Wednesday Hodgepodge…January 11

Hello again!  I’m afraid that I’m running behind with my blogging and visiting again.  I can’t quite get myself together since the holidays, not  just in blogging, but in everything.  Hopefully, this isn’t going to be the trend for 2012!

Can you believe it’s nearly the middle of January already?  Me either!  Fortunately, Joyce seems to have it more together than I do, so she has graciously provided us with another great set of “Hodgepodge questions” for today.    Here is her sixty-first set of thought-provoking questions.  Wow!  That’s a lot of questions, Joyce.  You’re amazing!

1. Lake Superior University has once again published a list of words/phrases they think should be banished from the Queen’s English in 2012-

amazing, baby bump, shared sacrifice, occupy, blowback, man cave, the new normal, pet parent, win the future, trickeration, ginormous, and thank you in advance.

Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Go here to read more about how the words are chosen.  Wow,  I’ve never even heard some of these words or phrases!  I had to “Google” some of them to see what they were–like blowback and trickeration!   I think I’d most like to banish the word “occupy”, just because it makes me think of  the “occupy Wall Street Movement”–while we’re at it, can we  banish that entire movement, too?

2. Are you easily embarrassed?  Yes, I’m afraid I’m shy, and easily embarrassed, therefore,  I tend to hide in the background whenever possible.   I don’t like to be singled out for any reason, especially an embarrassing one.

3. What is your go-to snack?  I prefer a sweet snack, so I’ll usually eat cookies or some kind of sweet roll with milk.  Shame on me!  I’ve tried to snack on fruit or pretzels, but I always come back to my sweets in the end…sigh.  At least I’m not a big candy eater!

4. Have you ever been to Washington D.C.? If not do you have any desire to go? What site/attraction would you most want to see in that city? If you have been, what’s your favorite site/attraction?   I’ve never been to Washington.  It’s a place that I’ve never had the desire to visit.  Unfortunately, history and politics aren’t high on my list of interests.  I don’t know what I’d most want to visit, perhaps The Smithsonian.

5. sit ups-planks-lunges-squats…which do you hate the least?  I hate them all equally–a whole lot!  Sad, but true.

6. What’s a small act of kindness you were shown that you’ve never forgotten?  Years ago, when I was miserable with a teacher I’d gotten assigned to (as a paraprofessional), a friend and co-worker offered to switch places with me.  I declined her offer, but it meant the world to me that she was willing because she was very happy with her teacher.  A few weeks later, when I eventually left my job, that same friend helped me pack up my things and put them in my car.  It was a sad day for me, so I’ve never forgotten her kindness and support.

7. Have you ever been a blood donor?  No.  The only kind of blood donating I do is at the doctor’s office every three months–they take several vials during each visit!  Speaking of which, I must rant a bit.  I’ve had blood drawn somewhere around 100 times over the past 18 years.  Out of all those times,  it’s only been painful three times.  Yesterday was one of those times…Ouch!

Random:  Our daughter-in-law, Christina, has been doing wonderfully following her c-section two weeks ago,  until now.  On Monday evening  she began to run  fever.  She was sick all day Tuesday, and by Tuesday evening her had fever spiked to 103 degrees.  She called her doctor, and was told to monitor the fever through the night, unless it spiked up again, in which case she was to head to the ER.  (We haven’t heard anything else since last night.)  I feel sure she will see the doctor on Wednesday.  I’m a bit worried, since fever is never good following any kind of surgery.   Christina is also breastfeeding, which complicates things for her even more.  Could you please remember Christina in your prayers?  I pray that whatever is causing her fever isn’t too serious, and that she will be feeling better soon.

Published in: on January 11, 2012 at 9:13 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/wednesday-hodgepodge-january-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You may cringe to know I am a candy eater (just a warning in case you visit my Hodgepodge).
    I hope your DIL is feeling better soon! Is baby well?

  2. I am SO with you on #2!

    I’ll definitely be praying that Christina will be well … that the fever will pass and that her recovery will continue uneventfully. {{hug}}

  3. I will pray…and I also had to google alot of those words/phrases. HA!

  4. Praying for your DIL. Bless her heart, that is not good. Enjoyed all of your answers. When I went with my hubby, he had to go for a hearing with the Union, it was my first time. We stayed for a few extra days so he could show me around. I had never wanted to go, but I am so glad we did, and I wouldn’t mind going back. There is so much there, it is mind boggling! The buildings and the architecture is beautiful! I have to say even tho it was tooo busy for me, I did enjoy it.
    until next time… nel

  5. That’s so hard, especially while getting the hang of breastfeeding (again, if she has more than one child). Hope things are better today for her.

  6. My husband graduated from Lake State. I think it’s amusing that they publish this list and get attention every year for being such a small school. I’m tired of “Amazing” and I still say it. Go figure….

    I am a salt person. Comfort food to me is a chip. Been tio DC lots. Terry and I were working at American Red Cross when we met so I have given blood. NOt my favorite thing and haven’t donated in years.

    I had a neighbor that did a huge kindness to me when she babysat for daughter #1 for free, before Terry and I were married. She was an Angel to this cash strapped, working, single mother. About 4 years ago, I did the same thing for another working single mother. I had to pass that one on.

    My prayer are included for Christina too.

  7. I’ll be praying for Christina. Hope she’s feeling better today! It has been fun to read all the kindnesses today. Little things mean a lot!

  8. I’ll be praying for Christina. Hope she’s feeling better today! It has been fun to read all the kindnesses today. Little things mean a lot!

  9. Prayers for Christina and your family. Hope things are improving. Have a blessed day!

  10. We need a blog friends trip to DC. The Smithsonian is top on my list. I pray that all will be well with Christina.

  11. I’m right there with you as far as the sweet snacks. No matter how good I try to do, I always find myself right back to those sweets. And as far as being shy, believe it or not, I am in alot of situations. Alot of your answers today sounded similar to how I’d answer them. And, you’re right, it was so kind for that lady to offer to trade places with you. There aren’t many folks like that left in the world. 🙂


Leave a Reply

