The Week That Was…

I woke up thinking about a line from an old television show that went like this “and that was the week that was.”  I think it may have come from Rowan and Martin’s “Laugh In”, but I’m not sure.  Does anybody else remember that line?  Anyway, here’s a recap of “the week that was” in my neck of the woods…

My week started off crazy, and I knew I was in for a bit of a rough ride, when I received a call from my doctor’s office.  You know, they never call with “good news”, do they?  It seems my Thyroid has been on the blink again, so I got a call telling me to increase my dosage of Synthroid.  I wasn’t surprised, because I’d felt like crap during the months of November and December.    The bad part about increasing Synthroid, for me anyway, is the hormonal imbalance that it creates in my body!

My week didn’t get any better when I got a second call from the compounding pharmacy, on Monday afternoon, explaining that my gynecologist had changed my HRT prescription, too!   Heaven help me!  (Neither doctor knew the other was changing the other’s medications.)  Anyway, I’ve decided to tackle increasing one medication at the time, so I’m not touching the new HRT prescription until next month!

Poor Ed, say a prayer for him as I struggle to get adjusted to all of these new hormones during the next few weeks…  Oh!  There is one more thing, the new HRT prescription cost will now be $211.00 for a three-month supply–and our insurance doesn’t cover the cost because it’s from a compounding pharmacy!  This cost, added to the $66.00  a month co-pay for my Prevacid, makes me an expensive woman to keep around!

I spent most of the rest of the week  getting decorated for Valentine’s Day.  Holidays are always a big deal at my house–almost like a miniature version of Christmas.  I packed away the snowman decorations, and got out the heart decorations!   It looks like a Hallmark Store around here!  I added several new decorations to the “year round” tree this year.  I made many of them myself, and I purchased some from Hobby Lobby.  Have  I mentioned how much I love Hobby Lobby?

Yesterday I spent most of the day keeping our oldest grandson, Cade.  He’s such fun to have around these days!  He says the cutest things (he’s 3), and he always makes me laugh.  We spent a large part of the afternoon outside, with granddaughter, Madison,  her mom, and baby Alex.  The weather was beautiful, and we soaked up the sunshine.  It was in the 70’s here!

Speaking of baby Alex, he will turn one next week!  He’s having a birthday party on Saturday.  Alex has settled in nicely at our daughter’s house, and seems to be doing great.  Sometimes eating is still a problem, but he’s crawling everywhere!  He’s also learned to sit down from a standing position.  Brandy’s got him sitting in a high chair for his meals, even though you can hardly see him from behind the tray!  He’s such a little fellow–about the size of a 2-3 month old.

Well, that pretty much sums up “the week that was” for me.  Have a great weekend, everyone!

Published in: on February 3, 2012 at 10:57 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/the-week-that-was/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve had so much fun buying little Valentine treats for my girls and their friends, my nephews and nieces too. I may have gotten a little carried away but I just love all the pink and heart goodness out there this time of year : )

  2. We had 4 valentines to get this year and it is so much fun go shop for the kids! I’m so sorry that your medicine is so costly! OUCH! Hope you get to feeling better soon.

  3. You are far more motivated than I am to do all your decorating. I used to do all that for Halloween too, but that was the only holiday other than Christmas, I went all out for. I would think it would make me smile just seeing it though. Hope you get the meds under control. That’s no fun.

  4. I googled it and came up with Ernie Kovacs and they mentioned Laugh In. I use to love that show. I am mailing in a new prescription that my doctor says may not be covered. I wonder how much it will be! I don’t have any Valentines decorations 😦 Sounds like Alex is doing great, that is good news. Have a nice weekend.

  5. I didn’t realize Alex was THAT tiny! Wow! Sounds like he’s really doing well Brandy. 😉

    I just realized that Valentine’s Day is so close … I need to get out and get some Valentine’s Day gifts for my Ts! 😉

  6. I am praying for these health challenges! Love your celebratory decorating! I don’t do that but I sure enjoy yours vicariously. And the added benefit is I don’t have to pack anything away post-holiday!

  7. We went to a valentines dance last night. They decorated “groovy” and it was so much fun. I don’t decorate at home, so it was fun to attend an event where everything was so nicely decorated.

  8. I left off my HRT when I turned 60. I’d been taking it for about 15 years and decided I didn’t need it anymore. But the hot flashes haven’t disappeared completely and I can tell a difference in my skin….guess we can’t fight aging of our body so must keep our minds and hearts young.
    I never did any Valentine decorating this year…..
    Mama Bear

  9. I’m so glad that things are working out for Brandy and Alex. Happy Early Birthday Alex – I hope you have a wonderful birthday. 🙂


Leave a Reply

