The Wednesday Hodgepodge…May 2

It’s my favorite time of the week, again–It’s “Hodgepodge Time”!  Sit back a spell and enjoy my answers to the thought-provoking questions Joyce has provided for us today–or join in and play along!

1. My daughter2 is graduating from university this month and plans to teach elementary school. What are three qualities you most want to see evidenced in a teacher?

Oh, Joyce!  As a former employee of The Board of Education, this is a subject near and dear to my heart!  Here are my thoughts…

Intelligence (I’m serious!  I’ve known a few teachers who don’t even know how to use proper English or spell correctly, and once I actually heard a teacher telling her students that the Milky Way is a planet!)  How can this be???

Good morals (after all,  teachers are setting an example for our children, and it should be a good one!)

Dedication (a great teacher will arrive early, and leave late– and never leave school empty-handed.)

I could tell you so many stories concerning these three things…

   2. You can tell a lot about a person by watching how they act in public.

3. What song makes you think spring?

I love beach music–really!  The following song usually puts me in a festive mood…

4. May 1st is Mother Goose Day…share your favorite nursery rhyme.

I love “The House That Jack Built.   I used to be able to recite the entire thing–believe it or not!

Mother Goose > Rhymes >
“This is the house that Jack built…”
by Mother Goose

This is the house that Jack built.

This is the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the farmer sowing his corn,
That kept the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

5. What makes someone unforgettable?   

Lots of things can make someone unforgettable to me.  The way they look, the way they act, how they treat others, their accomplishments, etc.

6. Should music and/or art be part of a well rounded education?  

Yes, I think students should be taught music and art while they are in school.  I’m especially partial to music.

7. What social situations make you flustered or nervous?

Pretty much all social situations make me nervous, but the ones I hate the worst are those requiring me to speak in front of a crowd.

Random:

I’m hoping to be enjoying a little fun in the sun with my friend today.  I may be a little late making my blogging rounds…but I’ll be thinking of y’all!

Published in: on May 2, 2012 at 7:11 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-may-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good morning, reading your answers about teachers made me think of this: Teachers need to be flexible, parents and grandparents do too because sometimes the best teaching opportunities start with a simple question by a child…..thus the best time for learning. I know teachers have so much paperwork to do for their students with lesson plans and all the other requirements that they are overwhelmed. The student to Teacher ratio also makes it difficult.

    Have a blessed day

  2. WOW you could say the entire rhyme? I never heard it all. Enjoy the sun, all we have had for 5 days now is gray skies and rain!! I really need some sun and a chance to soak up some vitamin D.

  3. I am surrounded by teachers in my family and my heart goes out all of them. My middle daughter got her secondary teaching certificate and realized high school was not for her. She is now about half way to her Masters heading twoard a DR. to teach at University level.

    I lvoe Beach Music too. I didn’t discover it until we moved to S.C. in the early 90s. Now in N.C., I am enjoying it again. Love watching all the Shag dancers. My teenage self would have loved doing that. Do you Shag Kathy?

  4. Always enjoy ewading your well-articulated ansers to the hodgepodge questions. Hope to be seeing a report of your fun outing.

  5. I have Social Anxiety Disorder, so crowds and being away from home really get me flustered. Hopefully one day it’ll get better.


Leave a Reply

