Wednesday Hodgepodge…Getting Ready For A New Year

Due to the Christmas holidays, I’ve been on a bit of a vacation from blogging lately.  I wanted to spend all of my time enjoying the holidays.  However,  today I’m jumping on board for Joyce’s Hodgepodge.  I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas, I know we did!  I’ll be back at a later date to share the holiday highlights, but for now I’m resting and recovering from all of the Christmas activities.  For today, let’s get right to the questions…

1. Share something you loved about your Christmas Day.  Watching my grown sons act like kids again!  It brought back such happy memories.  Our sons, ages 29 and 26 were jumping on the trampoline and flying remote-controlled helicopters like they were 10 again!  I think they had as much fun as our grandchildren did, and I’m glad.  It’s good to feel like a kid again.

2. You get to put five items in a time capsule to be opened in 100 years, what items would you choose and why?  A cell phone, an iPad, a People magazine, a local newspaper, and a family photo album.  I’d put in the cell phone because so many people seem to be obsessed with them these days (a phenomenon which I do not understand).  I’d add an iPad because it’s today’s newest, most popular technology(and I’ve never seen one).  The magazine, newspaper, and photo album would be for historical purposes.  I’m sure somebody would enjoy looking at the news, prices, and styles of the today.  I wonder what the price of a loaf of bread or a gallon of gas will be in 100 years???

3. What do you like on a cracker?  I’m not much of a cracker eater, I usually skip them and go straight for sweets!  I used to eat peanut butter on Ritz crackers though.

4. Do you make resolutions at the start of a new year? How’d that work out for you this past year?  I stopped making resolutions a long, long time ago.  Who really cares anyway?

5. What’s a song or song lyric you’ll associate with 2011?  “Knee Deep In Paradise” by Zac Brown Band because it reminds me of the fantastic 39th  wedding anniversary that Ed and I spent at the beach in 2011.  I’m still dreamin’ of taking a cruise one of these days…or at least traveling deep into Florida to see some beautiful blue water.

6. How will you ring in the new year?   Ed and I usually just hang around the house and quietly watch the new year come in together.

7. What is something you look forward to in 2012?  The last 6 months of 2011 have been difficult ones for me, health-wise.  I’m hoping that 2012 will be better so I can enjoy life more.  It’s hard to get the most out of life when I feel lousy or tired most of  the time.  I’d also like to feel well enough to babysit more often…(see the following announcement)

Random: Announcing the arrival of the newest member of our family…grandson, Chase Walker!  Chase was born on Tuesday, December 27 at 9:45 am.  He weighed 7 lbs, 10 oz and was 21 1/2 inches long, and of course we think he’s beautiful!  Chase is the son of our oldest son, Brett, and his wife Christina.

Brett and Chase, shortly after Chase's birth

While Ed and I were standing at the nursery window admiring our newest grandchild, a nurse came up and asked if it was our first.  I said, “No, our third!”  She said we were staring with such amazement that she thought it was our first!  I said to her “It never gets old”–and it doesn’t!  Welcome to the family, baby Chase!

baby Chase, a little later in the day

Published in: on December 28, 2011 at 10:21 am  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/wednesday-hodgepodge-getting-ready-for-a-new-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Goodness, he’s so beautiful I had tears in my eyes! Congratulations! I had other things to say but all I can think about now is that sweet, precious little one!

  2. Oh no, it NEVER gets old … I was as teary-eyed and all smiles with #4 as I was with #1! Congratulations on a new grandbaby!

    I am praying that 2012 will bring good health for you and those you love.

    DH and I will celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary next year, and we’re planning a cruise. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy the blue water this coming March when we go to southern Florida for Spring Training. Hope you get to dip your toes in the blue waters soon!

  3. Congratulations! He’s a cutie.
    Enjoyed your time-capsule entries. That would be interesting the cost of groceries.
    Happy New Year!

  4. Welcome to the world, Chase. He is absolutely adorable. I’m so happy for Christina and Brett…and everyone else too. I’m sure he will bring all of you lots and lots of happiness. God bless. 😀

    • I can’t wait to see pictures of him and Caden together. I’m sure he’ll be a great big brother. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on the new grandson! Our first grandchild is also a “Christmas” baby born 3 years ago on Dec. 26. We are looking forward to the arrival of our second this year in August.

  6. Congratulations on your new grandson! What a way to wrap up the year!

    I love your song too…it takes me to a happy place : )

  7. That is so true, they are like kids again!!! Everyone has said iPad something! I’ve never had anything from apple. That’s how Mark & I spend New Year’s Eve too!
    I have goosebumps….congratulations on the birth of your grandson Chase. He is precious.

  8. Congratulations!!!! He’s a keeper. 🙂

    Okay so I didn’t get that little package in the mail. Going to the post office is such a pain and life has been, well, busy. But someday your gonna see it, mark my words…

  9. Love the new family member. We send our son (age 39) a remote controlled plane this year to remind him to be a kid sometimes. He loved it and so did his wife. His son got one too so they can be kids together. May you have a health 2012.

  10. I love crackers, but each cracker is good for different things…for example, Ritz are the best for peanut butter and pita chips are awesome for hummus and saltines are wonderful with soup. And because I can eat whole boxes of crackers, I seldom buy them LOL.


Leave a Reply

