Thursday’s Thoughts…Christmas Memories

I got the idea for making this video montage while watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.  If you’ve ever seen the movie, you’ll remember Clark Griswold sitting in the attic viewing old film strips (and crying).  I love the song, “The Spirit of Christmas”,  which plays during that particular movie scene.  That song inspired this video.

While I was taking  these photos throughout the years, I never realized how much they would mean to me one day.  I treasure each photograph, as well as all of the memories that go along with them.

So many Christmases, so many memories…Christmases at my parents house, with my brother and his family…Christmases with Ed’s family (I sure wish I had a picture of the year my cat turned over their Christmas tree!)…the year our Christmas tree was so large it practically covered up our car…our children all dressed up for church (and hating having their pictures made)…the one Christmas that it actually snowed here…the year the kids got a trampoline (and my mother took a turn jumping, as I watched in horror–no picture of that either!)…and those infamous very large, very old Christmas panties that get passed around in our family year after year!

These days we’re making new Christmas memories as our family continues to decrease in some ways and grow in others…the cycle of life goes on as parents and loved ones pass away, while our children marry and have children of their own…

Permit me to share a few of my favorite Christmas memories of the past thirty-nine years, along with some more recent Christmas memories as well…

May you and your own family make lots of warm and happy holiday memories of your own this season…Merry Christmas, everyone!

Published in: on December 22, 2011 at 9:15 am  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/thursdays-thoughts-christmas-memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It is perfect. What a great idea. I especially love the picture of the car with the Christmas tree on top!
    Merry Christmas and blessings to you and your family.

  2. What a great idea! Wishing you and yours a truly blessed Christmas!

  3. That was awesome! Do you buy those slideshows on DVD or do you just keep them for use on the computer?

  4. I’m so glad you posted this! I’ve been trying to figure out how to do one. Yours turned out fantastic! It really took me back!

  5. That song always brings tears to my eyes, even during that crazy funny movie! What a beautiful montage full of beautiful memories! I hope your family will enjoy watching that this holiday season.

  6. Have a very Merry Christmas! I’m sure your family will treasure the video…so nice to have those memories captured.

  7. Beautiful memories. 🙂


Leave a Reply

