Meet Me On Monday, February 27…

Acting Balanced

Living on Less with the Coupon QueenI’m starting off the week by participating in “Meet Me On Monday”, the fun little meme hosted by Heather over at Acting Balanced, and today I’m also joining in a fun new hop called “Make a Friend Monday”, hosted by Michele at “Living On Less”.  Memes and blog hops are great ways to meet new bloggers, and I invite  you to click on the buttons at the top of this post, to find out more.

Here are Heather’s questions for this week:

1. What was the first live concert you ever attended?  The first famous person I ever went to see in concert was Billy Joe Royal, way back in 1969.  Ed took me to the concert, not long after we’d begun dating.
2. What colors look best on you?   I think autumn colors suit me best.  I especially like red.
3. What is one thing about you that most people wouldn’t know?  I’m left-handed, but I use my right hand for cutting with scissors and for crocheting.
4. Who would you call to be bailed out of jail?  I would hope and pray that I would never need to be bailed out of jail!  However,  if I ever need to be bailed,  I’d call my husband, Ed first.  If he’s not available, I’d call my daughter.
5. What do you think is the greatest invention of your lifetime and why?  It’s hard to choose, but I think I’ll have to say “the microwave”.  I remember the days of not having one, and it took FOREVER to defrost anything–or to bake a potato!    The microwave comes in very handy for cooking, heating, or defrosting foods QUICKLY!

Weekend Wrap Up:

I began the weekend by making more bread!  I found some bread flour while shopping with my friend, Diane.  There is a world of difference in the baking results when using bread flour!  At one point, I actually thought the loaf was going to come up out of the top of the break maker!  In fact, the top of the loaf was dented from pressing against the lid!  My bread didn’t turn out perfect, but it was much better than my first attempt with all purpose flour–and at least the bread was edible.  The slices were HUGE!  Next time, I’ll use the smaller recipe!

Over the weekend, our temperatures plunged  from the 80’s to the 50’s, with lots of wind!  The weather wasn’t suitable for doing much, but Ed did manage to prune our pecan trees on Saturday afternoon, while I managed to take a nap!

Ed and I also did our “Dollar General Thing” on Saturday.  This means we each used our “five dollar off” coupons when purchasing twenty-five dollars worth of groceries.  We do this twice per month, and each time we seem to get less for our money…Sigh.  I  just don’t think this economy is going to end well…Gas also went up twice this week, as well.

Sunday’s weather was worse than Saturday, and it was a good day to just stay inside and relax, so we did.  Ed and I caught up with some television watching, and did some more napping  🙂  So what did you do over the weekend?

Published in: on February 26, 2012 at 11:14 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/meet-me-on-monday-february-27/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I forgot about the microwave, I use it almost everyday. It makes cooking so much easier. I remember when my mom got her first microwave and she hated it. They have improved since then.

  2. Ohhh my gosh Kathy, I think I can smell that bread through my speakers!!! I gotta admit, as I get older I have days where I feel like the wheel is the greatest invention of my time, but I would have to agree with you on the microwave. We use it for defrosting and a quick heat up of left overs. Still not into microwave popcorn though, it tastes stale to me and the air popper is just as quick, hummmm thats another great invention. 😉 Hope you are having a great start to the week, sorry I haven’t stopped in a while, I have been reading but naughty about comments.

  3. Gas went up here on Saturday too. It was already too high! Our temps went from 50 to 30 : ) Lots of wind but I think we’re headed back up today. Happy Monday!

  4. Microwave – another good answer that I didn’t think of!

  5. So glad you were able to better an edible loaf of bread this time. Who know that the flour would make THAT much difference!?!

  6. your bread looks yummy! When I used to use a bread maker, I’d use it to make the bread and then take it out and bake it in the oven – that way I could control what size and shape my loaves would be…

  7. Being a leftie is fun isn’t it?

  8. That is some yummy looking bread! Happy Monday

  9. On impulse, I almost said the greatest invention would have to be the computer, but I must agree with you and say the microwave. When mine finally died on me and I had to save for another one, boy, was I miserable. I didn’t know how much I relied on it, but I do. I can live without my computer, but I sure would hate to have to. 😦

    That bread looks yummy! Practice makes perfect. You mentioned using All Purpose Flour to begin with, what would happen with Self Rising Flour? Sounds like you’ve found what you need though – in Bread Flour. 🙂

    My first concert was – are you ready? – Sha Na Na. Remember them? Ashley used to love to go around acting like Bowzer. LOL 😛

    I love the fall colors as well. As far as clothes and make-up colors that I like – I usually stick to earth tones. I like to wear black clothes (although I don’t have many). I guess that’s because I always heard that black clothes were “slimming”. LOL 😀

    I had NO idea that you were left-handed. If you’ve mentioned it before in any of your blogs, then I simply forgot. Forgetting has become quite an art form with me lately. I now have a little notebook sitting next to the phone in the den so that I can write down important things that people tell me. LOL I never thought I’d get to the point that I’d start forgetting so much. Oh well – as they say – the mind is the first thing to go. LOL 🙂

    Have a great week !!! 😀

  10. That was megabread. Makes me want a bite of freshly baked bread right now! But it won’t happen at our house. Too quick and easy from the store.

    Those price increases can be daunting! There is a convenience store at an intersection my husband passes several times every day, and it is scary how fast and how much the price of gas is increasing.

  11. I’m doing a little “catching up” so I had to stop. I’m a lefty too. I think we lefties are taught so much by right handed people that we can usually use both hands. I know I was taught to iron and use an adding machine rt. handed.

    I have mentioned before, that my first concert was Johnny Rivers…the second was Issac Hayes…back in the “Shaft” days. He had/has such a Barry White type speaking voice.

    Those bread machines make great breat. One of my daughters has mine now. Yours looks yummy to me.


Leave a Reply

