Wednesday Hodgepodge…Volume 75

It’s time to join Joyce for another weekly Hodgepodge!  Wow, these weeks sure do fly by! If you’d like to join in this mid-week fun, just click Joyce’s button at the top of my post. Here are this week’s questions:

1. William Shakespeare’s birthday is celebrated on April 23rd…when did you last read Shakespeare? What’s your favorite Shakespeare play?
I don’t remember ever reading Shakespeare! (This doesn’t mean I didn’t read any, it just means I don’t remember reading it!) As for my favorite play, I’ll say, “Romeo and Juliet”. Let’s face it, it’s been a long time since my days of studying literature–like at least 40 years!

2. What food(s) would you recommend a foreign visitor try when they visit your home country?

Well, I’m from the south, so I’d recommend trying some of our southern fried chicken, some grits, and some boiled peanuts.

3. What’s a lie you often tell yourself?

“I’ll do that tomorrow…”

4. What’s something you’re good at that might surprise us? Remember this is a family friendly blog!

Party planning.  Everyone always seems to enjoy our family holiday parties, and I enjoy the planning, especially the activities.

5. Who is your favorite animal character from a book?

I love Winnie the Pooh!  These days,  person could go “hog-wild”  while decorating a baby nursery in “Winnie the Pooh”.  I know this from experience!

6. April showers bring May flowers…do you have a green thumb?

Not really.  I have terrible luck with houseplants!  However, my thumb may be getting a bit “greener” this year, since Ed and I are trying our hand at gardening!  I successfully grew tomato, cucumber, cabbage, and squash plants from seeds–then transplanted them in the garden!  I’ve picked 6 squash so far!  The tomatoes and cucumbers are blooming, while the cabbage plants are forming “heads”.  (Every time I look at those cabbage “heads” forming the song “Cabbage Patch Kids, Growing In the Garden” runs through my head…LOL)

7. Speaking of rainy days…which one of the following activities would you most want to spend time doing on a rainy day-

sort photos and create albums
bake cookies
read a good book
hold an all-day movie marathon
organize closets, cupboards, or bookshelves
try a new recipe
fix something that needs fixing

I think I’d prefer to read a good book, while listening to the rain on our tin roof–then take a nap afterwards!

Random:

Here’s a peek at granddaughter, Madison’s, former “Winnie the Pooh” nursery (she’s 5 now, and  has moved on past Winnie).  Most items shown were courtesy of eBay and me!

Published in: on April 25, 2012 at 8:57 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/wednesday-hodgepodge-volume-75/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m from the south, too…love me some boiled peanuts! What a cute nursery…love the colors!

  2. I love the canopy crib-so sweet! I’m impressed with your garden. Do you have any trouble with unwanted visitors, i.e deer?

  3. Winnie the Pooh was my answer too! Darling nursery!

    I’ve never had boiled peanuts!

  4. Sounds like you are growing things nicely this year! That means yes you have a green thumb.

  5. That nursery was so adorable. I think it’s an entirely different kind of green thumb to grow houseplants vs an outdoor garden. I’m thinking that if we’re still dog-less next spring, we will have to have a garden … I miss the freshly picked veggies from a home garden. There’s a roadside produce stand not far from here that has delicious veggies … but it’s just not the same as walking out the door and picking your own veggies.

  6. Another southerner! The south has SO much good food! I listed different food choices, but I like all yours too.

  7. I laughed at #3. I am guilty of that one, too. About #4– come on Kathy, you know your party-planning savvy and creativity come as no surprise. From your posts we know that you regularly plan events that spark fun for all ages.

    And that Pooh nursery is delightful. Glad you had that good memory preserved with photos.

  8. Like your answer for #7, sounds perfect!

  9. Your garden looks like you have a green thumb. Not being from the south, but living here, I can’t get on the boiled peanut wagon. They taste and feel like Black eyed peas to me and I do love those… but peanuts should be roasted. I will say that my youngest daughter loves boiled peanuts. I agree with fried chicken… and I would say Red Cake and pecan pie. I do remember reading Shakespeare… but like you, I liked Romeo and Juliet best. Anthony and Cleopatra next.

  10. I, too, would recommend fried chicken – it’s my favorite. 🙂


Leave a Reply

