Tales Worth Telling…

Valentine's Day Dinner-2012

Our family ( our three grown children and their families)  will use any excuse to gather, eat, and have some fun.  Recently, when I found a turkey breast in the freezer that needed baking,  I thought, I’ll have a family gathering on Sunday, and I’ll make it a Valentine’s Day celebration, too!  So, I decorated and planned a few games!

On Sunday, after lunch, we had a wonderful time playing “The Newlywed Game”.  We hooted with laughter at some of the answers given to the question, “What animal does your wife most remind you of?”  Brad said, “Jennifer reminds me of an alligator, the way she rolls over and over wrapping herself in the cover each night”, while Clint said Brandy reminds him of a “Sasquatch”!  We’re still trying to figure that one out!

Then, on the eve of Valentine’s Day our phone rang about 9:30 at night.  Ed answered it and I heard him say, “I’ve got it  covered, Buddy!”  When I heard that comment, I immediately knew who was calling and why!

The caller was Ben, a friend and former co-worker of Ed’s,who still remembers that Valentine’s Day, many years ago, when Ed asked me what I wanted for Valentine’s Day, and I told him “just don’t get me anything”–and he didn’t!  (Ben also remembers how deep in the doghouse Ed was the day after Valentine’s Day!)  Ben loves to tell the story of how Ed was running all around Reidsville, looking for some “lingerie”,(Ben pronounces it len-jir-ee) on the day after Valentine’s Day!  So, Ed comes home the day after Valentine’s Day bearing a gift…some sexy black “len-jer-ee”, which I rarely wore for these reasons.  (1) I had given birth to three children–my sexy lingerie wearing days were over, and (2)it always reminded me of a Valentine’s Day I preferred to forget!

Here’s what prompted Ben’s call.   He said he was watching television and relaxing, when suddenly a man and woman came on television.  They were having a conversation about what she’d like for Valentine’s Day, when the woman said to the man, “Don’t worry about it…”  Ben said he yelled at the television, “Don’t listen, Buddy, or you’ll be in deep shit!”, then he immediately got up to call Ed!

Ed did, indeed, “have it covered” this year, because here is what I  found on Valentine’s Day morning when I went into the kitchen…

I found candy…I found flowers…and I even found an adorable teddy bear to add to my collection–but I didn’t find any sexy black “lin-jir-ee”, thank goodness!

I had to laugh when Ed later told me the story of how he accidentally knocked over the vase of Valentine’s Day flowers, the night before Valentine’s Day, sending water all over the bedroom carpeting!  Meanwhile I was in the living room, unaware anything was amiss, while Ed was frantically trying to dry the carpeting!  So funny!  I still don’t know where Ed had those gifts hidden…  Now, moving on along…

The day after Valentine’s Day, I went over to visit my daughter to ask how her Valentine’s Day went.  I got such a kick out of her story, I just have to share it, too.

Brandy and her hubby decided to clean and cook shrimp– for the first time–on Valentine’s Day.  Perhaps not the wisest choice…Brandy said the sight and smell of raw shrimp was almost too much for her to overcome!  (She was still burning candles the day after)  Here’s what happened following the cleaning and cooking of the shrimp…

After getting the meal ready, the three of them (they have a 5-year-old daughter) sat down to eat at their decorated table, complete with candles…Meanwhile, in the midst of their romantic meal, the couple’s daughter, Madison, suddenly announces that she feels like throwing up!  (Not what you want to hear, especially during a meal!)  So they all scurry around and decide to put her in the bathtub to soak while the couple tries to finish their meal.  Then, as Brandy and hubby are in the middle of eating their dessert,  Madison suddenly yells, “I’ve gotta’ poop!”–as they are eating chocolate mousse…  The good news is, Madison felt much better after her bath and a “poop”!

I think it’s safe to say that Valentine’s Day 2012 will be etched in our memories for years to come!  I hope yours was memorable, as well.

Published in: on February 16, 2012 at 9:51 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/tales-worth-telling/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ha, definitely some funny stories to share for years to come!

  2. Great story to hold onto and use at Madison’s wedding!!!!

  3. I love your family gatherings. And I think I every V-Day from now on just might make me think of lin-jir-ee!

  4. I agree with you on any excuse to have a family dinner. What great memories you are making.

  5. That Madison is a character. You’re stories about her have caused me many smiles and laughs, and I agree with Lynn Marie, great story to use and tell at her wedding. LOL 😀

    And, like you, I’m still trying to figure out where Sasquatch came from. You know, it might be better if we don’t know. LOL 😛

    • Oops…YOUR stories…not YOU’RE stories.

  6. I’m trying to catch up in the blogosphere : ) Your table is so pretty!


Leave a Reply

