Wednesday Hodgepodge # 63…January 25

This week is officially half over, and the month is nearly gone already!  It’ll be spring before we know it.  In the meantime, let’s enjoy  Joyce’s weekly meme, “Wednesday Hodgepodge”.  Don’t forget to click on Joyce’s button at the top of my post,  to see the list of others participating, then pay some of them a visit, too.

1. The NFL playoffs were held this past weekend and this year’s Superbowl lineup will feature The New York Giants versus The New England Patriots. How do you define ‘patriot’?

I define a patriot as someone who loves, honors, and defends their country.

2. What’s something in your life right now that feels like a ‘giant’?

Trying to make wise financial decisions concerning our future.  Times are tough for everyone, but especially for us older folks with limited time left in the work force.  Our Social Security isn’t looking very “secure”, our retirement accounts aren’t  earning much money these days, and prices–well, they just keep on rising.

3. What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you think back to being 18?

Being a newlywed!  On my eighteenth birthday I’d been married to Ed for only about 10 weeks.  We were “living on love, and buying on time”. (lyrics of an old Alan Jackson song which Ed says is “our song”)

4. Coconut-mashed potatoes-vanilla ice cream-mayonnaise…which white food would be the hardest to give up?

I’m not really a fan of coconut, I can take or leave mashed potatoes, and I prefer Miracle Whip over mayonnaise…so my answer would have to be good ole’ vanilla ice cream!  Wouldn’t you know?

5. Describe an incident or a day you remember as the coldest you’ve ever experienced?

I remember a time, many years ago, when the temperature here dropped down to 10 degrees.  That’s extremely cold for southeastern Georgia!  My goldfish pond froze over and didn’t thaw out for three days.  All of the fish survived–and we did, too, but it sure was COLD outside!

6. You’re hosting a brunch…what’s your favorite dish to prepare and serve?

I’d probably make a breakfast casserole, although I don’t often cook them.  I can’t find the recipe that I usually use, but this one is similar, and belonged to a friend who passed away.

Cheese Strata~Breakfast Casserole 

5 thick slices of white bread, cubed

10 oz. grated sharp cheddar cheese

4 eggs

2 cups milk

1 tsp. dry mustard

1 tsp. salt

Grease  1 and 1/2 quart casserole dish, and place bread cubes in it.  Combine other ingredients in a bowl and mix well.  Pour over bread cubes, then refrigerate casserole overnight–a must!  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour, then serve while hot.  Note:  I like bacon, so I’d probably add 4 to 6 strips of crispy, crumbled bacon to my casserole.

7. How do you combat negative thinking?

I’m usually a “the glass is half full” type of person, but as time goes on I’m beginning to see the glass as “half empty” more and more often.  Perhaps getting older has something to do with this.  Whenever I begin having negative thoughts, I make myself look for the “positives” in the situation, then remind myself that “it could always be worse”.

Random:  In yesterday’s post, I mentioned making a chicken pot pie.  The recipe is so quick and easy, I decided to share it.  It’s one of Ed’s favorites.

Quick and Easy Chicken Pot Pie

3  chicken breasts (I use frozen, boneless breasts) boiled until tender

1  15oz. can of mixed vegetables, drained

1 can cream of celery soup

2 tablespoons dried onion flakes

1 and 1/2 cups of chicken broth (left over from boiling the chicken breasts)

Ingredients for crust:

1 stick melted margarine

1 cup milk

1 cup self rising flour (sifted)

Cut or shred chicken breasts into small pieces.  Put into a 9×13 or similar baking dish.  Add the chicken broth, drained vegetables, cream of celery soup, and onion flakes.  Stir to mix well.  In a separate bowl mix the ingredients for the crust, then pour over the chicken mixture.  Bake at 400 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes, or until golden brown.  I have also made individual pot pies by dividing the mix/crust into five small round baking dishes before baking.

Published in: on January 25, 2012 at 8:13 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/wednesday-hodgepodge-63-january-25/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Loved these thoughts, especially your and Ed’s “song”. And thanks for the recipes!

  2. Wow, that recipe for chicken pot pie sounds yummy – and simple! I am definitely going to give that a try!

  3. I’m right there with you on #2.

  4. Good thing I just ate some toast, these recipes sound great.

  5. I am always amazed at how young you were when you and Ed got married.I bet you’ve had some “explaining to do” with your kids. I know I do because we were engaged after dating for 1 month and getting married 5 months later even thought I was 31.

    I think you’re whole marriage has been a love song lady.

  6. My grandmother made the best chicken pot pie in the world! None of us has ever been able to reproduce it. Never. I can’t even imagine being married at 17! Though maybe it would have calmed me down. LOL

  7. The future is really scary and the fact that our money makes nothing anymore is sad. The banks are keeping it all for themselves. Makes me made. The casserole sounds yummy, the pot pie too. Being on a diet I am very attracted to the things I am not eating! Enjoyed reading your answers.

  8. I’m glad we have the Lord to lean on in these lean times and with the way the economy is.

  9. It feels like Spring already doesn’t it? I hope this mild winter doesn’t mean we’re going to have a really HOT summer, with lots of gnats. I hate gnats. Your chicken pot pie recipe sounds wonderful, can’t wait to try it. And if I remember I will let you know if it was a winner with family. My husband says I’ve been around his Mom too long I’m trying new recipes. I baked chicken the other night rolled in corn flakes and he sat there asking over and over what was on it. LOL But it was chicken so he ate it.

  10. both the recipes sound yummy

    poor gold fish…omgoodness, i’ve never thought about those ponds freezing

  11. Recipes sound delicious-
    Right with you on #7

  12. I love chicken pot pie. Haven’t made one in a while and you’ve got me thinking about it now. I use cream of potato soup in my filling-so yummy!

  13. Mmm…now those recipes sound yummy. I’ll have to try them sometime. As far as what I’d have a hard time giving up…I’d have to say probably mayonnaise. Wouldn’t you know it? The most fattening thing out of the choices. 😛

  14. Good answers…..I like that Alan Jackson song too…I think that’s what we’re doing these days too, living on love…


Leave a Reply

