The Patriotic Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Here’s the weekly session of “The Hodgepodge”.  It’s volume # 83, can you believe it?  Here’s Joyce’s set of amazing questions, and my not-so-amazing answers:

1. What do the words ‘freedom’ and ‘liberty’ mean to you? Does your mind go more in the direction of not being persecuted or discriminated against or does it head in the direction of doing what you please?

When I think of freedom and liberty, I think of  living in a place where we’re not persecuted or discriminated against, and are able to do whatever we please (within reason), but so much of this seems to be changing.

Over the years, I’ve watched as we are losing more and more of our freedoms and liberties through government regulations,  and this saddens me and makes my heart heavy.  Many of these regulations have been directed toward Christians, concerning things like public prayer, displaying the ten commandments, or nativity scenes–to the point that it feels like persecution of Christians.   Our country is being regulated to death–with no end in sight!  (Obamacare jumps to the forefront of my mind.)

And if the president bypasses congress once more, and issues one more executive order–without any opposition from anyone, while certain people even clap and cheer–I’m going to scream!  Come to think of it, we all should be screaming about what’s going on in Washington…

2. Nathan’s sponsors a hot dog eating contest every 4th of July. Last year over 40,000 people attended the event and almost 2 million watched it on TV. The winner ate over 60 hot dogs and buns in 10 minutes. How do you like your hot dogs?

I like my hot dogs cooked on the grill, then covered with mustard, ketchup, and sometimes a little pickle relish.  I can’t  imagine eating 60 hot dogs though!

3. If you were going to enter an eating contest what would be on the menu?

I can’t think of anything that I’d want to eat an excessive amount of, but for fun I’ll say “ice cream”.

4. Do you run your house more as a dictatorship or a democracy?

I’d like to say it’s a democracy, but for some reason Ed leaves most of the household decisions to me, and he always has.

5. Where was your favorite summer place when you were a kid?

Some of my fondest childhood memories took place in my grandparent’s backyard.  Sometimes it’s the little things that mean the most!

6. Do you have a guest room? Would you want to stay there?

We actually don’t have a guest room,  but if we did, I’d want to stay there.

7. Next Wednesday America celebrates her independence. Do you have any special plans for the 4th of July? If you live outside the USA when and how does your country celebrate its own patriotic holiday?

We don’t have any special plans for the 4th of July.  We’ve tried “going off” for the 4th before, but the crowds were so ridiculous that we prefer to just stay home these days.  We’ll cook something on the grill, and just relax around the house.

Random:

Today I’d like to talk about a phenomenon that has begun to affect Ed and me.  It’s called having “Senior Moments” or “Brain Farts”.  If you’re over 50, you know the drill– suddenly you can’t remember a person’s name, or you go to a room to “do something”, but forget what it is you need to do,  by the time you get there…

The other day,  my friend, Linda,  from over at Retirement Daze, posted the following YouTube video on her blog.  I was reading her blog, and wearing ear buds while listening to the song because Ed was watching Fox News.  You should have seen the look that Ed gave me when I burst out laughing in the middle of the news!  We all know there’s nothing funny on the news these days, so his reaction was priceless–and so is this song.

Published in: on June 27, 2012 at 9:14 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/the-patriotic-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That video is hilarious … and oh so true! Plenty of senior moments here at Chez Nana.

  2. I loved the video : ) I have too many of those these days!

  3. Video made my morning!! and it is all so true.

  4. I think my brain farts have always been around so I’m used to them.

    I love coney dogs, not chili dogs with lots of onions and mustard.

    We do have a guest room but with Terry’s snoring, he uses it a lot. It’s very crisp and beachy so I would like it too.

  5. Yes the little things often mean the most! I got that video in an email but haven’t watched it yet. Have a nice 4th of July.

  6. Amen to #1! Ice cream would be my choice too if it weren’t for the brain freeze- LOL.

  7. Enjoyed your answers! Now I call it JR Moments…lol I have seen the video before, too funny!
    until next time… nel

    Fastenau Facts
    http://nelfast.blogspot.com

  8. Funny video. LOL

    I usually eat my hotdogs with a little mustard and ketchup – and sometimes a spoonful of chopped onions. Other times, I like a small amount of mustard and a big ‘ol spoon of chili. Mmm…Mmm. 😀


Leave a Reply

