Imagine My Surprise…

Last Friday morning began pretty much just like any other day.  I got out of bed, took my Synthroid (thyroid medication), and turned on my computer.  As usual, I didn’t have a blog post prepared, so I sat down in front of the computer and began to write. I decided to write about some of my Valentine’s Day memories.  I titled the post, “Valentine’s Day Revisited”.  I finished my post within a couple of hours, hit the publish button, then left the computer to do other things.  I was away from my computer for quite a while…

Imagine my surprise when I returned to my computer later in the day and found comments from people–lots and lots of people!  I was still trying to figure out how all of these people found my blog, when I finally read a comment which said “Congratulations on being freshly pressed!”

I quickly clicked over to wordpress.com, and sure enough–there was my Friday morning blog post, featured on their “Freshly Pressed” page, under the heading which read, “The best of 470,540 bloggers, 771, 857 new posts, 909,777 comments, and 144,741,224 words posted today on Word Press.com” !  I couldn’t believe my eyes!

I quickly grabbed my camera and took a picture!  I wanted to capture my 30 seconds of fame!  (Of course, later in the evening my son reminded me that I could just save the screen shot, and we did!)  Silly me!  I’m going to show you my picture anyway.  My post is the one in red with the box of Valentine’s Day candy.

After taking about a dozen pictures of my computer screen, I immediately sat down and emailed my husband with the news.  I just had to share my exciting news with someone!  Ed rarely reads my blog, but I knew he would be excited for me, and he was.

Imagine my surprise, as I discovered several interesting things happen when your blog gets featured on the Word Press home page!  First of all, your blog gets visited–a lot!

I still  remember starting my little blog about three years ago, and being absolutely thrilled when I finally had twelve visitors in one day!  I’m still thrilled with my twelve visitors, plus a few more, so you can imagine my surprise when I looked at my stats and saw this–

I know the image isn’t very big, but if you look close, you can barely see those very low columns across the bottom of the graph, followed by three  tall columns at the right of the graph. Those low columns represent my usual visitor stats of around 100 per day, while the tall columns represent my visitor stats for Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. My little blog had a total of over 6,200 visitors over the weekend!  All I could say was, “Wow”!

Imagine my surprise, when I noticed the huge increase in comments, too!  I normally average getting five or six comments per post. I have received over 100 comments on that featured post!  All of the comments were very sweet.  A few of the comments were odd– but still sweet.  Every comment is very much appreciated, and thanks to all who took the time to leave one!

Thank you, Word Press, for featuring my little Valentine’s Day post on your “Freshly Pressed” page! I don’t know how or why I was chosen, but I’m honored and absolutely thrilled to have been featured!  One thing’s for sure, I’ll never forget this early Valentine’s Day surprise!

Published in: on February 13, 2012 at 12:16 am  Comments (16)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/imagine-my-surprise/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations on being freshly pressed!

  2. Hi first of all I loved your Valentine’s Day post. Second I would like to know how you managed the awesome ink effect with your name at the end of the post?
    Thanks,
    Rachel

  3. Wow! Congratulations! I’m very proud of you and for you. Wishing you and Mr. Ed a very Happy Valentine’s Day. ♥♥♥

  4. Congratulations Ms. Kathy

  5. That is wonderful! Congrats to you. I can understand the feeling. I’m thrilled when I have visitors or new comments and I still have about 3 comments at a time but I’m so happy for them. I am so happy for you! A great Valentines to you!

  6. Win some, lose some, enjoy.
    Dropped chocolate.
    Freshly ticked.

    • Win some, lose some, enjoy.
      Dropped chocolate.
      Freshly ticked.
      Tickled pink too.

  7. How fun! Congratulations!

  8. Your post on Valentine’s Day is indeed amazing. And that is why you were featured on Freshly pressed.
    Congratulations!

  9. I’m one of those newbies. I found you the other day. I’m a newbie at blogging, only finished two posts but I hope one day you’ll find me newly pressed.
    Keep on keeping on!

  10. Congratulations! How awesome was that? I would have peed in my pants. That is a great Valentine’s Day gift.

  11. Wow, 115 comments!?!?! I think I’m doing GREAT if I get more than 10 comments. What a great Valentine’s Day gift! 😉

  12. I’m so happy for you! That’s every blogger’s dream! Enjoy the fame.

  13. This is such an awesome surprise and I am happy you finally see the results of your work. Truly wonderful!

  14. Well done. Remember they only Freshly Press the best!

  15. What a really pleasant surprise!! I hope some of your visitors come and visit again and again 🙂


Leave a Reply

