Monday, Monday…

Acting Balanced

I’ve been gone from blog land for over four days!   That’s probably a near record for me, but there’s no time for such luxuries lately!  I’ve quickly learned this…if you grow a large garden, it will consume your life for a while!  Consider me consumed!

However, I did want to take a minute or three to participate in Heather’s Monday quiz.  Here are today’s questions:

1. Finish this sentence – The best thing about this past weekend was…spending precious time with my family.


2. When company drops by unexpectedly what do you serve?  Whatever I have handy!  Most of our company is family–or nearly family, so I feel comfortable sharing just about anything with them–from hot dogs to frozen pizza!

3. How old were you when you got your first cell phone?  I’m really going to “date” myself here, but our children were all nearly grown when we got our first cell phone–back in the late 90’s!  By the way, our first cell phone was a “bag phone”!  Remember those???

4. Where do you blog?  Most of the time I blog from the desk top computer in the bedroom, because the majority of my photos are stored on that computer.  Occasionally, I will begin or end a post from the laptop in the living room though.
5. My question for you:  How did you spend Mother’s Day?
Thanks to Heather at Acting Balanced for hosting this fun meme…
Weekend Wrap Up:
I had a very busy, but lovely weekend.  On Friday night, our daughter-in-law hosted a birthday party for our oldest son, who turned 30 on Thursday.  We ate grilled hotdogs, chips, cake, and ice cream.  Afterward we played a couple of games of Bingo.
Most of our family attended the Glennville Sweet Onion Parade and Festival on Saturday, but Ed and I stayed home and worked around the house.  He finished installing the new storm door, while I picked more green beans.
Later in the day, we helped our daughter and son-in-law finish digging and picking up the new potatoes.  Then, Ed ended the day by helping our oldest son install a new air conditioning unit.  Saturday was a busy day!
Mother’s Day was very special to me this year because my son-in-law, Clint, offered to cook dinner for me and his wife this year!  That touched my heart so much!  He told us that he would take care of everything–and he did!  He fixed a baked ham with all of the trimmings, then cleaned up the kitchen afterwards!  Now there’s a son-in-law to be proud of–and I am!
Published in: on May 14, 2012 at 12:51 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/05/14/monday-monday-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Mothers Day! It sounds like you had a nice day. My Granddaughters made a beautiful lunch. I only have a tiny veggie garden and it is exhausting. It is also so rewarding. How do you keep the critters out?

  2. I let Heather sleep a lot on Mother’s Day. Thought that would be the best gift possible.

  3. What a busy but wonderful weekend.

    How awfully sweet of your son-in-law to prepare a meal for you and your daughter. He definitely sounds like a keeper!

  4. What a son-in-law! To answer your question, I traveled to Virginia for my nieces college graduation on Saturday. Mother’s Day, the next day, was extra special as my brother and I were together on the first Mother’s Day after our mother died in December of 2011. She would have been so happy that we were together. My brother grilled steaks for his wife, me and their three children that evening. The day was filled with church, laughter, music and fun!

  5. Sounds like you had a pretty good Mother’s Day. That was SO nice of Clint to do the cooking AND cleaning. 🙂


Leave a Reply

