Wednesday Hodgepodge…T’was Just Days Before Christmas

T’was just days before Christmas…and all through the house…everyone  was scurrying–including Joyce, but she  took the time to  post  today’s questions and host The Hodgepodge!   Now that’s what I call dedication!  Thanks, Joyce!  Now, the rest of us need to answer the questions, then make our rounds visiting other participants!

1. Are you cooking Christmas dinner? How many will be round your table this year? What are we having?  Yes, I am cooking.  I’ve cooked every Christmas dinner for over 20 years.  That’s a lot of hams and turkeys!  If the good Lord is willing, we will have ten around our table.  Jennifer has to work, unfortunately.  Baked ham is on the menu.

2. What is one must-have Christmas cookie in your house?  In years past, it’s been decorated sugar cookies.  I think I’m going to pass on that tradition this year.  Daughter, Brandy, has been at her house baking cookies for a week now.  She’s shared the fruits of her labor with the entire family, so we’ve got cookies!  I do plan to make some Christmas candy though.  Some like fudge, while others like buckeyes…

3. Santa likes a glass of milk with his cookies. Do you? What kind of milk is on tap at your house-skim? almond? soy? full fat (Gasp!)  Just last year I finally gave in, and switched to 2% milk.  I refuse to compromise any more than that!

4. Time magazine recently named their ‘Person of the Year’ for 2011. This is the person the editors believe had the greatest impact, for better or worse, in the past year. This year they chose ‘The Protester’. Your thoughts? Who would you name Person of the Year for 2011?    When I heard this news, it made me ill!  All this bunch of people did was make a mess and cause trouble for others–and they got paid to do it!  How about we shine the spotlight on the police officers or small business owners who were having to deal with the “crap” of the protesters, rising crime rates, or a lousy economy this year!

5. December 21st is National Flashlight Day… when was the last time you needed a flashlight and did you know right where to find one?  I use a flashlight regularly, to check on my cats outside, so I keep my flashlight beside the door.

6. Candy canes…yum or yuck?  I can take or leave them, so I’m going to say yuck.

7. What Christmas carol lyric means the most to you?  Oh Holy Night…especially when sung by Josh Grobin

Random:  On the Field Trip last Friday, Brandy, Madison, and I decided to have our picture taken with Santa Claus.  It was the first time that I ever remember having my picture made with Santa!  Better late than never, right?

Mother, Daughter, Granddaughter...and Santa!

Published in: on December 21, 2011 at 9:30 am  Comments (9)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/wednesday-hodgepodge-twas-just-days-before-christmas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cute picture with Santa! Merry Christmas to you and a happy new year too! So fun to know you thru our blogs : )

  2. 3 generations with Santa! Such a sweet photo! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  3. Visiting from the Hodgepodge.
    Is the Person of the Year supposed to be someone who only impacted America? I don’t follow these things much, so am not really sure how it works. If so, I agree about the Protester; however, on a GLOBAL scale, look what they are accomplishing! Democracy coming to Arab nations. It’s amazing – I never thought I’d live to see the day.
    I’ve never had a picture with Santa – maybe it’s time (I’m only 42, after all!).

  4. Awwwwwwwwwww, the 3 generation photo is superb!!! I believe!!!

    My two separate posts today:

    1] New Orleans Conclusion
    and
    2] WEDNESDAY HODGEPODGE

    Hope your day, so far, has been a glorious one.

  5. I love Buckeyes! I agree with you on #4 and Josh Groban singing anything is awesome! What a great photo of you ladies!

    Merry Christmas.

  6. I know this will be a photo you’ll cherish for years to come.
    Mama Bear

  7. Aww…I love the picture of the three of you with Santa. 😀

    And thanks for posting that song…it’s beautiful. 🙂

    Hope you all have a very Merry Christmas. 😀

  8. Such a sweet pic of you all with Santa 🙂 You’re right, better late than never!

    Merry Christmas!

  9. I don’t know how people drink skim milk! I buy 2% but I don’t mind the 1% but I will not go lower!!! Love the picture with Santa. Merry Christmas.


Leave a Reply

