Favorite Summer Memories…

I’m going to travel back in time a bit today.  Here’s a list of my favorite summer memories…

Going to the beach

I’ve always loved going to the beach, for as long as I can remember!  Whenever I was growing up, we didn’t make it to the beach often, so the times I went are very memorable to me.  

One of my most memorable beach trips was just a few days before I graduated from high school.  Me and two of my girl friends, who were also graduating,  went to the beach and spent the night–without our parents.  Only one of us was 18, so I guess she rented the motel room.  We thought we were something!  The photo (of me) below was taken on that trip.

Me in 1972 on my first “solo” beach trip

Spending time on the water in our boat

A couple of years after Ed and I were married, and I went to work, our first major purchase was a new boat!  We lived near the coast, so we spent many happy hours riding, fishing, and skiing on the weekends.  I know why boats are called “vessels of freedom”.  There’s not a better feeling in the world than gliding across the water,  feeling the breeze in your face.

We sold our boat when we moved back to our hometown because we were too far from the water to get much use out of it.  We’ve only been boating once since those days, back in the 70’s.

Riding motorcycles

Although I never really relaxed while on the back of the motorcycle, I did enjoy the element of adventure that riding one provided–and you can’t get much closer to your honey than on a motorcycle!  

Ed and I owned a couple of motorcycles during our early years of marriage, and we took a few short motorcycle trips with friends.  

The most memorable trip found us in a laundromat wearing black trash bags while our clothes were being dried–after being drenched in a storm!

Camping trips with the children

We spent eight summers camping with our kids–and I loved every minute of it! Lots of family time around campfires, bike rides, and swimming.  Oh, and how I loved hanging those pretty party lights on the camper awning…that always put me in a “festive” mood!

Having summers off with my kids

I figured if I was going to take a job, it might as well be a job with lots of holidays, and the same hours as my kids, so I applied to be a paraprofessional!  If you’re going to be a working mom, that’s a nice way to do it.  I loved having summers off and spending time with our kids.

Picking and canning vegetables from the garden with our parents

I sure had some good times out in the garden, and later in the kitchen, with both sets of  our parents!   It was work, but we had a good time doing it.

Ed and I still laugh about one particular time we were picking peas with his parents.  Ed hit the pea vines with a stick and yelled “Snake”!  Ed’s mama and I almost wet our pants trying to get away  from there!  Of course, there was no snake, Ed was just being funny.  He’s always been a prankster.

The photo below was taken in the 70’s.  That’s Ed’s daddy, me, and a friend picking peas.  That was one long row of peas!  

Good times around our swimming pool

We sold our camper and put in a pool in the mid-nineties!  Our children were entering their “tween years” by then.   Camping was no longer cool, but having a pool was!  We had our pool set up so we could walk out of the living room door, cross a short walkway, then step up on the pool deck.  Ed built the deck by himself.  We enjoyed that pool and deck for ten years before we took it all down!

My brother and family on our pool deck

Our anniversary get-away each year

For as long as I can remember, our family has always taken a vacation during the week of mine and Ed’s wedding anniversary–it was our anniversary get-away.  However, Ed and I had probably been married for  close to twenty years before we ever went on an anniversary get-away without our children.  

Finally, one year, at Ed’s suggestion, we left the children behind.  We  went 30 miles from home, went to dinner, a movie, then we got a motel room with a giant Jacuzzi!   It was one of our most memorable anniversaries.

Vacation trips with our grown children and their families

A few times, we’ve been fortunate enough to share vacation trips with our three grown children and their families.  Although we’ve only been able to have  the entire crew together once, we had fun with those who were able to come along.

vacationing together in 2010

Family fun times at home

We’re living proof that you don’t have to leave home to have a great time!  Gather  the family around, build a fire or light the grill, crank up the music, and you have the makings of a good time!  We may do anything from playing yard games to getting on a slip-n-slide.

Boys will be boys…no matter what their age!

I’m sure I could think of a few more favorite memories, but these are at the top of my list. How about you, what are some of your favorite summer memories?

Published in: on June 5, 2012 at 7:51 am  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/favorite-summer-memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This was fun to read…I may have to come up with a summer memory post of my own. My favorite memories are the ones with water in them.

  2. What a fun read! I can only remember one summer that involved the beach. DH and I both were never able to get enough time off at the same time to go to the beach in the summer. 😦

  3. I really enjoyed hearing these stories. They reminded me of some of the things me and my family used to do. Thanks for sharing – it brought a smile to my face. 😀


Leave a Reply

