The Simple Woman’s Daybook – Spring Edition…

I feel like doing something a little different today, so I’m linking up with Peggy Hostetler at The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

FOR TODAY ~ April 24, 2012

Outside my window…the sun is shining on the chicken coop! (and I’ll bet “the girls” are glad because it’s 44 degrees outside!

I am thinking…it sure is cold for the last week of April!

I am thankful...for a wonderful husband, a loving family, plenty of food in the kitchen, a roof over my head, and enough money to pay all of the bills.

In the kitchen...I made a large pot of vegetable beef soup for supper last night.  (I thought the cooler weather was perfect for a pot of soup.)  I also made a fresh strawberry pie.  Ed asked if it was our anniversary or something…

I am wearing…my lounging socks and my nightgown because I just got out of bed!  It’s only 7:45 though.

I am creating...a better-looking porch/chicken coop.  I’m currently in the process of painting the front porch of our home and the chicken coop–as soon as the weather permits.  Between the rain and the cooler weather, I’ve been delayed…

I am going…to visit my friend, Diane, one day soon.  We are hoping to enjoy a day at the beach together–as soon as the weather permits.

I am wondering...if it will be cold at my grandson’s t-ball game this afternoon!  I  am planning to go and watch him play.

I am reading…only blogs at the moment.  I haven’t had the time to get interested in a good book.  In fact, at the moment,  I’m struggling to get around to all of my blog friends!

I am hoping…our garden has a bountiful harvest.  It’s our first “real attempt” at growing a garden, and we’re putting in a lot of time and money.  The green beans and english peas are finally blooming!  Yay!

I am looking forward to… Ed taking a few days off soon.  We may be just taking a “stay cation” and getting some things done around the house, but that’s okay.

I am learning…how hard mine and Ed’s parents used to work to grow all of those garden-fresh vegetables that they shared with us over the years!  You really have no idea, until you walk in someone’s shoes…

Around the house…the inside of my house is suffering because I’ve been spending so much time outside!  I suppose I can clean later,  when the temperatures are too warm to be outside 😦

I am pondering...how great modern technology is!  Our son, Brad, is out-of-town this week, due to his job.  He and  his wife, Jennifer, were able to spend some “face time” (seeing each other while talking) on their iPhones last night.  Oh how I would have loved to have had “face time” when Ed was stationed overseas for nearly two years (back in the 70’s)!

A favorite quote for today…“Absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

One of my favorite things…watching the chickens outside,  from my kitchen window.  They never fail to make me smile!  Such silly “girls”.

A few plans for the rest of the week:  doing a little more research, and probably getting a Magic Jack Plus and new phones, plus more painting, as soon as the weather permits.

A peek into my day...I’m going to pick up granddaughter, Madison, from pre-K at noon, then going to grandson, Caden’s t-ball game this afternoon.

Our first squash in the garden: 

Published in: on April 24, 2012 at 8:51 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/the-simple-womans-daybook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What great answers. One can definitely say that you don’t have a dull life. LOL Looking at that picture makes me want some squash. Mmm…

    I bet it’s fun to look out the window and see what “the girls” are up to. With chickens…there’s NO telling what you might see. LOL

    If you get to go to the beach with your friend – have a great time. I know how much you love the beach. Hopefully you and Mr. Ed can make it to the beach this summer for a vacation. 😀

    And finally, I hope the weather warms up enough for you to enjoy Caden’s T-ball game this afternoon. 🙂

    Have a blessed day !!! ♥

  2. It’s cool here too but at least no snow! A little further north got pounded. I’m not sure I could have handled a foot of snow at the end of April!

  3. It is cool here, too. Thanks for an enjoyable peek into your day!

  4. It’s cool here, too, although it did warm up enough to open the door just a little earlier this afternoon. We’ll be watching 2 of our 4 grands’ last soccer game of the spring season tonight. I love watching their sporting events.

    I love the Simple Woman’s Daybook and need to do one the next time I’m suffering from writer’s block. 😉 I enjoyed getting a peek into your day.

  5. I’d never heard of the Simple Woman’s Daybook, but I enjoyed reading your responses. I will have to check it out. I, too, wish “face time” was around in the 70’s, when my father was oversees for year. Technology has definitely made being separated easier.


Leave a Reply

