A Few Of My Random Thoughts…

It’s a busy time right now, and I simply don’t have the energy to write a “themed” post.  Today I’ll simply let my mind wander a bit and jot down a few thoughts.  Lately, I’ve given myself permission to skip a day or two of blogging along and along.  Some days I just can’t get everything done.  Becoming more “self-sufficient” is hard work!  I’m beginning to realize just how complacent we’ve become–until now.

I began yesterday at 8:30 in the morning,  by hoeing in the garden for an hour and a half!  After that, I fed and watered the chickens, then got them settled.  Following a shower, I made a trip into town, to pick up my granddaughter from pre-K.  Most of the afternoon was spent vacuuming and mopping the house, followed by cooking supper.  I ended my day by watering the garden, and settling the chickens for the night.  Whew!  I plan to write updated posts about the chickens and the garden, but I’m saving those for another time.  However, I’m happy to report that our chickens are now living outside in their “chicken palace”!

Thankfully, my daughter is finally over “the crud” which kept her sick for well over a month!  Three doctor trips, two prescriptions, and five shots later, she is feeling a lot better. I don’t know exactly what she had, but I sure don’t want to catch it!  It began as a head cold, then went into her lungs.  Somehow she still managed to keep baby Alex most of the time, except when she  had doctor’s appointments.

Speaking of baby Alex, I wish you could see how much he’s grown!  He’s growing by leaps and bounds.  I have no idea how much he weighs, but he’s wearing a size 6 months now!  (He wore a size newborn when Brandy began keeping him three months ago.)  Alex still has some good days and some bad days, but he seems to be thriving.  Food continues to be an issue, but some days are getting better.  His parents are currently pursuing cochlear implants, but I’m not sure when he’ll have this done.  He’s already had one appointment concerning this, and will have another in a few weeks.

At the moment,  I’m trying to concentrate on getting ready for Easter.  I have lots (193 to be exact)  of  plastic eggs to stuff with candy (for our egg hunt), as well as a Sunday meal to plan.  We’re taking a break from the “ordinary”, and planning a cookout this year!  The weather here has been in the 80’s for days and days.  It’s simply been too hot to think about baking anything in the oven!  Instead of ham, we’ll be having ribs and chicken ( but shh…don’t tell my chicks!) on the grill, along with whatever “cookout foods” everyone decides to bring.

Thursday evening:

It’s now after 9 pm on Thursday, and I’m just now getting ready to publish this post.  It’s been another busy day!  I went to the doctor to have my routine lab work done, then attended an egg hunt at my granddaughter’s school.  After the egg hunt, my granddaughter, Madison, helped me begin to stuff candy into those 193 plastic eggs. ( I just finished that job!)  Tomorrow I’ll get the grocery shopping done for Sunday’s meal.  Saturday I’ll be baking some goodies, then later in the afternoon the grandchildren and their families are coming over to color a few eggs!  It’s a busy, but fun time.

In case I don’t get another chance to blog before Easter, I wish each and every person who reads my blog–A blessed and happy Easter!  For now, I think I’m going to call it a day!

Published in: on April 5, 2012 at 9:19 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/a-few-of-my-random-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hear you when you say you don’t have enough time. I don’t blog as much as you and I don’t see how you do it all. I work full time but just hearing your day leaves me exhausted. Speaking of self-sufficient, I can’t remember the name of the series but there was a British sit-com that used to be on PBS in the 80’s about a couple who left 9-5 be hind and attempted to be self-sufficient in the posh London suburbs. DId you ever see it?

  2. You have been busy but it sounds good. My kids would revolt if I didn’t bake a ham : ) Enjoy your weekend filled with family and fun. Happy Easter!

  3. You sure have been busy! Sounds like a full time job to me!
    I wish you a wonderful Easter, fun, nice weather and good health.

  4. We may not have an Easter egg hunt this year..my grands are getting to be too old for it to be much fun although last year, I added money to the eggs for incentive….the Princess is going to an Easter party on Saturday so she’ll have that hunt to participate in….I stuffed buckets for them…its getting harder to find small inexpensive items for Wonder Boy who will be 14 in May….
    We’re planning our traditional Easter lunch on Sunday, should have leftovers for at least one other meal.
    Happy Easter to you to,
    Mama Bear

  5. You’ve been so busy … but if it involves family, it’s a very good busy, right? Wishing you a very blessed Easter!

  6. You don’t let it worry you if you can’t post every, single day. You have alot going on. We, as your loyal blog-readers understand. 🙂

    I’m glad that Brandy is feeling better. And, that’s great news that Alex is thriving. I hope the implants work for him. 🙂

    Hope you and the family have a very Happy Easter !!! 😀

  7. Are you sure you aren’t related to the energizer bunny? You just keep going and going!


Leave a Reply

