Wednesday Hodgepodge…February 1

Happy first day of February!  What better way to start a new month than by participating in Wednesday’s Hodgepodge?!  Here are Joyce’s questions for today, along with my answers:

1. It’s that most wonderful time of the year…tax season! Do you complete your own returns or farm that job out to the professionals?  My husband, Ed, takes care of this duty.  As for me, I wouldn’t even know where to begin!

2. This next question comes from Kansas Bob…he posed it in his response to something I asked in an earlier Wednesday post and I asked him if I could add it to the Hodgepodge some day. Today’s the day….

Which do you think has changed you more-love or pain?  I think life’s pain has changed me more during my lifetime.  It’s always been my experience that I grow and learn more as a person (and as a Christian) during life’s “valleys”.  It’s comforting to know that something good can come out of something bad.

3. Tangerine Tango has been named color of the year for 2012. Your thoughts? Would I find this color anywhere in your house? How about in your closet? If not, will you be adding this color to your life in some way in 2012? If you’re not sure what tangerine tango looks like click here.  My thoughts are…what an ugly color!  I’m not much of an orange fan.  Since those are my thoughts, I think it’s safe to say I won’t be having this color in my house or my closet.  I clicked to see the color, but I was pretty sure I wouldn’t like it when I read its name.

4. Are you a collector? What do you collect and does it get admired, used, and/or dusted regularly?  Oh my!  I am a collector of many things, but dolls rank at the top.  I love to collect dolls, and have an extensive collection of Barbie dolls, Chatty Cathy dolls, Cabbage Patch Kids,  and Ashton Drake babies.  I have a few Madame Alexander dolls, and some others,  too.   I also collect ceramic/resin frogs, and  teddy bears ( both stuffed and ceramic).   I hate to dust, so I put it off longer than I should.  Fortunately, my bedroom doesn’t get very dusty, and the frogs are in a curio cabinet in the living room.

5. February is National Heart Month…besides a green salad what is one tasty heart healthy dish you like to prepare?  Honey Nut Cheerios!  I prepare them often!  Ha Ha

6. When was the last time you had car trouble?  A couple of months ago I had a flat tire, does that count?  The last major car trouble I remember having was back in 2006 when something happened to my radiator, and my car kept running hot.  Eventually, I ended up buying a new radiator for a car that was less than 5 years old.

7. Have you been more demanding on yourself lately or less? Is that a good trend? For a while now,  I’ve been less demanding on myself.  I only do what I want to.   Unfortunately, I rarely want to exercise, and that’s not a good trend!

Random:  Since I keep my doll collection in my bedroom, and nobody ever sees it, I thought I’d share some photos…

some of my older Barbie collection

Chatty Cathy collection

some of my original Cabbage Patch dolls

more dolls and bears

assorted baby dolls and Pooh collection on the wall

Can you tell that I love dolls just a wee bit?  I just can’t help myself…I never grew up! Ha Ha

Published in: on February 1, 2012 at 9:41 am  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/wednesday-hodgepodge-february-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh my-that is quite the doll collection! Loved your answer to #5 : )

    I got your comment. I have no idea why it is sometimes hard to get a comment posted. Blogger!!

  2. Wow! I didn’t realize there were so many Chatty Cathy’s! I had one as a child. I remember getting it as a Christmas gift and being VERY excited. I think I also had a Betsy Wetsy. Do you have any of those?

  3. That is quite the doll collection! And I loved your honey nut Cheerios answer! Thanks for making me smile.

  4. I had to laugh out loud at your answer to #5! 😉 My goodness, you’ve got the dolls, don’t you? 😉 I always wanted a Chatty Cathy when I was growing up … I never knew there were so many varieties.

  5. What a fun collection of dolls. And I think HNCheerios make a perfect heart healthy meal. 🙂

  6. My step–mom collects dolls. The lovelies always loved looking at them when they were growing up. I’m the same way on the taxes. We have a friend who does ours. Otherwise, we might end up in jail!

  7. Wow! That’s a ton of dolls! Yep, That’s what the cereal box says!

  8. Glad someone said it…it is an ugly color!
    Your collection is amazing, I love it!

  9. Woow is riight. You do have a lot of dolls. I did collect “lady” dolls. Only the ones with very fine features, but I sold a bunch and just kept 4, I think. My sister have a a Chatty Cathy Christmas ornament last year. It’s the only Catty Cathy I ever had.

    I had that god awful orange color for my kitchen counters to go with the dark brown cupboards and the brown shag carpet in the dining room when I built my house in 1978. I can’t blame anyone, I picked the colors. I lived with that orange for many years…until we sold that house in 1992. Don’t tell me it’s back. Run, do not walk away from that color.

  10. Wow – now THAT’s what I call a doll collection. 😀

  11. Your doll collections look like parties!

  12. I eat nuts…..I found some sea salted almonds last week…they’re delicious and I can’t seem to limit myself to 1/3 cup a day….I also like Multi grain cherrios.

    Ugh! No orange in my closet or home, either.

  13. great post


Leave a Reply

