Thursday’s Thoughts…Somebody’s Watching!

You’re never too old to learn, and yesterday I learned a few things that I didn’t know.  I found some of these things shocking, and disturbing, to say the least!  I was watching a show and one of the guests was a “life continuity expert”.  I’m not exactly sure what that title means, (and he wasn’t very specific in explaining),  but I do know that the man has a background in “intelligence”.  During the course of the show, I learned several shocking things that I either didn’t know or hadn’t really given much thought to.

I learned that “privacy” is dead because data bases never forget–and everything is stored in data bases these days.  There is a stored copy of every transaction, call, or whatever–in a data base somewhere!  We can be tracked and investigated through our electric bills, water bills, banking records, medical records, phone records, emails, social media accounts, etc.   “Someone” can look at these documents and determine pretty much anything  they want to know about us.

Think about how often we use “Google”.  Yesterday there was breaking news concerning Google’s Privacy Act.  The government and Google, now working together–now there’s a force to be reckoned with.  Our government is slowly, but surely, intent on gaining control over the internet.

We all know our computers are vulnerable if we’re connected to the internet, but did you know that technology is available which can read the hard drive of your computer when it isn’t even connected to the internet?  It can be done through AC current.  Mind boggling isn’t it?

These days there is a “digital trail” of us where ever we go.  Think of how many places where cameras are in use.  They’re virtually everywhere these days.  Houses, schools, buses, banks, stores, street corners…the list goes on and on.  For the most part, this is a good thing, but it’s also a scary thought…Somebody’s always watching!

Do you have any of those “store rewards” cards?  I sure do–several of them!  I learned that our buying habits are being tracked and stored through the use of these cards!  I’d never thought about this.  In the future, with so many changes in healthcare on the horizon, our buying habits could actually be used against us!  For instance, if we buy “junk food”, cigarettes, or alcohol…the evidence is all stored in a database!  The life continuity expert recommends getting store rewards cards only in a fake name if you choose to use them!

I learned that cell phones are a great way of spying on us–even when it’s not turned on!  I also learned that to have a cell phone in a truly “safe mode”, you have to remove the battery.   However,  Apple’s popular iPhones have non-removable batteries!  Did you know that?

I learned a lot more things, but that’s a post for another time.  I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the fact that my private life isn’t really private, and hasn’t been private for many years.  Of course, I knew this up to a point, since I choose to blog.  However,  it’s one thing to willingly share information with others, but it’s another to have your information taken and shared without your knowledge!

Published in: on January 26, 2012 at 10:10 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/thursdays-thoughts-somebodys-watching/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The age of technology. It really is like an Orwell novel now.

  2. Sometimes we are better off not knowing! That is some scary stuff. I watch Person of Interest on CBS each week. It’s just a made up show but it’s about cameras watching you all the time.

  3. Do you remember that movie with Will Smith called “Enemy of the State”? That was from 1998. I look at it like the Stelth airplane. I remember seeing the first one in an airshow in 1993 at an air base in South Carolina. I figured then, if they are showing it, imagine what they are not telling us. We learned later about “smart bombs”, etc. So if this program showed or told you certain things, it’s what they are not sharing that scares me. We are so screwed.

  4. Yikes!

  5. It’s almost enough to make me want to become a hermit and hide out in a cave.

  6. I also thought of the movie “Enemy of the State”. This is creepy. Is there anything private anymore? 😦

  7. I agree that it is scary and the scariest part is the government compiling information to use against us. Makes you worry if Freedom really exists.


Leave a Reply

