Meet Me On Monday And The St. Paddy’s Day Weekend Wrap Up…

Acting Balanced

Happy Monday, everyone!  I’m starting the week off by joining Heather at Acting Balanced for her meme  “Meet Me On Monday”.  Here are Heather’s questions for this week:

1. How do you like your eggs?

I prefer my eggs scrambled, but I also enjoy eating them fried or in an omlet.  Yep, I’m a southern girl!  Love those eggs 🙂

2. Who is the last person you spoke to on the phone?

The last person I spoke with on the phone was my daughter, one day last week.  I believe it was Thursday.

3. Do you have a place you keep ‘junk’ in your home?

I have a small room (built especially for storing my “junk”), but, I also keep some of my “stuff” in Ed’s pool room…(like our six new baby chicks!)

4. What is on your ‘spring cleaning’ list?

Inside, I need to sort through some of the excessive “junk” in the storage room, straighten up my kitchen cabinets, and clean out some dresser drawers.  Outside, I’ve already begun raking and cleaning the yards, but I need to finish.  After that, I plan to paint the outside porches (again!).

5. What blog post have you written recently that you’d like more people to know about? (don’t forget to link it up)

A few weeks ago I wrote a post called “Somebody’s Watching You”.  It’s about our lack of privacy these days.  You can read it HERE.

Weekend Wrap Up:

It was a beautiful St. Paddy’s Day Weekend!  Ed and I didn’t attend a parade or any kind of  St. Patrick’s Day celebration, but we were surrounded by “green”.  Green trees, green grass, and even some green beans in the garden!  Our beans have sprouted, and I’m thrilled!

The weather was unseasonably hot this weekend!  The temperature was in the 80’s both days.  I wore a tank top on Sunday afternoon, and I was still hot!

On Friday evening, Ed and I went to Lowe’s, and bought the supplies to build our “chicken palace”.  Boy have building supplies gone  up!  I couldn’t believe the price of lumbar these days!  How can people afford to build houses???

I call our chicken coop, a “chicken palace”, because it’s costing so much!  Also, because it’s not going to be any ordinary chicken coop! This coop is going to be 16 feet wide and 7 feet deep.  We want our “girls” to live in style, and have plenty of room to move!  We expect plenty of fresh eggs in return!

Ed worked on the “palace” over the weekend, made good progress, but didn’t finish.  He’ll probably finish it next weekend.  Here’s what he got accomplished so far:

You may notice that our “girls” will be living right next to the woods…Ed and I are going to have to work extra hard to make sure the “chicken palace” is varmint proof!  We’ve learned from experience, once you get chickens, varmints will come from far and wide to try and make a meal out of your poultry!

For now, our “girls” are living in Ed’s pool room, and have moved on up to their “chicken condo”.  Our baby chicks have all sprouted their wing feathers, and are now trying to learn how to fly.  As a result, we had to make them a home with higher sides, and more room to run!  We joined three cardboard boxes together, and made a “chicken condo” for the “girls”.  They  seem to like their new home.

I’m enjoying watching the antics of my temporary house guests (chicks are quite entertaining), but I’d be lying if I didn’t tell you that I’m looking forward to having them move into their “palace”  outside.

Published in: on March 18, 2012 at 10:58 pm  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/meet-me-on-monday-and-the-st-paddys-day-weekend-wrap-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think everyone’s 3 and 4 answers will be related 🙂

    Hopping over from MMOM linky

  2. Good luck with the spring cleaning – sounds like you’ll be busy.

  3. What a great blog post to link up too. Sounds like you had a good weekend.

  4. I didn’t realize that chickens could actually fly. 😉

    Sounds like you’re going to be busy with your spring cleaning.

  5. You sure do set a good example with your spring projects. Too bad I am not going to follow in your footsteps! Not there yet, but keeping on moving forward.

    I loved your version of wonderful St. Paddy’s green. We have been enjoying spring green, too; although the heat has hubby moaning that we are experiencing May, not March temps. And thanks for all your “catch-up” comments. It was like a lovely visit with you!

  6. I love eggs too, especially fresh ones! Sounds like you and Ed are going to have plenty fresh ones soon. Love the phrase “chicken Palace”! Have a great week!

    glosews

  7. I love eggs also. Farm fresh is best but I have to settle for store bought.

    Happy Monday!

    http://momentsofintrospection.blogspot.com/2012/03/meet-me-on-monday-scrambled-for-me.html

  8. Fun questions! Looks like the Palace is going to be nice. Definitely want to keep those babies safe.

  9. I’ve done a little Spring Cleaning in my house this year, but not much outside. My yard is really simple. Besides, with temperatures like we’ve already had this year, I can only imagine how hot it’s gonna be in the summer. Did winter forget about us this year? LOL

    Looking forward to pictures of the Chicken Palace. 🙂

    • I, too, enjoy a good omelette. 😛


Leave a Reply

