Soaking In Some Sun And Making Some New Memories…

When I last posted, I was on my way to join my friend, Diane, for a little “fun in the sun” at the beach.  We had a lovely time together, sitting in the sun, doing some people-watching, and talking about days gone by…Our friendship goes way back to 1970!

Diane and I became friends during her senior year of high school, in 1970.  She later married Ed’s best friend that same summer.  The four of us have been friends ever since.

The last time Diane and I were at Tybee Island together (that we could remember) was back in June of 1979, when we went with our husbands–and our babies!   Those babies will turn 34 this year!

Excuse the photo quality, these pictures are old!  Of course, we couldn’t all be in the picture at the same time, so here I am, holding my daughter, Brandy…

We’d all gone to the beach together to watch our babies experience the ocean for the first time…Neither of the babies was impressed–and I have pictures to prove it!

A lot of water has gone under the bridge since those days!  Oh to look like that again–and to be that young and naive!  If only I knew then what I know now…but then, hindsight is 20/20 isn’t it?

Anyway–the weather at the beach was perfect on Wednesday, the beach wasn’t crowded at all, and Diane and I really had a nice time. We took our lunch with us, and had a picnic underneath the pier.  We ate, we talked, and we relaxed.  We even waded in the water a bit!  Special times with a special friend…

At one point, we noticed a ship, simply making a turn, but it appeared as if it were coming ashore…so we both scurried to take a picture of it!  Soon after we snapped our photos, the ship went out of sight.

Since I’d been working in the garden so much lately, I didn’t feel the need to use much sunscreen at the beach–just a dab here and there.  By the time I got home, late in the evening, my skin felt hot, and had taken on a warm, red glow!  I thought I’d messed up!

Fortunately, I tan easily, so I’m happy to say that today the only glow I’m still basking in,  is the glow of some wonderful memories, made with a dear friend…

Have a great weekend, everybody!

Published in: on May 4, 2012 at 9:11 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/soaking-in-some-sun-and-making-some-new-memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks like you are having a blast. Good for you. Soak it all in!!!

  2. Where’s your 2012 beach photo? No excuses accepted! It’s easy to point and shoot at yourselves with today’s cameras 🙂

  3. We frequently take a day trip to Tybee Island when we’re in Hilton Head. We didn’t this year because there was no time left to do Tybee on the day we went to Savannah, what with the tall ships. We have friends who are on Tybee this week … it’s their favorite beach destination.

  4. I agree – you need to post a recent picture of you and Diane. 🙂

    It’s uncanny how much a young Brandy looks like Madison. It could almost be her that you’re holding. 🙂


Leave a Reply

