The Wednesday Hodgepodge Is Back…

After a brief hiatus, I’m happy to say that the Hodgepodge is back!  Here are Joyce’s questions, along with my answers.  As always, my thanks go out to Joyce for being such a wonderful hostess each week  🙂
1. What’s something you miss about the 1980’s? If you’re too young to miss the 80’s how about the 90’s?
The thing I miss most about the 80’s is being the young mom of three little ones!  Our house was very full and lively!  I was in “mommy mode” times three!  Two of our children were born during the 80’s, while our oldest was born in 1978.

our children in the mid-eighties

Those were the days, my friend…I thought they’d never end–but they did..too quickly!

2. Do you have a library card? If so, how often do you visit?
Yes, I do have a library card, but it’s been years since I’ve used it.  I prefer to buy the books I read, then add them to my ever-growing library.  I haven’t visited our library since our granddaughter out-grew story time a couple of years ago.
3. What’s the secret to success?
If I knew the answer to this question, I’d be a millionaire!
4. This is National Backyard Games week…what’s your favorite backyard game?
The game we play most often around here is called “Corn Hole”. (I don’t know why it’s called this)
5. If I dropped by today what would I find on your coffee table?
I’ve turned my former (wedge-shaped) coffee table into an end table between our two couches, and it holds a lamp, my laptop, and various other things–like junk mail, nail clippers, and a pair of ear buds.  Oh, and lots of magazines on the bottom shelf!
6. Do you own a bicycle? When was the last time you rode a bicycle? Is that something you enjoy?
Yes, I do own a bicycle.  It was a Christmas gift a couple of years ago.  I do enjoy riding it, but it’s been a few months since I’ve been on it.
7. What’s your favorite cheese?
Nothing fancy, just plain old mild cheddar makes me happy.
Random:

While sitting at my computer answering these Hodgepodge questions on Tuesday afternoon, a storm blew up.  At first, I didn’t pay a lot of attention because bad weather doesn’t usually frighten me…Then I heard a cracking sound outside of the bedroom window!

a bit too close for comfort!

I looked outside and discovered a large pine tree had snapped in half and fallen.  While I was trying to figure out exactly what was going on outside, I saw two more huge pines snap and come crashing to the ground!

As close as two trees could come, without actually falling on top of the building

At that point, it also began to hail, so I headed for the bathtub and laid down in it ’cause I wasn’t sure what was going to happen next!

All three of the trees fell within mere inches of our house and storage building, but fortunately there was very little damage.  God is good!  Let the clean up begin…our yard is a mess!

Guess what we’ll be doing this weekend…

Published in: on May 23, 2012 at 8:24 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-is-back/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Whoa! That was close! Glad that those trees didn’t hit the house or storage building! Must have been some storm.

  2. Was it a tornado? So glad you and your home and family are all okay. In Hurricane Katrina we evacuated more than 80 miles north to my mother’s home. It wasn’t far enough. Four huge pines uprooted and fell, one across the back of her house. They were full of resin and so heavy.
    Pine trees sliced through most of the houses in her neighborhood like birthday cake, from roof to foundation.

    Be careful during cleanup.That can be dangerous, too. How did your garden fare?

  3. Oh wow-so glad you’re okay and those trees missed your house!

  4. Now that was close! Glad no real damage.

  5. We also play cornhole, so my answer to that one matches yours. And our answers to #1 are the same as well. Those were the days… taking care of sweet little ones. They were long days and short years.
    Have a great day!

  6. Cornhole? Never heard of that. I loved the 80’s and you are right, they went by way too fast! So glad you are OK from the trees falling down, you will have nice fire wood.

  7. Woa!! that was some storm. Enjoy playing cornhole.

  8. Glad you are safe with all those trees down. That must have been scary.

  9. I ‘ve not heard of cornhole either. I have said many times …that the thing I miss most in the 80s is the “big hair”. I too had 3 children at home, was working and running amok…but I did it all with big hair and shoulder pads!!

    I have had a library card since I was about 11. My girls all got one when their were about 3 and could pick out books. We all use them every week. Now library books can be downloaded to your Kindle. My oldest daughter and my oldest grandson( yes, the 11 year old got a Kindle for his April Birthday) loads his too.

    That was a serious wind to knock down your tree.

  10. I am so grateful that your home wasn’t damaged and that all of you are ok. It could’ve been so much worse. 🙂

    As far as the 80’s…I miss everything!!! Ashley says that I’m stuck in the 80’s. I can’t think of a better place to be. 😀


Leave a Reply

