Back From “Bountiful”…At Least Temporarily!

Bountiful is what comes to mind, when I think of our garden this year!  I had no idea how much of an adventure Ed and I would be taking when we began this garden way back in March!  We started out with a few packets of seeds, a lot of determination, and not much else!  Soon we found ourselves immersed in a field of never-ending activity-and here we are beginning this adventure when most folks our age are retiring!

I’ve really missed blogging the past few weeks!   I thought about all of my blogging buddies while I was working my way through the dirt, weeds, and vegetables each day.  I wondered how you were spending your days, while mine began–every morning at 8 o’clock–by applying a generous portion of insect repellent!  Insect repellent has become my new perfume, and dirt has become my new best friend.

While I’ve been absent from the blogging world, I’ve harvested scores of squash,  picked 40 quarts of green beans, and have helped to harvest over 100 pounds of new potatoes!  There have also been cabbages and cucumbers a plenty!  Our squash are all gone now, but a few beans, cucumbers, and cabbage still remain.  I’m enjoying a slight rest before the next round of peas, beans, tomatoes, and corn begins shortly.  I say, “Bring it on!”

We’ve been blessed with some much-needed rain lately.  As a result, all of our plants have become lush and green.  Due to the rain, and cooler temps, our harvest has been plentiful.  Unfortunately, so have the grass and weeds!  We try to stay in behind the weeds, but there’s only two of us versus thousands of them!!!  H-E-L-P!  It’s also hard to fit in weeding with all of the harvesting that’s been going on!

Ed and I have spent many long hours working in the kitchen–and outside under the carport.  We’ve kept that new pressure cooker busy lately!  In the past week or so, we’ve canned 33 quarts of beans, 18 pints of new potatoes, and six quarts of beef stew!

Unfortunately, the deer have finally found our garden–sort of.  Recently, one or more deer have been spotted near the garden.  So far we’ve only had minimal damage.  They’ve tasted a few young pea bushes on the end of the garden, and they’ve eaten some of Ed’s peanut vines on the other end.  Yesterday I came up with a plan to thwart those deer visits–I hope!

This was one of my old dolls when I was a child.  She’s always been great at scaring the pants off of people in the past (because she looks so much like a child), so I figure maybe she’ll keep the deer at bay, too!   The doll looks so real, our five-year-old granddaughter, who lives next-door, saw the doll standing on our front porch, and called to ask us why we had “that little girl” on our porch!

Unfortunately, Ed chose to put the doll beside his peanuts, NOT beside my peas!   I guess we know where Ed’s heart lies…  He claims that he put her at the edge of the garden–where he thinks the deer are most likely to enter...We shall see!  

I just hope we don’t get reported by someone–for having a “child” tied to a pole in our garden!  Wouldn’t that be a hoot?!       Stay tuned…I’ll let you know what happens!


Published in: on May 15, 2012 at 10:47 am  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/back-from-bountiful-at-least-temporarily/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never seen a doll in the garden. I can’t wait to hear how effective that is in keeping the deer out of your garden. 😉

  2. Your scaredoll is priceless! Love her.
    Let us know when you’ll be opening a roadside stand! You can bring your laptop and blog between customers!!!!

  3. That would be hilarious! LOL I love that he put her near his peanuts- sounds like something mine would do. I have heard that putting cut hair around the perimeter keeps the deer away- I’ve also heard that it really works and is not just an old wives tale. Head to the beauty shop and ask to sweep some up. 🙂 Our garden is starting to produce some squash and the tomatoes are coming right along as are the beans. We’ve had tons of lettuce and spinach and I’ve used them in green smoothies! I can’t believe how quickly your garden has grown!

  4. I would say your garden has been bountiful indeed. Good luck with the deer…love your idea.

  5. Oh that doll is something else! But I wish I were your neighbor so you could share your harvest with me : ) Everything looks so yummy!

    Thank you for your kind comments regarding my niece. They mean a lot.

  6. Whoa! You have really been busy. Kudos on harvesting and preserving. Doll is a hoot!

  7. What a beautiful collection of veggies from your garden. Looks like all your hard work is paying off. 🙂


Leave a Reply

