A Simple Woman’s Daybook…January 24

FOR TODAY

Outside my window...it’s looking cloudy and dreary.  I hope the sun decides to shine later today!

I am thinking…this kind of weather is best for sleeping or reading a good book!

I am thankful…for where we live.  I love the quiet, peaceful atmosphere in which we live.  I can hear birds singing outside as I type this.  This farm has belonged to my husband’s parents for over 60 years.

In the kitchen…I made a chicken pot pie for supper last night, and it was delicious.  I used my usual recipe, but this one turned out better than most.  We also had warm gingerbread for dessert–something I never got around to baking at Christmas time.

I am wearing…my night shirt and a pair of  lounging socks.  I really need to get dressed!

I am creating…some new Valentine’s Day ornaments for my “year-round” tree.

I am going…to town to pick up my granddaughter from pre-school in a little while.  I help my daughter out by doing this on Tuesdays.

I am wondering…how bad the economy will get before it gets better.  How much more water can they add to a bottle of catsup?  How much smaller can they make a Tootsie Roll midget?

I am reading…nothing at the moment, but I’ve started three different books–and haven’t finished any of them.

I am hoping…I continue to feel well in the coming weeks.

I am looking forward to…springtime!  I love watching everything come to life after being dormant all winter.

I am learning…to listen more, and speak less.  A lesson I’ve sometimes learned the hard way.

Around the house…things are still pretty tidy.  I cleaned up for company several days ago, and the house hasn’t gotten messy again– yet.

I am pondering…what the future holds for Ed and me as we grow older.  Ed’s now 62, and could retire–if our economy wasn’t in such a mess…but it is, so he will continue to work for a while longer.

A favorite quote for today…“It’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.”    Sarah Hughes (Olympic gold medalist, figure skating, 2002)

One of my favorite things...spending time relaxing on a warm, sandy beach.  Along with a gentle ocean breeze blowing, and oldies music playing in the background.

A few plans for the rest of the week:  not sure yet, but hoping to spend some time with the grandchildren, and perhaps visit an old friend.

A peek into my day…not much exciting happening around here, other than my trip to town.  Perhaps I’ll make a few ornaments for the “year-round” tree.

Many thanks to Peggy at http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ for hosting the Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Published in: on January 24, 2012 at 11:34 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/a-simple-womans-daybook-january-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your descriptions of the family “compound” and how your loved ones are nearby. My mouth watered at your mention of your chicken potpie. So perfect for wintery weather. This comes with a prayer for you and yours to enjoy good health in the coming weeks.

  2. YUM! Chicken Pot Pie! Can you just send through the email to me?

    Enjoyed your daybook!

  3. I enjoyed your post today! I got the giggles when you said, “How much smaller can they make a Tootsie Roll midget?” I’ll be chortling about that all afternoon!

  4. I wonder how much smaller a bag of sugar can get. I can remember buying 5 pounds for .99 cents. And now it’s 2.50 for 4 pounds. I need a good chicken pot pie recipe, you care to share yours?

  5. Yummy … chicken pot pie! I haven’t made that in quite some time … I think I’ll put that on the menu for tomorrow!

    I love the Simple Woman’s Daybook … I keep forgetting to use that format whenever I have a bit of randomness that I want to blog about.

  6. I made chicken pot pie last week too. The economy scares me as well. I saw a “Bun” candy bar at the grocery store today. It looked like a Hershey minature I’d swear. I remember getting those as a child because they were so big.

  7. I stopped in via TSWDB. The chicken pot pie sounds delish. – And how I could go for some warm sand & sunshine about now 🙂 I like what you are learning and the favorite quote too 🙂 Have a nice weekend 🙂

  8. I like all of your answers. I was thinking the other day that as much as you like to read, you should get a Kindle. I don’t have one, but Ashley got one for Christmas from his dad and he’s hardly put it down. That thing is really, really neat. And the chicken pot pie sounds yummy. 🙂

  9. Kathy,
    Look for lots of comments from me…I’m way behind on your posts.
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

