Meet Me On Monday…And The Weekend Wrap Up

Acting Balanced

Whew!  Is it Monday again already?  It is?!  Then I guess that means it’s time to join Heather for “Meet Me On Monday” again!  Here are today’s questions:

1. What movie or movies do you have to watch when they are on TV? (submitted by@rndmcrftyGAgrl)

I can watch “Pretty Woman” or “Steel Magnolias” over and over.  I never grow tired of either one!
2. When you have out of town visitors, what fun places do you take them to in your town?  (Or where do you play tourist in your own town?)

Sadly, there are no “fun” places to go in our tiny town!  We have two red lights, about fifteen gas stations, and three dollar stores.  That is the extent of our “fun”–unless you care to visit our “Welcome Center”!   (I’m still not sure why we have a Welcome Center!)

Savannah, Georgia is located about 60 miles east of us, and it’s where one must go to find entertainment or “fun”.  There’s plenty to do in Savannah!
3. What was the first album, CD, Download you ever bought?

I don’t remember the first album I ever bought, but the first album I ever owned was one by The Kinks.  My mama bought it for my 12th birthday, to go along with my new stereo!  I’d never heard of The Kinks, but I played that album over and over, and became sort of fond of The Kinks!
4. Do you speak more than one language and which ones?  If not, what language would you like to know?

I took two years of Spanish in high school, but I only remember a few words.  I’m quite happy speaking English only.
5. What is your dream job?

I’m currently working at my “dream job”, as a home maker.  All I ever wanted to become was a wife, home maker, and a mother.  I’ve successfully done all of these, including raising all of my children into adulthood.  To have received a large weekly paycheck for being a wife, mother, and home maker would be my “dream job”!

Weekend Wrap Up:

Where has the weekend gone?  It seems like a few hours ago that it was Friday!

Our weekend was much like last weekend.  Ed spent a great deal of time working on the “chicken palace”, but still didn’t get finished.  Maybe next weekend…It’s still a little early to put the baby chicks outside anyway.  I’ve come to enjoy their chirping and chattering, and they’ve come to enjoy my hand–which brings them a small piece of bread (for a treat) each day!  Pine shavings are keeping the smell and mess down to a minimum, thank goodness.

Part of the reason Ed wasn’t able to finish the chicken coop was because of our garden.  We had to take out time to plant more seeds !  We planted three kinds of butter beans, seventy-six tomato plants, and one row of peas.  All of this took FOREVER!  Our garden rows are one hundred and twenty-five feet long, and we planted every seed by hand!!!  In fact, Ed dug 56 holes with post-hole diggers, for some of the tomato plants.  (We’re putting potting soil in some of the holes, as an experiment.)  Needless to say, today, we have sore muscles in all parts of our bodies(especially our backs!)–and we still have more planting left to do!

At some point, Monday will find me back out in the garden, planting more seeds.  Only two more rows to go–more peas and some corn.  At least the corn seed is planted farther apart, and will go faster!  Oh, no!  I forgot about peanuts and watermelons!  We can’t have a southern garden without some peanuts and watermelons!   I’m getting tired just thinking about it!

Happy Monday, everyone!

Published in: on March 25, 2012 at 11:04 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/meet-me-on-monday-and-the-weekend-wrap-up-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful story …we still have snow on the ground here in North Pole Alaska but are dreaming of spring ….our chicken are just beginning to venture out of their heated hen house …we gather 5 dozen eggs a day here which we trade to local feed store for food….

  2. The Kinks as your first album is awesome. Out of all of the chick flicks out there, Pretty Woman is the one I can actually watch. Fun answers all around.

  3. Wow – I wish I had room for a big garden… right now my entire garden empire is in five large pots on our deck… but it’s a place to start…

  4. My garden got plowed yesterday I will be out there planting very soon.

  5. You didn’t say “Top Gun”… OK, I will. Your garden is looking good. The first album I bought was “Meet the Beatles” with my babysitting $$. The second was “Sonny & Cher”. I still like both today.

  6. Farming is a never ending chore, isn’t it? It will be worth it when your crops are cooked and on the table. 🙂

    I can’t wait to see the Chicken Palace. 😛


Leave a Reply

