The Lucky Wednesday Hodgepodge…

I’m feeling lucky today because it’s time for The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  I look forward to joining this fun meme each week.  Once you read my post, you may want to join the fun!  You can do this by clicking on Joyce’s button at the top of this post.  Here are this week’s questions:

1. St. Patrick’s Day will be celebrated this coming Saturday…what’s a favorite article of clothing you own that contains a touch o’ the green?Since green isn’t one of my favorite colors, I don’t have much green in my closet, or elsewhere for that matter.  I guess my favorite article of green clothing is an old lime green t-shirt from my school days.  It has the “Survivor” logo on the front of it, because that show was all the rage back then–and it signified we’d survived yet another school year!   We wore the shirts for “Field Day”,  the last year I worked at school.

2. What’s a favorite ‘green space’ in the town, state, or province where you live?
My favorite “green space” in the world is the farm on which we live.  At the moment, it’s home for our entire family.  We all live nestled among many Georgia pines, so it’s always green here–even in the winter!  In the spring and summer, when everyone’s grass is freshly mowed, the place looks awesome, especially the lane lined with the pecan trees that Ed’s dad planted.  This old farm has been in Ed’s family for over sixty years, and it’s very dear to us.
3. Do you wish you were taller, shorter, or think you’re just about right in the height department?
I’ve always wished I was a little shorter, since my height was always a major “issue” (to me) as a teenager.  At a height of 5’8″, I always felt a lot taller than everyone else–especially the boys!  Now that I’m getting older ( and probably shrinking) I don’t think about it as much.
4. What’s the surest way for someone to pick a fight with you?
The surest way for someone to “get my panties in a wad” is to mess with my family!  The other thing that makes me “feisty” is to tell me that I have to do something that I hate doing!
5. Broccoli-Spinach-String Beans-Peas…of the four, your favorite green veg? (Or the one you dislike the least if that first option’s too hard. I just know there’s some veggie haters out there.)
I like string beans and peas equally–but not english (garden)  peas!  We eat english peas, occasionally, but I prefer other types of green peas, such as zippers, cream white 40’s or white acre peas.
6. March is National Women’s History Month…besides friends, neighbors and the women you’re related to, who’s a woman in history you admire and why?
Well, I’m going to be honest here.  I couldn’t think of anyone, so I googled the list of 100 important women in history, and nobody’s name on the list really jumped out at me.  However, since I live near Savannah, GA, and I know it’s  the birthplace of Juliette Gordon Low, I’m going to list her as my favorite woman in history.  She began The Girl Scout movement, and I find that admirable.
7. Keep Calm and ____keep on keeping________on.  (Wow, that sounds just like the 70’s, doesn’t it?)
Random:  We have six new residents at our house.  They are adorable and fuzzy.  I’ll tell you all about them and the ordeal of acquiring them soon.  For today, I’ll just show you their picture.  (I felt just like a new mom, last night, checking on my babies at 4 a.m.!)
Published in: on March 14, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/the-lucky-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, I didn’t realize there were so many peas. I’m not sure what kind I usually eat (I buy them frozen since peas aren’t among the veggies for sale at the area farmers markets). I like peas if they’re not overcooked – I won’t eat canned peas (too mushy).

  2. 5′ 8″! That would be nice! I always wanted to be taller than I am! We have simular answers this week and I love the new members of your family.

  3. Awww the little chickies are so cute! 🙂 hope you enjoy your week!

  4. You are a woman that knows her peas. I didn’t realize there were/are so many varieties. I’m a shorty at 5’3″. I’ve wished I were taller. I think that’s why I wore high heels for so many years.

    The chicks are adorable, by the way..

  5. Care to share some of your height with me? I sure could use an additional 3 inches or so! 🙂 I agree with you…don’t mess with my family!

  6. Looking forward to hearing how you acquired the chickie-poos. My kinda story!

  7. baby chicks!!!!!!! aweeeee!

  8. Oh your new babies are adorable. I always love chicks, and wish I lived somwhere that was more poultry friendly so that I could aquire some of my own.

    Your green space sounds amazing. I have a place in my heart that longs for my whole family to be on a large farm sharing land, my brother and I have even talked about buying old family land and moving there when my husbands military service is over.

  9. Your veggie list, peas and otherwise, all sounded wonderful to me. I love all varieties of what we called field peas. But these days of dietary restrictions, the greens like broccoli, spinach and any lettuce other than iceberg helps me keep stuff in balance. Looking forward to your baby fowl post!

  10. My sister is 5’8″, I think it’s a nice height!
    Enjoyed reading your answers. Love your new family members.


Leave a Reply

