Oh, The Joys Of Getting Older…

Just in case you didn’t know…today is the beginning of a brand new week.  It also means the ending of yet another week!  These weeks, they do pass quickly, don’t they?  I’m made even more aware of the speedy passing of a week, by the constant need to refill my little “medication reminder”–you know, the little plastic box that holds a week’s worth of daily dosages of medications.  Perhaps you haven’t been introduced to the “medication reminder” yet, and if not, you are blessed!  Quick! Enjoy a normal life while you still can!

My husband, Ed, says he is constantly reminded of how quickly time passes by the frequency he has to get our prescriptions refilled!  He doesn’t use a “medication reminder” yet (although he really should!), but he takes medication on a daily basis, too.  Between the two of us, he makes at least three trips to the pharmacy per month.  Oh the joys of getting older, and developing health issues like high blood pressure!

Speaking of health issues, after nearly three months of total bliss– in the absence of my dear friend, “Uncle Arthur” (aka rheumatoid arthritis), my life was made miserable this past weekend with his return!  “Uncle Arthur” does me that way–he comes and he goes.  I’d been in remission since sometime in February–until last week.  Perhaps picking 55 quarts of green beans had something to do with “Arthur’s” return, or the change in weather?!  Unfortunately, “Arthur” has a mind of his own, and doesn’t need a reason to visit.  Whatever the cause for “Arthur’s”  recent visit, I hope it will be a brief one!

Also, on the subject of health and growing older…Lately, everyone in the family has been remarking how much Ed has begun to look like “Grandpa” (Ed’s daddy).  Even Ed’s mom says he looks just like her late husband.  I’ve noticed it, too.  Due to his thinning hair, Ed now has to wear a cap whenever he’s outside (or risk getting his scalp burned), and he’s usually dressed in the same type of attire that his dad used to wear around the farm–dark blue slacks (with cuffs), and a long-sleeved, plaid shirt.

The other day I looked outside while Ed was sitting under the car port minding the pressure cooker.  He could have easily passed for his daddy sitting there!  How many times have I seen my father-in-law sitting outside watching a pot boil–except his pot usually contained boiled peanuts–not green beans!  I walked outside and made the following comment to Ed.  I said, “Sometimes I feel like I’m married to your daddy now!  Do you feel like you are married to  my mother?”  He quietly answered, “Yes.”  Ha!  Who would’ve seen this one coming when we married nearly forty years ago?!   Now, I didn’t ask Ed to elaborate on why he feels like he is married to my mother...some things are just better left unsaid!  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again–“Oh, the joys of getting older!  Married to our parents, who would’ve thunk it?!

Have a great Monday, everyone!

Published in: on May 21, 2012 at 10:10 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/oh-the-joys-of-getting-older/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I use a two week pill caddy and it still seems I’m forever filling it…..sometimes my granddaughter does it and even she says if feels like we just did that….I began to use it because I hated opening all those bottles every morning…..I take three vitamins, an allergy tablet and a baby aspirin in addition to my 2 hypertension tablets….that’s a lot of bottles….speaking of hypertension, it isn’t an “old peoples” disease or condition because I was first diagnosed at age 25 and began to take medication at that time…..Uncle Arthur is not an unpleasant visitor most of the time as long as I stay fairly active and take Naproxen or Ibuprofen at the first signs of his imminent arrival.
    Have a wonderful day,
    Mama Bear

  2. Hoping that Arthur will leave and not find his way back any time soon!!

    I’m not on any prescription medication (yet), but I still need a reminder for my OTC meds (eye vitamin, multi-vitamin, calcium, vitamin D and vitamin C in the winter).

    I have started to see a lot of DH’s dad is him.

  3. My cousin knows your Uncle Arthur but they’re on a formal basis. She calls him Mr Arthur Itis.

  4. Hope your guest leaves soon. All those green beans. Sounds like you 2 are going to be self-sufficient. How are the chickens doing lately?
    My hubby is shaped like his dad but doesn’t share the features of either parent very much. I don’t either, but wouldn’t mind if hubby thought so, especially since my mother maintained young-looking complexion, a halo of naturally curly white hair and a loving spirit.

  5. I don’t have to use a med reminder. Yet. That’s why I’m doing all this healthy/fitness stuff now. I got my mother to try several things- the oil pulling, dry skin brushing, green smoothies, gluten free–and she is down to one and a half pills now! And has reversed her diabetes! But that ‘Uncle Arthur’–he’s a bad one. I hope he doesn’t stick around long. My grandmother suffered from RA—as a matter of fact, most of her sisters did too. I have noticed that the husband walks and carries himself like his dad did–now that you mention it. 🙂

  6. Married to our parents-ha! So true!

  7. It does seem like the weeks are getting shorter and shorter. I fill up my weekly prescription dispenser and it feels like it’s time to do it again just a few days later. Where does the time go? It flies whether we’re having fun or not. LOL

  8. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  9. I’m still learning from you, while I’m trying to reach my goals. I definitely love reading everything that is posted on your website.Keep the posts coming. I loved it!

  10. great post


Leave a Reply

