Thursday’s Thoughts ~ Tales From The Garden…

I believe I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again, “Gardening is hard work!”  It’s back-breaking, time-consuming, and sometimes frustrating–but at the same time, it’s relaxing, exciting, and sometimes it’s rewarding!

Ed and I really don’t have much of an idea of what we’re doing this year.  We weren’t successful in two previous gardening attempts, but this year we are reading and asking more advice–and having more success!  We are learning as we go, sometimes through trial and error!

For instance, I had no idea you could water a garden too much–until those rust spots appeared on the leaves of the beans!  We also had no idea that beans don’t require a lot of fertilizer–they make their own nitrogen!  For a while, I thought we were going to have all bush and no beans, but alas, one day blossoms finally began appearing!  Yay!  Perhaps we’ll have some green beans after all!

I had no idea how easy radishes are to grow, or that you can plant them among your carrots to help the carrots sprout and be easier to harvest.  I also had no idea that radishes grow so large!  We’ve pulled some radishes that could pass for turnips!  (Our chickens love the radish tops!)

Ed and I have been dealing with the heartbreak of a tomato disease known in our area as, “the wilt”.  I read that it’s a virus carried by an insect known as “a thrip”.  One day the tomato plants may look fine, then the next we’ll notice one with slight wilting–only the wilting never goes away, and the plant eventually dies.  We’ve lost about a dozen plants, so far.  It’s a good thing I planted about 70 plants!  The only thing we can do to combat “the wilt” is to keep the garden sprayed or dusted to control “the thrips”.

This week we suffered another gardening setback, when three of our squash bushes began dying–and they were all full of baby squash!  There will still be plenty of squash, but it’s so disheartening to have this happen, just as the squash are beginning to bear.  We’re not sure what happened, unless our record low temperature of 40 degrees (on Monday morning) had something to do with it.  If this is the case, I’m wondering why only three bushes were affected…

So far, we haven’t had to deal with any “predators” in our garden, although our son-in-law witnessed a herd of deer just down the road, early one morning.  Perhaps the scent of our dogs keep the deer and rabbits at bay–because our dogs are notorious for trampling all over the garden area, or perhaps the predators just haven’t found our garden yet…I hope our luck holds!

All in all, so far, gardening has been more fun than work.  It’s a nice way to begin the morning or a nice way to end the day.  My hubby, Ed,  and I have finally found another  hobby that we enjoy doing together!

My witty husband made a funny comment to me the other evening, while we were in the garden,  and the sun was going down behind the trees.  He said, “There’s nothing like being in the garden with your “hoe”!”  I’m not sure if he was referring to me or that gardening tool in his hand…

Have a great day!

Published in: on April 26, 2012 at 10:29 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/thursdays-thoughts-tales-from-the-garden/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Loved your husbands observation, what a humor he has. Looks like your garden is huge and I’m sorry you have had some problems. We are still getting gimps into the 20’s at night so our garden is not in yet and by our garden I mean a grand total of 3 above ground planter boxes! The entire garden is about 10×25! A lot smaller than yours but still,nits fun to be in there. Thanks for the update.

  2. I’m exhausted just looking at your garden patch.When I lived in California my then-husband crammed a surprising amount of plants into what I called the alley between our house and the next.
    As for now – unfortunately I don’t have enough sun for a garden. I tried tomatoes but by the time the greenies appear frost season was upon us. As for the few that did turn red? The snails were anticipating and beat me to them.
    I envy you. You’ll soon be self-sufficient or nearly so – at least for the summer.

  3. You are so right. Gardening is hard work. I would plan all winter and help plant but the weeding was always done my Terry and his stirrup hoe we inherited from my grandmother. That’s the only “hoe” he got out there with him!! But, then, I did all the canning, freezing, etc. There is nothing like biting into a tomato warm by the sun and sucking up all that juice. Yum. I will be so jealous to see what you do with all that produce and keep the pictures coming.

  4. That is an enormous garden!! Will you open a veggie stand? It looks like maybe you could. Enjoy all that fresh produce. I hope you get some tomatoes!

  5. Wow! Now that is a garden. That Ed and his garden humor! Hope you have enough squash and tomatoes survive that you wii enjoy frits of your labor! Have a happy weekend!

  6. I think the garden is looking great! Keep up the good work. 🙂

  7. Gardening is hard work … but the rewards are worth it. Of course, I’ve never had such a large garden. 😉 Hope that your plants all thrive from here on out and that you are overwhelmed with the harvest.

  8. Love the garden, look fresh food from them, cant be beaten.


Leave a Reply

