I Love The Hodgepodge…February 15

Welcome to the sixty-sixth edition of Wednesday Hodgepodge!  For those of you new to my blog, and the Hodgepodge, permit me to take a moment to explain.

A little over a year ago, Joyce, myself, and many others were participating in a weekly meme that eventually ended.  Some of us approached Joyce about hosting a similar, but new meme. Fortunately, Joyce is a sweetheart, and agreed to do it!  (Thanks again, Joyce)

For sixty-six weeks Joyce has provided us with seven thought-provoking, but always fun, questions to answer.  In addition, there’s space for a random thought of our own. We answer the questions, link up over at Joyce’s blog, then visit each other to read and compare answers with others. It’s so much fun, and I’ve made some of the most wonderful blog friends while doing this!

Now that you know what the Hodgepodge is, why don’t you just click Joyce’s cute little button at the top of the post, and join us!

This week’s questions:

1. George Washington-Abraham Lincoln-Thomas Jefferson…who would you most like to meet and why?  I would love to meet George Washington because it would be awesome to meet our first president, who also happened to be a man of honesty, courage, and honor–something more recent presidents seem to know a lot less about!

2. What’s your favorite chain restaurant?  I love the Cracker Barrel, so I can combine eating and shopping in one stop!  Country cooking…yum, yum!

3. I spied this question on the Bears at Home blog last week and she gave me permission to steal borrow it-

When you look back on your life, do you imagine you’ll think about the goals you failed to meet with regret? Or will you look at what you accomplished and say: it was good?

I think I will do both–in fact I already do that now.  I regret that I wasn’t able to stay at a job that I loved  (with all of my heart), and happily retire at age 60, but it was not to be. Circumstances were beyond my control, and for me to stay in that classroom situation would have caused me to compromise my principles.  I wasn’t willing to do that, so I left.  Because I stood up for what I know is right,  I can be proud of the fifteen years I spent helping  educate students–and that is a good thing!

4. Grapefruit-take ’em or leave ’em? Given the choice between an orange and a grapefruit which would you choose? Would you prefer it served as is or squeezed into juice?  I love oranges, but can’t stand grapefruit!  It’s too bitter for my taste.  My consumption of oranges and orange juice is about the same, and I don’t have a preference.

5. When was the last time you cleaned out a closet? Is there a closet in your home that currently needs cleaning? What are you waiting for?  I cleaned out my bedroom closet a few months back, and gave away some old clothing.  I still have some cleaning to do in other closets.  I’m waiting to get inspired again!

6. You get to have lunch with three famous people…who would you like to see round your table?  First of all, I’d choose Glenn Beck.   This man has great insight into what is going on in the world (and the U.S.), and I believe he speaks the truth while others won’t.  Next I would like to have Oprah Winfrey, because she’s interviewed so many interesting people throughout her lifetime.  (Can you imagine the stories she could tell?)  For my last guest, I’d choose Tom Cruise because I used to have such a crush on him way back in the day–before he turned weird!  I’d like to ask him what in the world possessed him make some of those strange movies…

7. On a scale of 1-10 how would you rate your ability to parallel park?  Oh my!  I’d give myself a 2 because I never really learned how!  Our little town switched to parallel parking years ago, and I nearly had a heart attack!  I will only parallel park if I can find two spaces together.  Otherwise, I’ll park behind the stores and walk .

Random: Today is the birthday of someone special.  She is the wife of our oldest son, and the mother of our two grandsons.  She is also our daughter by marriage.  Happy Birthday, Christina.  Enjoy your special day!

Published in: on February 15, 2012 at 8:37 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/i-love-the-hodgepodge-february-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No Cracker Barrel this far north either : ( Maybe it’s a good thing! Whenever we trek south we always plan a breakfast stop there. Happy Birthday to your dil!

  2. I love the Cracker Barrel, too. Happy birthday to your daughter-in-law!

  3. I’ve never been to the Cracker Barrel… hmm. Anyway – I’m waiting to get inspired for the whole closet cleaning too. haha!

    Hope you have a wonderful week and happy birthday to your daughter in law 🙂

  4. oh i love cracker barrel too, for the same reason as you! food plus shopping! and ha about tom cruise, i too would like to know what possessed him to do those strange movies!

    happy birthday to your daughter-in-law!

  5. A very happy birthday wish to your DIL. And oh be still my heart…Cracker Barrel…their chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes…and my other side favorite is their green beans. YUM!!

    MY LINK: DOWNTOWN PARK [you’ll need to scroll down below my photo shares to read if you chose to stop by to visit!!]

  6. Completely understand answer to #3. It gets harder everyday as a classroom teacher.
    Happy Birthday to DIL-great picture!

  7. I love Cracker Barrel’s fried chicken salad. It is wonderful. I am an Oprah fan too. I had a “girlfriend” weekend in Chicago where we went to an Oprah taping.She had to flip the show we saw with the one from the day before because her guest, Jack Lemon was ill. This was back before 9/11 and I can tell you I had never seen such security measures. We heard whisper going through the crowd that the show we were supposed to be seeing was “Oprah’s Favorite Things”. As it turned out, Jack Lemon was still ill, so our guest was Mitch Album who wrote “Tuesdays With Morrie” that Jack Lemon starred in. Mitch is from Detroit. I’m from Michigan. We drove allthe way to Chicago to see a Michigan person. I had thought Oprah would be moer friendly to her audience during those commercial breaks. She wasn’t. There is a “audience guy” that holds up a sign that says “APPLAUSE” When the show was over, she booked out of there. She read a monitor the entire time. I’m still a fan, but it did open my eyes.

    Noe, on “our” Tommy. What was he thinking with “Eyes Wide Shut”? and “Legend”???

  8. I almost put Cracker Barrel. I love it. I’m with you on the parallel parking. I figure walking is good for me. haha

  9. I always love reading your answers. And the “random” section is welcomed lagniappe! I would love to join, but my ability to commit to anything for a partcular day and time right now is pretty much therapy, doctor’s appointments and occasional walks, lunch or coffee and tea with friends. I will continue to enjoy through your words and photos!

  10. Sweet comment about Joyce 🙂
    Love your choice of Oprah, she would be a great addition to my table. I have a mini cooper and still can’t parallel park! Happy Birthday to you DIL.

  11. Mmm…Cracker Barrel. I love their dumplings. ♥

    You know, when I took my driver’s test years ago to get my driver’s license, I didn’t have to parallel park. I’m not the greatest at it now, but I guess if I really HAD to, I could. I’m like you though, I prefer just parking in back and walking. LOL

    What a great picture of Brett, Christina and the boys. Look at those little blue jeans and shoes – adorable! 😛

    Happy Birthday, Christina !!! 😀


Leave a Reply

