Wednesday Hodgepodge…February 22

As always, I’m joining Joyce and friends for a little mid-weekly dose of “The Hodgepodge”.  You can play along too, by clicking the button at the top of this post.  Here are this week’s questions/answers:

1. February 22nd is National Be Humble Day…what makes you proud? What keeps you humble?

My family makes me proud–and they keep me humble, as well.  By “my family” I mean–my husband, our children, their spouses, and our grandchildren.  About the humble part…nobody can “humble” a person better than their kids–whether they are grown or not–they tend to “tell it like it is”!

2. Where is the catch-all (aka dumping ground) in your house?

The main “catch-all” in our house is Ed’s pool room.  It’s a “hodgepodge” in there!   A treadmill, crafting supplies, toys, there’s even a vacuum cleaner in there at the moment…As for the “little stuff”, it ends up on the kitchen counters, or on the end tables in the living room.

3. Do you make it a point to visit State/National Parks when you travel or even in your own hometown? What’s your favorite?

Years ago, while our children were growing up, we visited State Parks on a regular basis.  We did a lot of camping in those days, but Ed and I haven’t visited a State Park since our trip to Helen, Georgia, two years ago.  My favorite park is a local one, known as The Gordonia-Alatamaha State Park, mainly because our family made a lot of good memories there, over the years. Camping, fishing, family picnics, campfires, ghost stories, fun memories–and we didn’t have to travel far from home!  Sometimes both sets of grandparents would even get in on the fun, as pictured below.

a family picnic at the park--almost 25 years ago

4. How would you define honor?

I’m getting a headache thinking about how to describe it!!!  I know what it is, just not how to put it into words.  Honor  is very similar to integrity–doing the right thing, being a good person, having a good name–that sort of thing.

5. Angel’s food or Devil’s food-which cake do you prefer?

I’m a chocolate lover, so it’s Devil’s food–hands down!

6. What’s the most recent road trip you’ve taken? Where did you go and how many hours did you spend in the car? Do you like to zoom to your destination without stopping or leisurely wind your way there with stops along the way? What is your car snack of choice?

The last “real” road trip that Ed and I took was over two years ago, when we traveled to Helen.  It’s about a six-hour trip–and it took us over eight hours to get there.  Does this answer your question about whether we stop leisurely?  We never “zoom” anywhere.  I like to take “shopping breaks” along the way!  One of our snacks of choice is “red hots” candy.

7. Recent headlines told how a preschool child in NC had their packed lunch from home taken away and a school lunch substituted by a school inspector who deemed the homemade lunch unhealthy. Reportedly the parent was then billed for the school lunch (chicken nugget meal) although an update to the story says the parent was not billed. The inspector was conducting a routine inspection of the classroom-he/she was not there solely to peek in the lunchboxes. The packed lunch contained a turkey and cheese sandwich, an apple juice box, a bag of chips, and a banana. You can read the story here. Your thoughts?

The lunch sounded fine to me–but I don’t think it’s anybody’s business to judge.  I worked in an elementary school for 15 years.  I’ve seen all kinds of things packed in lunch boxes over the years!   During those 15 years of working at school, we were served french fries AT LEAST TWICE A WEEK, and pizza was a choice on the serving line EVERY SINGLE DAY…Does this sound more nutritious to you?

Random:  I bought myself a bread maker a couple of weeks ago.  I decided I was going to learn how to make bread.  I finally tried the bread maker out yesterday, and my bread came out like a huge, hard biscuit, in the shape of a rectangle!  It tasted like what we (in the south) refer to as a “hoe cake”  I think I need some “bread-making” lessons…

Published in: on February 22, 2012 at 10:27 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/wednesday-hodgepodge-february-22/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have a bread machine but haven’t used it since I’ve been back in the states. I love homemade bread too much : ) It’s best if I leave it in the box!

  2. I got rid of my breadmaker…I much prefer to make it in the oven.

  3. I have a bread machine … sitting in the basement, collecting dust. I’m like Joyce … I love homemade bread way too much to do much bread making … I could eat the whole loaf for lunch if I didn’t stop myself.

  4. I have a bread machine but since I went low carb I’ve not found a recipe that I can make. I’m still looking.

  5. Kathy, we only spent 1 day in the Florida Keys, and that was in Key West. We didn’t have the time to spend any time at any of the other Keys. I would love to go back, spend more time in the Keys. I want to make sure that we visit Bahia Honda. http://floridastateparks.org/bahiahonda/ Since I don’t cook when we’re on vacation, so on our next trip I would prefer to stay off Key West – something fairly close (for more options for dining and to see sites, etc.), but somewhere on a beach where we can just rest and relax … and drive in to Key West for seeing sites and dining as well as drive to the other Keys. Another reason to stay off Key West would be to save money on lodging. Our traveling preferences is to save money on lodging whenever possible (as long as we can find something clean and safe, we’re good … we don’t need 4-star hotels with all the frills, brand-new fixtures, etc. … we frequently stay at little independent hotels/motels that are rated highly at http://www.tripadvisor.com … they may not be fancy, but if they’re clean, in a safe area, we’re ok … we travel to the beach, so we don’t spend a lot of time in our hotel/motel room). I know that means that we’d be at least 30 minutes from Key West itself, but the drive is beautiful, so we wouldn’t mind it. Your traveling preferences may differ. I don’t know how much help this has been … if you have any other questions, don’t hesitate to ask. If I can help, I’ll be glad to. 😉

    When I’ve made bread in the machine, I’ve bought the boxes of bread with yeast … I’ve never tried buying my own flour and my own yeast and making bread from scratch. I’ve always had success with the boxed mixes. I know … some might consider that it’s “cheating”, but so is using a bread machine, if you want to get technical, so I don’t fret that too much. 😉

  6. I’ve never tried making bread in a bread machine. The one kind of bread I can make well is sourdough bread…LOVE IT!

  7. Sorry about the bread. It is different then making it from scratch. Hope you have better luck next time. We traveled a lot before we had our children. I love National Parks.

  8. I really liked all of your answers, and I know exactly what you mean by trying to describe “honor”. I think you worded it just right. 🙂

    As far as the school lunch incident – the home packed lunch sounded far more nutritcious to me.

    I agree about the Gordonia-Alatamaha State Park. It’s a great park and it’s a shame that we live 15 miles from it and I can’t tell you the last time I was there. It’s been a long time.

    Hope you’re having a great week. 🙂


Leave a Reply

