do you put your tree up?  The weekend after Thanksgiving
4.When do you take your tree down?  I begin taking decorations down a day or two after New Year’s Day.
5.Do you like eggnog?  No
6.Do you have a nativity scene?  Yes, actually I have more than one.
7.Favorite Christmas Movie?  National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
8.Favorite Christmas cookie?  Fruitcake cookies or frosted sugar cookies, can’t decide which.
9.Where will you eat Christmas dinner?  At home, I’m cooking for the family.
10.Angel, bow or star on top of your tree?  None of the above, we have a Boyd’s Bear on top of the tree because it’s the only thing that fits.
11.Most annoying thing about this time of the year?  The crowds!
12.Do you like Fruitcake?  Not really, but I do like fruitcake cookies.
13.What are you most excited about the holidays?  Playing Dirty Santa with our children, and seeing the grandchildren playing with their new toys on Christmas.
14.Do you open presents Christmas Eve or Christmas Morning?  On Christmas Day, after lunch.
15.Will you still be wrapping presents on Christmas Eve?  I sure  hope not!

Weekend Wrap-up: Our weekend didn’t go exactly as planned…Brad and Jennifer’s party was cancelled. Jennifer came down with a case of “Christmas Crud”! You know, sore throat, fever, laryngitis…it was bad, but at least it’s not the flu! She went to the doctor on Thursday, and she is finally feeling better today.

On Thursday evening, Ed and I attended the Christmas Party at The Griffin House, where his mama is a resident.  I was so proud that every one of our children and their families (except Jennifer, who was sick)  came, too!  I’m pretty sure that Ed’s mama had the most family present at the party!

Friday I accompanied my daughter and granddaughter on a Field Trip to Savannah.  After the activities of the Field Trip were over, we did a little last-minute shopping.  The crowds weren’t bad at all in the beginning, but by the time we were leaving…oh. my. word!

Ed and I did a little shopping on Saturday morning (using our Dollar General coupons), we had a nice lunch together at one of our favorite local restaurants, then we came home and I took a nap, while Ed washed my car for me.  (Thanks Ed!)

On Sunday we did a few things around the house, and just relaxed. I enjoyed the calm before the storm of activities that will be coming this week!  Later, Brad and Jennifer, and some old and dear friends of ours came by for a visit on Sunday afternoon, and we enjoyed visiting with all of them.

At one point during the weekend, our little granddaughter, Madison, came over for a little visit. Her mom happened to mention that Madison had learned all of the words to “Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer”.   Madison was in a “performing” mood, and was willing to sing for my camera.  Here’s her performance:

Published in: on December 19, 2011 at 9:10 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/meet-me-on-monday-the-christmas-countdown/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a sweetie!

    After so many listing, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, as their favorite Christmas movie, I guess I am going to have to rewatch that one.

  2. What a sweetie! 😉

    You know, I’ve never seen that movie … I guess it’s time to watch, eh?

  3. Kathy I haven’t stopped by in a bit but I am so glad I did today, Madisons preformance was ADORABLE!! I love that your tree turns, that is cool! I hope you, Ed and your whole family have a wonderful Christmas!!

  4. The video is adorable and I really like your moving tree. Each year when I decorate I move items to different sides so it’s different each year. Well now I have ornaments to still put on it but I only have the back left and I want to see them!!! The moving tree would be perfect. So sorry that Jennifer got ill. I can’t believe this is the final countdown. I like to wrap the presents but I do use a few gifts bags also. My tree will be up until mid-January. I have a beautiful Santa on my tree top. Most annoying thing for me is that my husband doesn’t help in any way!!! I am a bit bitter today.

  5. Madison’s performance was precious – standing ovation and clapping loudly!

    I’m sorry to hear that Jennifer got sick – but, very happy to learn that she’s feeling better.

    It sounds like you had a very busy weekend – a lot happening out your way.

    I’ve never heard of the game, “Dirty Santa” – it sounds intriguing. :))

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  6. Oh boy, don’t get me started about the crowds. I refuse to shop at Wal-mart this time of year because they just don’t seem to get it that 4 cashiers is not enough for the 50 or so people standing in line. I refuse to waste my time like that!

    You wait until after lunch to open presents!! I’m assuming that means the grandkids have already opened some at home. Otherwise, how do you get them to wait?

    I’ll probably be one of those who will be wrapping presents on Christmas eve. It happens every year, despite the fact that I say it will not. 🙂

  7. Christmas Vacation is a favorite of Ashley and me too. I haven’t watched it this year, so I better start checking the TV guide and find it somewhere. ;-P

    Madison sounds great. She really seems to enjoy entertaining. 😀

    I think I’ll borrow your questions for my Facebook page. 🙂

    Have a great week, Miss Kathy and God bless. 😀

  8. I was going through MMOM withdrawl – so I’ve resurrected it on Acting Balanced until Java starts posting again – please feel free to stop by and check out this week’s questions at http://www.actingbalanced.com/2012/02/meet-me-on-monday.html


Leave a Reply

