Thirty-Five Years Ago Today…

Today was March 17th, the day some people celebrate as St. Patrick’s Day.  March 17th has a more special meaning to Ed and me.  It’s the day we moved back home to Ed’s family farm–35 years ago today.

Ed and I spent nearly the first five years of our marriage, living in a mobile home park in Savannah, Georgia.  We had neighbors on each side of us.  Some lived so close we could hear the conversations going on inside their homes, and I’m sure they could  hear ours, as well.  Finally, we decided that we’d had enough of big city life.  Ed’s daddy offered us a piece of land on the farm–our choice.  How could we say no?

We chose a secluded spot on the back of the property, and on March 17, 1977, we moved our home from the city to the country.  It was the best choice we ever made.  Because of that choice, our children grew up breathing fresh country air, spending lots of time with both sets of grandparents, and living in a town where everybody knew your name.

We’ve been able to have many pets of all kinds, and we’ve experienced encounters with all kinds of wildlife.  We’ve routinely been visited by deer, rabbits, squirrels, foxes, opposums, raccoons, owls, and even a skunk or two!  Granted, some of these encounters we could have lived happily without, but such is country living!

Ed and I no longer live in the original spot that we picked out so many years ago.  Four years ago, we built a new home next-door to it.  Our daughter and her family live in our original home place.  These days, from next-door, Ed and I watch our grandchildren playing in the shade of the trees that we planted in our old yard, so many years ago.  Our children played under those same trees, only the trees were much smaller back then!

Today, our 35th anniversary of living here,  found Ed and I happily working in our new garden, marveling over all of the seeds that are now beginning to sprout up out of the soil.  Seeds that are sprouting and growing in the same ground that Ed’s daddy farmed over sixty years ago.  It feels so good to be growing something!  Ed’s daddy’s been gone for nearly ten years, but I can’t help but think that he’d be proud!

Published in: on March 17, 2012 at 10:09 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/03/17/thirty-five-years-ago-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Anniversary. Your post made me realize that I will be in my home thirteen years at the end of this month. A drop in the bucket compared to your thirty-five years but a major milestone for me.Other than my childhood home, I have never lived anywhere more than five years before!

  2. 35 years! I thought our longest time in any one place (12 years) was very long … but it’s nothing compared to your 35 years. How blessed you are to be able to live next door to your daughter and her family. We’re about 15 minutes from my daughter and her family, and it’s just too far (which is of course why we didn’t retire to the beach like we had always dreamed that we would!).

    What is that plant that you shared a picture of? I assume that it’s from your garden, but I don’t recognize it.

  3. Well, 44 years ago at Midnight on St Patrick’s Day, I had my first child. His Birthday is actually on the 18th.
    Mama Bear

  4. This post almost made the happy tears spill over. Your good decisions have truly given your children and now your grands frsh air, roots, wings and a heritage of family stories and tradtion that will help them make their own good choices!

  5. I love the post, It reminded me my childhood life which is same as what u described, just a part from I born at a little village at India.

    God Bless,

    Nisha

  6. Very lovely post! Happy Anniversary =)

    I have a spot on my family’s farm to build…someday…but there are no jobs in our small town. For now I will have to settle for being in the “rural suburb” of a 2-acre lot outside of a small city. Maybe one day we could move out there. I know I’ll certainly be there when I retire (a million years from now…)

  7. Sounds like it was the perfect choice! It also sounds like a lovely place to live.

  8. Happy 35th “Moving Home” Anniversary !!! ♥♥


Leave a Reply

