Wednesday Hodgepodge…January 18

It’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for the weekly “Wednesday Hodgepodge”.  (Thanks, Joyce!)  Here are Joyce’s questions, along with my answers:

1. A new Miss America was crowned on Saturday night-did you watch? If you were a contestant what would your talent be?

No, I didn’t watch it.  I stopped watching pageants years ago.  I hope I don’t offend anyone, but pageants are just about more than I can stand!  Everything looks so “fake”.  I would never be a contestant willingly, but if I was ever forced to be one, I’d be in trouble.  I can’t sing, dance, or play a musical instrument!

2. Do you have houseplants? Real or fake?

Neither!  No plants of any kind in this house, but I do like them!  I just can’t keep real ones alive, and I hate to dust the fake ones.  Of course, I do have a “year round” tree, if that counts as a fake houseplant!

3. When you were in school did you speak up or were you more of the hide your face, avoid eye contact, and pray the teacher didn’t call on you type of student?

I was the “hide your face, avoid eye contact, pray the teacher didn’t call on me” kind of girl!  It’s funny how I grew up and ended up being a “teacher” of sorts, aka “a paraprofessional”.  I don’t have a problem talking in front of children–just adults.

4. Next Monday marks the Chinese New Year…what do you order when someone suggests Chinese food?  A fortune cookie!  It’s about the only Chinese food that I like.

5. How would you define a miracle? What would it take for you to consider something a miracle?

Well, first of all I had no idea how to define a miracle, so I googled the word.  (How did we ever function before google?)  Google says a miracle is an event attributed to “divine intervention” or an “act of God”.  I don’t think I can beat that definition.   As for what it takes to make me consider something a miracle…I consider the rising of the morning sun, each day, a miracle. Rain falling out of the sky is a miracle to me.   How about the way a newborn baby can go from living inside of its mother’s womb to living outside in the world with the cutting of its umbilical cord and one gulp of air?  Now there’s a miracle!

6. What’s your favorite Disney song? If you’re stuck you’ll find a list here.

It’s a Small World has always been a long-time favorite of mine.

7. I should have put my baby swing together yesterday.

Random:  You may be wondering why I said” I should have put the baby swing together yesterday”.

It’s because these two are coming to visit for a little while today.  I’m babysitting to give their mom a little break.  Oh happy day!  Grandchildren are my rewards for growing old…

Published in: on January 18, 2012 at 9:21 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/wednesday-hodgepodge-january-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Enjoy the grandchildren time. What a beautiful picture of them. Babies are the best! Yes, a miracle!

  2. Such a precious picture! I guess you’ll just have to hold him all day : )

  3. I don’t do the Miss America thing either. I just don’t really get it.

    I have no houseplants either for the exact same reasons!

    When I was younger I was the child who always raised her hand. But I hated being wrong and stopped doing that in second grade. Of course second grade was the year I didn’t care for my teacher, she always complained I rushed my work and my handwriting was sloppy. It might have set a tone for the rest of my school years.

  4. Nothing better than a day spent with grands! And I’ve got my youngest here … guaranteed to be a FUN day!

  5. Love have the grand children over, it is a reward for letting our kids live! Love your Chinese food question. Made me laugh.

  6. What a sweet picture of the grands. That’s a day full of hugs and kisses.

    I, for one, used to hide behind my long hair. (I know you did it too!!) I could bow my head and that hair fell around me to make me disappear. or so I thought. I was never shy but I was sometimesembarrassed. lol

  7. Love your post and answers…but, my gosh the #8 just blew me away. How precious. How so very precious!!!!

    BIBIDDY BOBIDDY BOO

  8. We have a place here in California that has their fortune cookies dipped in white chocolate. They are so good! I agree, I google things all day long. Well your day with the children sounds wonderful. Have a nice weekend.

  9. What an adorable picture of the boys. 🙂

    My mother’s favorite Disney song (and ride at the park) was always It’s a Small World. Remembering that put a smile on my face…thanks. 😀


Leave a Reply

