Knee Deep In Paradise? No, Corn…

Today is my third day of working with fresh corn.  Nothing in the world tastes better than fresh corn!  We prefer white corn over yellow corn, so we planted “Silver Queen”–and boy is it pretty!  Ed should be proud of himself.

It’s been over ten years since I’ve put any corn in the freezer.  I’d forgotten what a chore it is–and it’s not a “one man” job!  Unfortunately, there is only one person here today–me!

Back in the good old days, a group of us would all get together, and we’d  help each other get the corn ready for the freezer.  We’d do my parents corn first, because daddy’s garden always got ready first.  A few days later, we’d all gather at my in-law’s house to do their corn.  It was fun, and the work went faster since there were usually five or six of us helping.  We’d talk and laugh while we worked.  I can still see my daddy cutting that corn off of the cob with his pocket knife…he was good!  (We’ve never cared much for corn cutters)

If you’re not familiar with the process of “putting up” corn, it all starts with breaking the corn off the stalk.  Next comes cutting the ends off, then removing the shucks and silks from the ears.

I have a flat little scrub brush that I love to use for silking.  Ed got it from the hospital O.R. years ago (surgeons use them to scrub their hands), and it works better than anything I’ve ever tried.  (If you look close at the picture, you’ll see my little white brush on the counter beside the corn).

Once the shucks and silks have been removed, the corn to be frozen on the cob is ready to be washed and blanched.  Some people also blanch their corn first, then cut it off the cob, but we don’t do that.  We cut ours off of the cob first, then blanch it by heating it in the microwave for 10-12 minutes.

I’ve put about one-hundred ears of corn-on-the-cob in the freezer over the past two days (Saturday and Monday).  Thankfully, I had  Ed around to help me get it gathered and shucked.  Today I’m on my own–and I’m tackling the shucking, silking, cutting off, blanching, cooling, and bagging by myself.  (At least Ed gathered the corn late yesterday afternoon!)  It’s been a long morning…I sure do miss the “good old days”!

I processed about sixty ears this morning, and there are about sixty ears still left.  That may not sound like much, but when you’re standing on your feet, cutting corn off of the cob with a knife–one ear at a time–it’s a lot!  It’s also means a lot of mess to clean up afterward.  Corn tends to get everywhere–and it’s sticky!  I feel the need to mop the kitchen floor again, soon…

The good news is, today will be my last day of canning corn!  Soon I’ll move on to tomatoes, then peas!

I’ll do my best to visit and blog whenever I can, but if I’m MIA on visiting for a day or two, you’ll know why!  I’ll be thinking of you though!

Published in: on June 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/06/12/knee-deep-in-paradise-no-corn/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are awesome, girl! I helped my mom put up corn “in the old days” and know what a mess it is. It is not called “sweet corn” by accident. Cutting it off the cob sends that sugary moisture and bits of corn esense EVERYWHERE!

    We never had success freezing corn on the cob. But I thought the cut corn was the food of royalty. Still love it fresh to this day. Never tried blanching in microwave. I think I need Kathy’s “corn” lessons!

  2. I’ve never grown corn back in the day when we had gardens. There is nothing like fresh homegrown corn on the cob. Fresh corn on the cob and watermelon say summer to me like nothing much else. 😉

  3. Oh yum!

  4. Thank you for sharing how your “putting up.” Wow, you are going to have fresh corn all year. I’m jealous. Enjoy!

  5. Wow – now those are some great looking veggies !!! 😀


Leave a Reply

