Just Me On Monday…

Acting Balanced

Ed’s gone back to work, so it’s just me at home–and it’s also Monday, once again. That means I’m joining Heather from “Acting Balanced” for her Monday meme. Since joining this meme a few weeks ago, I’ve become rather fond of it–and it gives me something to look forward to om Mondays.  You can join in, by clicking Heather’s button at the top of my post.

Here are Heather’s questions, along with my answers:

1. Finish this sentence – I had a great….time at the beach last weekend. I was hoping to make a return trip this weekend, but the weather wasn’t cooperative.  Dang it!

2. What is your favorite kind of soda pop? I usually drink just plain old Coke, but if I’m feeling “froggie” I’ll drink some Dr. Pepper.  Nothing like living on the wild side once in a while 🙂

3. What is your weather like today? It’s rainy, and there’s a chance of rain every day this week.  It looks like we’re in for another soggy week.

4. What is your favorite workout song?  I don’t do much working out these days, but back in the days when I walked regularly on the treadmill, I enjoyed walking and listening to “The Backstreet Boys” (believe it or not). I always started out with “I Want It That Way” because it’s slow, but has a regular rhythm.

I liked to follow up with “Everybody” (the next song on the cd) because it also had a nice rhythm, but at a slightly faster pace.

I also enjoyed walking to In Sync.  “Bye Bye Bye” is one of my favorites.  Now my secret has been revealed–I enjoy walking to the beat of “Boy Bands”!

My question for readers:

5.  Are you taking a “vacation” or a “staycation” this summer? (as for us, we’re doing a bit of both)

“““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““

My weekend in review:

Four words will adequately describe my weekend:  Lots of fresh vegetables!  Although, Ed and I still have some  tomatoes growing in our garden, we decided to make a visit to a local tomato farm.  I wanted to be able to work with a lot of tomatoes at once, so I could put them into jars, and be finished.  Our tomatoes are coming in a few at a time.

OMG!  I’ve never seen so many large, beautiful tomatoes in my life!  I wished I’d had my camera!  There were thousands of tomatoes, about 5-6 inches in diameter, growing on long, perfect rows!  We picked two five-gallon buckets of tomatoes– in less than five minutes–and you couldn’t even tell where we’d been!   Those “treasures” will be canned later this week, to be used in soup and chili this winter.  By the way, we got both buckets of those tomatoes for the same amount of money (sixteen dollars) that we spent two weeks ago on just garden supplements for our own tomatoes!  Gardening is expensive!

Our corn is getting ready, too.  I put up 25 ears of corn on the cob Saturday morning–and that is just the first of many more ears to be harvested–if the rain stops long enough for us to gather it!  Our peas are looking promising, but the jury is still out on some of our butterbeans–they may turn out to be more bush than bean!  Live and learn, right?

Happy Monday, everyone!

Published in: on June 11, 2012 at 9:28 am  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/06/11/just-me-on-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We just took a mini-vacation to Atlanta but we are hoping to get back to Canada at some point too.

  2. Hubby and I are taking a weekend trip, in state, but that’s about it this summer.

  3. You mean you can go to the tomato farm and pick your own? I’ve never heard of that. We have apple farms up here in NY in the fall and I have seen some farms that let let you pick strawberries, now that I think of it. But I’ve never come across any pick your own tomatoes! Wow! It’s great to learn something new everyday!

  4. I’m so ready for fresh tomatoes…I have some on the vine but they are still super green. We had a soggy weekend too.

    I might add your question to an upcoming Hodgepodge if you don’t mind : )

  5. We had a “Staycation” as our West Coast kids came here for a visit back in April. I loved seeing the grandsons!
    I love “Bet On it” from High School Musical to walk to. It’s fast and keeps me moving!
    We had rain all last week, and after 4 nice days, we have more rain coming but hay, we have not watered our lawn at all and it’s nice and green.
    I’m looking forwarded to fresh veggies —waiting still.

  6. My mouth is watering reading about your veggies. Yum!

    We got some rain here this morning … about a half inch. Not nearly enough, but considering how dry it’s been, I can’t complain!

    No vacation for us this summer … we wait until the peak season passes so we can avoid the crowds and save a little money on lodging. We’re going to the Outer Banks in mid-September. I can’t wait!

  7. Got two trips planned in July….Girls camping trip at the hotel and galleria and then we’re off to GA to visit our son and his family. We might could meet up while I’m there.

  8. Hey, don’t worry – in my opinion – those are good songs too. ♫♪

    I need to get a treadmill so I can start exercising. 🙂

    Enjoy those fresh veggies – I bet they’re delicious. 😀


Leave a Reply

