The Weekend Recap And Monday Quiz…

It seems like the weekend was just beginning a few hours ago, and here it is Monday again–and I even took a long weekend off from blogging!  You know what they say…time flies when you’re having fun!

My fun weekend began on Friday by having to shop for a new vacuum cleaner after mine broke for the second time last week!  After super gluing the hose connector twice, and attempting to use masking tape to hold it together when the glue refused to hold, I’d had enough!

Now that spring is here, guess who woke up on Saturday morning with a sore throat and stopped up nose???  That would be me!  I’ve spent the entire weekend trying to ignore it and hoping it’ll go away…(it hasn’t)

Saturday brought more fun when Ed and I began painting the front porch!  Nothing like sliding around the porch on your behind for five or six hours!!!  Ed and I discovered we’re not as young and flexible as we once were–but we almost finished painting the porch!  Only a few more of those lovely white spindles left to paint, and I’ll be finished.  Porch spindles are pretty, but they sure are aggravating to paint–and it seems like we end up painting every spring!

Ed also had to do a couple of renovations on the “chicken palace” over the weekend.  He added one more window–because one can never have enough windows!  (Actually, I’m having difficulty getting “the girls” to go inside of their palace, and I thought maybe another window might help!)  He also had to change some of the slide bolt locks because I am having difficulty getting them to lock! (There’s nothing more frustrating than being eaten alive by mosquitoes while chasing six chickens around a pen at dusk, only to discover the locks won’t close once the chickens are tucked safely inside of their “palace”!  I plead guilty to uttering a few ugly words on several occasions!

The busy weekend ended on a somewhat sour note when Ed and I discovered that roots of  my palm trees have invaded our goldfish pond!  We knew we had a problem, we just didn’t know how severe our problem had become!   I had no idea they would become a problem when I planted those tiny palms several years ago, but somewhere along the way they became a big problem!  The tree roots have grown under the pond liner, and are actually pushing the bottom of the liner up on one end…Heed this advice–never plant a Sago Palm close to anything–especially a pond!  I’m not quite sure how this adventure is going to end, but I have a feeling it isn’t going to be good…

Acting Balanced
Let’s switch gears a bit now, and participate in Heather’s  “Monday About Me Quiz”.  I could  some cheering up after the pond discovery!  Here are Heather’s four questions, followed by my question for you!

1. Finish this sentence – I dream of….
taking a trip to the Florida Keys–or going on a cruise one day.

2. If you could choose your last meal, what would it be?
I’d love to have one of the Sunday dinners that Ed’s parents used to cook for us, many years ago!  It might consist of fried chicken, rice and gravy, some fresh peas or butter beans, and one of my father-in-law’s famous “hoe cakes”.  Of course, I’d want one of my mother-in-law’s chocolate cakes for dessert!

3. What was your favorite toy as a child?
I actually had two favorites–my Barbie and Skipper dolls.  I spent many fun hours with Barbie and Skipper, and I still have them both today (in their original swimsuits)!  It’s hard to believe those dolls will be 50 years old in just three more years.

4. What color looks best on you?
I think autumn colors suit me best.  Red is my favorite color, and I usually get compliments whenever I wear it.
My question for you is…
5.  Do you look forward to Mondays, and why or why not?
Published in: on April 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/the-weekend-recap-and-monday-quiz/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I do look forward to Mondays because I send almost everyone back to work and school… I get time with just Erik.. which usually means he naps well and I can get a few things done… and the house is much quieter!

  2. No I don’t look forwarded to Mondays. I still work full time outside the home. I’m finding it harder and harder to get going to get there. I do like my job, but I don’t enjoy working away from home much any more. I pray for the day that I can stop.

  3. I don’t know that I look forward to Mondays, but I definitely do not dread them like I did when I was working. I really did like my job, but I enjoy the freedom of retirement so much more (quilting, time with grandkids, traveling, etc.).

    Hoping you can find a good solution for the palm tree/goldfish pond.

  4. Hate Mondays! Back to work and back class.

  5. I am a fan of Mondays. I get organized on Mondays and set out a plan for the week. Makes me feel good.

  6. I hope you don’t have to relocate the pond like you did before. 😦

    I’m with you on the last meal. I’d want home-cooked like I had when I was young. My favorite was my mom’s baked ham, potato salad, baked beans and biscuits. And I agree, some chocolate cake for dessert would be awesome. 🙂

    I’ve always heard that black is slimming, so I like the way I look in it. As far as my favorite color – that is green. 🙂

    As far as Mondays, they’re just another day since I don’t work. Now, in Autumn, I look forward to Mondays for Monday Night Football !!! 😛


Leave a Reply

