Springing Into The Hodgepodge…

1. The first day of spring is here…do you enjoy working in the yard? Weeding, raking, mowing, planting-your favorite springtime garden chore? How about your least favorite?

Yes, I do enjoy working in the yard!  I enjoy planting “stuff”.  I’ve planted flowers in the yard for years, but this year we’ve embarked on the new adventure of growing vegetables, too.  I’m really enjoying watching the seeds sprout into plants, and then watching the plants grow bigger each day!  My least favorite gardening chore is weeding–which I began yesterday afternoon 😦

2. What puts a spring in your step?

Going on a vacation!

3. Describe a time when you had to spring into action?

The last time that comes to mind was back in 2006.  It was the day of my daughter and son-in-law’s 5th wedding anniversary.  At the time, my daughter was about 6 months pregnant. She called me that morning to say that “something is going on.”  She told me that she’d just experienced a “gush of fluid”.  I sprang into action, and quickly drove her sixty miles to Savannah where we met her husband (who was working out-of-town) at the hospital!  My daughter spent 4 days in the hospital, then was released “on complete bed rest” for the remainder of her pregnancy.  She and her hubby (and their 2 dogs) came to stay with Ed and me until the end of her pregnancy.

4. We’re having carrots for dinner…would you prefer yours raw or cooked?

I don’t really care much for carrots, but if I do eat carrots, I prefer them raw.

5. Do you take the shampoos and other sundries from your hotel room when its time to check out?

Yes, I usually take the shampoo, left-over soap, and notepads/pens.  I figure we paid for them, so they’re ours.

6. What’s the most enjoyable team or club you’ve belonged to and what was it that made it so?

I was never interested in sports or clubs while in high school, but I remember joining The Spanish Club during my freshman year.  It’s the only club I can remember being a member of.  It was okay, but I guess clubs just weren’t “my thing”.

7. Is cloning a sign of progress?

I suppose it is, but if cloning is a sign of progress, it’s a direction I’d just as soon not go in.  The whole idea kind of “creeps” me out.

Random:

I had my first experience reporting for Jury Duty yesterday!  It was an “interesting” experience, being in a courtroom for the first time in my life.  There was a lot of sitting and waiting, just as some of you had said.  Fortunately, a cousin of mine was there, too, and we spent some time visiting, and catching up.  The judge was very cordial, and I actually liked him.  Watching the lawyers question and choose the panel of jurors was pretty interesting.  The highlight of the morning was watching one particular man trying to “wrangle his way out of being picked”.  It was quite obvious what he was doing, but in the end, he was successful!

There were well over 100 prospective jurors in court when the day began, with only four cases that needed to be tried.  In the end, only ONE case ended up going to trial (the others plead guilty).  Wouldn’t you know, I got picked as a juror?!  I get to go back to court in twelve days to sit on the jury.  A former high school classmate (and neighbor) of mine also got picked, so that makes me feel a tad bit better.  And the countdown to jury duty begins (again)…

Now, why don’t you spring on over to Joyce’s and join in The Hodgepodge?!

Published in: on March 21, 2012 at 7:56 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/springing-into-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been called for jury duty at least a dozen times … and was chosen to actually serve twice. I’d be just as happy if I never have to serve again. 😉

    And I agree with you on #7.

  2. The only time I’ve been summoned for jury duty was when my youngest daughter was 2 and I was able to get out of it. I think I’d enjoy it now, though. Have a good one!

  3. How nice to live in a small town and have the luxury of running into relatives & HS friends. But I can’t complain, I was once called up to jury duty in NYC and met a couple of nice women. We ended up having a great lunch in Little Italy and, best of all, being released the very first day.
    Good luck with your twelve days.

  4. I began my veggie garden a few days ago. Well, actually I began weeding. It is horrible!!! I think because of the mild winter we had. Good luck with yours.

  5. I am a bit surprised you were chosen to sit on the jury your first time out. What are the odds of that? I think I am realeased from service because when they learn my husband used to work for the Flint, Mi city police department (he was a CSI) and his brother is a State Trooper…I’m dismissed. Maybe they think I’m a bit jaded.

    I’m with you on #2 and I don’t like carrots either.

  6. I have never been called for jury duty and I want to! I think it would be so interesting to hear the cases and all.

  7. Exciting to be called for jury duty!! I’d love to plant things too but I seem to have the fingers of the angel of death when it comes to things with stems and roots. My husband grew some vegetables last year which grew pretty well so he is trying again this year. He has been working on the troughs and pots for potatoes and beetroot already. Can’t wait for them to start sprouting!

  8. I agree, going on vacation puts a spring in my step! I like carrots both ways. If I eat them raw I like ranch with them! Of course you got picked, first time luck 😦
    How cool that your cousin was there.

  9. I guess I’m lucky, because to this day, I’ve never had to report for Jury Duty. Knock on wood !!!

    As far as carrots, I love to cook them in my beef stew. Yum…yum! 🙂


Leave a Reply

