Wednesday Hodgepodge…January 4

I can’t think of a better way to kick off the new year than joining Joyce for a little Wednesday Hodgepodge! I hope you will read and enjoy Joyce’s questions, my answers, and perhaps even leave a comment telling me that you dropped by. Hopefully, you will have so much fun, you’ll decide to join the Hodgepodge yourself, if you haven’t already!  Here we go!

1. What are three words you would use to describe your 2011?
Stressful The first six months of 2011 were spent planning Brad/Jennifer’s wedding. Jennifer’s recurring health problems kept us on edge most of the year, until her surgery in the fall. I also had some health issues of my own, as did our daughter, Brandy.

JoyfulBrad and Jennifer became husband and wife, and their wedding was beautiful. Brett and Christina became parents again, to another beautiful, healthy, baby boy.

FruitfulWe added two new members to our growing family, daughter-in-law, Jennifer, and grandson, Chase.  The more, the merrier, I say!

2. Do you like shrimp? What’s your favorite way to have it prepared?  Yes, I love shrimp–and I like them best if they are fried!  (wouldn’t you know?)

3. Is your house de-Christmased? If so when did you tackle that job? If not, when will the decorations come down?  No, my house isn’t totally de-Christmased yet.  I began on New Year’s Day, and  I am now in day 4 of the task…  I hope to be finished by the weekend!

4. Do you like to watch scary movies?  Not any more!  I used to love scary movies, but as I grew older, and scary movies became more violent and graphic, I stopped watching them.  I prefer older scary movies–like the kind Alfred Hitchcock used to make.  Who remembers “The Birds”?  

5. Ice skating~sledding~skiing~snowboarding~of the four listed which wintertime activity do you most enjoy?  Believe it or not, I have never tried any of these things!  It never snows where I live!  Out of the four choices given, I think sledding would be my favorite.

6. Did you have a childhood hideout? Describe it.  For a brief period of time, my family lived across the street from my old elementary school.  On weekends, I used to love to go over and play on the fire escapes of the school, along with a neighborhood girlfriend.  We’d climb up those metal  stairs and play on the platform next to the second-story classrooms.  Our parents never knew…and it’s probably a good thing!

7. What’s a place or space that motivates you?  I’m seriously lacking in motivation these days.   Most days I just feel so tired.  However, church has always been my place of motivation in the past.

Random:   My daughter, Brandy, has taken on a new challenge for 2012.   After being recommended to his parents by a friend,  Brandy has decided to start keeping a “special needs” baby in her home four days a week.  (Brandy has tried, unsuccessfully, to have another baby of her own for two years, and has been dealing with “empty nest syndrome” since her only child started  nursery school last year.)

Little Alex, the special needs baby,  was born several weeks premature, and at age 11 months, he still weighs only a few pounds.  He’s still wearing a size 3 to 6 months clothing!  He reminds me of a little Cabbage Patch Kid–and that’s about the size he is, too.  He also wears tiny hearing aids.  Alex is able to sit up and play, and even scoot around, but he’s so tiny even the tiniest of the toys tower over him!  Alex hates to eat, which could help to explain his size!  He’s the first baby I’ve ever seen press his lips together and absolutely refuse to take a bottle!  

Yesterday was Brandy’s first day on the job.  All seemed to go well, except for the eating part.  Baby food wasn’t accepted any better than the bottle was.  (Feeding has always been an issue with Alex.)  Brandy and Alex seem to be equally determined on the feeding issue, so we’ll see how it goes!  If anyone can meet Alex’s needs, I believe that Brandy can.  I’m hoping that Alex and Brandy will become a blessing to each other  as the days go by.  I never cease to be amazed by how God works…

Published in: on January 4, 2012 at 10:26 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/01/04/wednesday-hodgepodge-january-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love Alfred Hitchcock’s movies! But then I’m a fan of older movies to begin with, so that’s no surprise.

    Praying for both Brandy and Alex as they start their journey together. {{hug}}

  2. Best of luck to Brandy with taking care of the baby! Sounds like it’ll take an incredible amount of prayer and patience. 2011 sounds like it was a packed year for you. I hope you have a bright and blessed 2012

  3. Hard to believe you have never done any of those Winter activities. I was too old for snowboarding when it started becoming popular! That is a wonderful challenge Brandy has taken on. I pray that they become best of buds and that Alex fills her with joy.

  4. Enjoyed your answers as always! The Birds… I remember that one. I think that is the first scary movie that I ever watched I was young, I think it scarred me…lol. My thoughts and prayers go out to Brandy and Alex. I pray they can reach each other! God is Amazing!
    until next time… nel

  5. We had a whole huge flock of birds in our back woods the other day and that movie was the first thing I thought of. My imagination works overtime most days : )

    So glad your daughter has found a niche and I’m sure they will both be blessed. If it makes you feel any better I’m having too much fun with my daughter and my decorations are still up. Tomorrow those trees have to come down!

  6. That’s awesome that she decided to tackle that challenge. I hope she does succeed in finding ways to feed him.

  7. I remember “The Birds” and laying awake for hours afterwards.
    Best of luck to Brad and Jennifer. It is awesome that Brandy is caring for a special needs child.

  8. It sounds like Brandy will be a blessing to Alex and his family. Prayers to all as they work together to take care of the precious little guy.

    I remember getting together with my friends for a slumber party to watch “The Birds.” That’s about as scary as I want a movie to get for me!

    And I actually did get the Christmas tree down today! Even with my little helpers. 🙂

  9. Bless Alex’s little heart. If anyone can help him, I know it’s Brandy. I can’t think of many people that have the kind of heart that she does. God bless her and Alex as they get to know each other and become a part of each other’s lives. ♥

    As far as The Birds…I actually watched it last night. I have the DVD to that, Psycho and Rear Window. Alfred Hitchcock was so good because he would give you a hint or a sneak peek, but you had to use your imagination. I love the way he can make the hair stand up on the back of my neck. 🙂

    Happy New Year !!! 😀


Leave a Reply

