Thursday’s Thoughts…

Okay, I’m beginning to get my blogging mojo back a little bit–finally!  I finally have a few blog ideas floating around in my head.  However, today I am having out-of-town company and I don’t have time to write an in-depth post.  Instead I’ll share a few random thoughts, then I’m heading to the grocery store for food!

My brother and his wife are coming in today from Florida for a visit, although it looks like it may be a short visit due to some unforeseen circumstances.   It seems to get more and more difficult for us to get together as time goes on.  Either one or the other of us usually has something going on with one of us– or with our families.  I’d sort of hoped that we might be able to arrange a beach get-away for all of us on this visit, but it just didn’t work out.  I’ve never stayed on the beach in January, but I was more than willing to give it a try!  I don’t suppose it matters where we get together, the most important thing is that we are getting together.

Our daughter-in-law, Christina, went to the doctor yesterday (after running high fever the night before), and was diagnosed with “mastitis”.  Ouch!  That can be painful.  She says she’s uncomfortable, but not unbearable.  I told her she’s just tough!  She’s now taking antibiotics, and continuing  to breast feed baby Chase, which should take care of the problem.  She goes back to the doctor for a re-check on Friday.  Hopefully, after a few doses of antibiotics, she will be as good as new, and there won’t be anymore problems.  Thank you for all of the prayers sent up on her behalf.  I was really worried about her.  Baby Chase also had his two-week checkup yesterday, and is doing great.  He weighs about 8 pounds already!

Speaking of baby Chase, I had a great visit with him on Wednesday afternoon, following their doctor’s appointments.  He was awake and alert, and he and I had a nice talk while his mom walked next door to visit Brandy.  I recorded some of my conversation with Chase.  It will be a little something for Chase to look back at and laugh about one of these days…Forgive me– I just have to share part of our conversation.  Some of you may get a laugh out of my southern drawl and our “one-sided” conversation…

Speaking of babies, little Alex is doing good so far.  (He’s the special needs baby that my daughter began keeping last week.)  He and Brandy seem to have found their stride already.  Some days he eats better than others, but he seems to be settling in just fine–and he really loves Brandy’s daughter, Madison!  He  looks at her and just beams.  Alex also pulled up for the first time (at Brandy’s house) on Wednesday!  He’s so tiny to be on his feet!  He still wears a size 3-6 months clothing, and a size 1 diaper!  I have a feeling that will soon change if Brandy has her way!

On Tuesday I decided to spend the day doing something “fun”.  I ignored the housework and spent most of the day making ornaments for my year round tree!  I really enjoyed myself.  I used to love doing arts and crafts, but haven’t done much of that type of thing in quite a while.  I’ve had those ornament kits for over two years–just sitting there!  At the end of the day, I had several new little snowmen, snowflakes, and penguins on my tree–and a great feeling of satisfaction!  It was a day well spent.  I need to do that more often!

In a few days I’m looking forward to going to visit an old friend for the day.  She lives about an hour away.  Diane and I have remained friends since high school (way back in 1970), even though we have lived in different cities for nearly 35 years.  We dated, then married, best friends many years ago.  At one point in time, we were all next door neighbors, for several years.  Now that she’s retired, too, she and I get together three or four times a year, to just have lunch and talk–and we always have a lot to talk about.  Sometimes we talk about “the good old days”, or the “down side” of growing older…and we always talk about our grandchildren!

Did all of you enjoy yesterday’s “Hodgepodge” as much as I did?  I especially enjoyed reading everyone’s response to the “random acts of kindness” question!  It made me feel “warm and fuzzy” reading those.  Joyce, if you happen to read this, thank you again, for hosting this fun weekly meme.  I look forward to it each week, and have met so many nice people through it!

Well, my clock is telling me it’s time to go, so I’d better listen to it.   I will catch up with all of you later this weekend.  In the meantime, I’ll be catching up with family!

Published in: on January 12, 2012 at 8:35 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/thursdays-thoughts-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad you’re getting your blogging mojo back. 😉 Sounds like you’ve got a couple of nice visits coming up … too bad you won’t have time for a beach visit while your brother and his wife are there. Glad Christina got a diagnosis and that it’s something that, while painful, should clear up with antibiotics. I LOVED hearing you chatter away to Chase … I love southern accents. So glad to hear that Alex is doing well …. sounds like he’s found just where he needs to be. 😉

  2. Glad Christina is on the road to recovery, your ‘mojo’ is back, and you’ve got a friend to visit. I really loved this week’s HP-reading all the random acts of kindness everywhere really lifted my spirits. Have a great day!

  3. Have a nice time with your company. Hope Christina continues to get better. Sweet video and I had no idea you had a southern drawl, I love it! I see you in a whole new light. Glad to hear that little Alex is doing so well under your daughters care. You sound very busy the next few days. Have fun!

  4. Glad to hear Christina is getting the care she needs. The visit with Chase is a precious memory. He looks like he really takes everything in . . . a deep little fellow. And I loved Mimi’s voice. It looked like Chase found it pleasant and really really relaxing! Have a great visit with brother and sis-in-law.

  5. I’m so glad you got to spend some time with your brother and sister-in-law. ♥♥


Leave a Reply

